Thursdays On First & Third (original photography)

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Howdy!

Rochester, Minnesota has a weekly event, which started as "Thursdays on First" and quickly grew to include third avenue, as well. The event is, basically, an outdoor craft market with food vendors and music.

MNM18071220180712-EOS_4291-2.jpg
Clown Sans Outfit?
For those of you unfamiliar with Rochster, Minnesota (USA), it is the home to the Mayo Clinic. Mayo is internationally known and a leader in medical research. It has also come to almost fully control the city. Every event and festival has their fingerprint. Even this balloon guy, creating balloon animals for kids, was decked out in a "Seizure Walk" shirt.

MNM18071220180712-EOS_4296-2.jpg
Playing for Blood
This Thursday, on the main stage, the Swing Street band was playing. They were quite good! Their introduction included a request for people to donate blood. Because Rochester.

MNM18071220180712-EOS_4285.jpg
Another Definition of "Sweat Shop"
Here is the center of the market. It has been very hot and humid, with heat warnings issued, but the warning has only caused a moderate reduction in attendance. I headed up into the air-conditioned Skyway, a network of enclosed hallways and bridges between buildings, to snap a few photos.

MNM18071220180712-EOS_4292.jpg
Is it Isengard?
After about an hour of the heat and one delicious ice cream cone, it was time to head back to feed the pooch and make supper. On the way back to my truck, I couldn't help but marvel at how quickly things have changed. This new building complex (likely owned by Mayo) wasn't even started, when I left for Mankato two years ago. It is one of several such structures currently being built.

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

tag.jpg

Sort:  

I LOVE LAMP!! also, love the "clown sans outfit", great contrast!
As for the bloodsuckers, I'm glad there are people that don't mind doing that, but me...I need to be topped up at ALL times!!

Hahah, well... I don't give blood, either. I've got low blood pressure and giving that much would have a pretty big impact on me. Besides, I give enough to the local mosquito cause.

And, of course, I had to get a lamp in there :-)

That looks like a fun event @fotosdenada. Thanks for the interesting insights into Rochester, Minnesota and the influence of the Mayo Clinic. The main thing I remember about them was the Grapefruit diet from way back when. 😁

Haha... Well, the whole fad diet craze is an ever-evolving thing.

Rochester is an odd place to live. I will do a post about it, when I can figure out how to center it on the photography. It's very medical-centric, and non-medical people seem to almost worship the doctors in a way. There's also quite the disparity between the wealthy doctors and the rest of the population.

The problem with writing about Rochester is that its a little depressing. It has a lot of good going on, but the politics and finances involved give me an upset stomach. Things are gettin better, and it does have a lot to offer.

Oh. Well don't write about it if it gives you an upset stomach @fotosdenada. We don't want you getting depressed.

I'm having a bit of a down day myself and wouldn't wish that on anyone.

I found what you wrote very interesting already! 😍

I flagged the other comment by irvinesimages. Looks like he's commenting posts have been stolen on lots of posts. The link asks you to log in. Could be trying to steal your password.

On another note: That looks really neat. I love festivities like this. Here we have a car show every Saturday during the summer. It's in historic downtown as a way to revitalize mom and pop stores. Smart heading to the air conditioned spot to take pics. The mirrored windows are pretty. That's one feature I like in bigger cities. Mirrored windows show off the sky which is nice.

Thanks! It's definitely nice to have something to do. It would be more fun, if I had someone to go with and a little financial stability... lol. The prices are very much fair prices, but it's a nice ambiance.

Those "your post has been copied links" have come after me a few times. They're all scams, from what I can tell. I copy the link address and paste it into the address bar to see the domain and it's always some sketchy URL. Thanks for the warning, though!

that upshot is dope, love the perspective bud. Looks like some scaffolding is about to drop off the top of the building!

Thnks! I was surprised to hear people working on it in this heat. It's not like the AC is hooked up, yet...

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-13T01:19:39
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 89.60/100.00
Total Photos: 9
Total comments: 34
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Please don't click on this my father has been hacked and they took his account and are trying to infect others.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84