Wet & Drippy (Original Photography)

in #photography6 years ago

Howdy,

It's been a damp and drippy Friday, with morning thunderstorms followed by a day of continuous rainfall. It eventually let up this evening, early enough to allow a few photos of the aftermath...

MNM18071320180713-EOS_4364.jpg
Spotty Drops
Trying to focus through droplets in low light, with an old camera, and without being able to use a tripod (awkward spot) made this really tricky. Of about eighty shots, I was satisfied with five.

These are known as "turk's caps," though they are probably know by other names. The previous pair of shots are drips hanging off the unopened flower buds. They're not the clearest shots in the world, but you *can* see the flower focused through the droplet!

MNM18071320180713-EOS_4301.jpg
Sunny Plus One

When I originally set out to take some photos, I had the telephoto lens on. I didn't even notice the little guy posing in the last shot until after it was taken and, when I went in to get a macro lens, he decided to scamper off.

MNM18071320180713-EOS_4417.jpg
Snug as a Stink Bug
This little bug was taking a nap with his head under a petal. He looks so peaceful, but then, he's an invasive species that nobody's figured out quite how to eat, yet.

The rainy weather actually fit me well, today. I had an interview and was informed that they wouldn't have me come for a second in-person one at this time. This is doubly unfortunate, as it would have been in scenic Duluth, MN, offering a lot of Canon fodder. Finding a position to get me through the summer has proven to be much more difficult than it should have been.

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

tag.jpg

Sort:  

Bummer with the job, but incredible shots!! I'm torn between the stink bug photo and the first one. I have to say I'd like to hear the crack sound my electric tennis racket would make with the stink bug (evil laugh) lol. Love, love your creative photos!!

Thanks! I bet it would be quite a thunderclap, followed by semi-cooked stench!

The grasshopper was back this morning. I'll share those shots later... Maybe Monday.

Beautifully taken shots! I love your all photos. Keep it up.

Beautiful shots! I love taking photos of flowers and plants with beaded water from a fresh rain.

This post was upvoted and resteemed by @thethreehugs.

Thanks! It was a fun challenge, trying to focus through droplets without a tripod :-)

That top shot in particular is stunning @fotosdenada, especially since you didn't use a tripod. Most impressive. 😊

Thanks! I wish I had the stabilized version of this macro for times like that. And a new camera body, while I'm dreaming... Lol

I'd just like a phone with a really good camera and a set of lenses to go with it. it's actually probably cheaper to buy a camera though. 😊

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-14T02:40:21
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 96.10/100.00
Total Photos: 10
Total comments: 34
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09