When Fog Rolls In (Original Photography)

in #photography5 years ago

Howdy,

After a week in Rochester, it's nice to be back in my own space in Mankato. After getting a few things done and spending some time looking for work, I headed out to the countryside for some photos. I had seen some spectacular clouds, but they were already breaking up by the time I was out of the city. There was something even better waiting, though... the fog.

MM201920190812EOS_7462.jpg
WRong Turn Vista

A bit disgusted I hadn't gotten out earlier for the clouds, I was just starting home when the fog began to lift and roll into the lower parts of a couple farm fields. Closer to the river, the fog was dense and blanketing the ground. Even with the sun below the horizon, the fog diffuses the evening light, creating a beautiful glow.

The first photo was taken when I turned down a gravel road, only to discover that it was a farm driveway. Nobody came out to yell at me, though, so I snapped a photo before leaving.

MM201920190812EOS_7500.jpg
Look! No Tripod!

I did get some pretty clouds, though using a tripod was out of the question. There's no shoulder on this stretch of road, and I didn't want to cause an accident. My old 7D isn't great in low light, so it's not the most sharp image, but it didn't really need to be. This is the river valley around the Minnesota River.

After getting that image, I stopped into the State Park for a few more; this time, with the tripod.

MM201920190812EOS_7503.jpg
Ten Seconds of Foggy

This time, I tried something different. I set the tripod with two legs on the bottom of the windshield, and one on the top of the jeep. With the camera set to ten-second delay, I hit the shutter, sat down, and closed the sunroof. If you do it right and don't rock the boat, as it were, you can get a nice long-exposure image and not lose a gallon of blood to the Royal Mosquito Air Force.

If only I could have coaxed the bison into that last photo, though with a 10-second exposure they would have been blurs anyway.

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

BlogtagOrange.jpg

Sort:  

lol, too fun... the "Royal Mosquito Air Force"! And great idea how to limit their dining time with you :)
Great fog shots! I'm assuming your weather is cooling down?

The weather has begun to get a little nicer. It's still not long pants weather, yet, but it's getting there. You know, after 100-200 mosquito bites you build an immunity to the swelling and welts. I think I've finally gotten there. Too bad you have to start over every year...

Fantastic images! You are a master with that camera!

Thanks! I'd love to see what kind of detail a newer full frame camera could get me, though!

You would do great things with fancy new camera!

Absolutely stunning! We have a lot of fields near the river over here that get that low fog on them. I've stopped in the middle of the road many times to take pictures. I've never gotten shots with that gorgeous pink, though. So beautiful.

To get the colors, the conditions have to be just right, with enough light and color in the sky, yet. I wish I could have used a tripod for a longer exposure and a sharper result, but they turned out pretty nicely anyway.

Stunning landscape images featuring fog, silhouettes, great contrasting colours and shading @fotosdenada. Love them.

Hello @fotosdenada, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Such beautiful shots lucky the farmer didn't come out at yell at you for being on his property

Thanks. I was still on the public road, so he wouldn't have been able to do much about it. I'd actually like to figure out who owns that one, to see if I could sneak in there one morning for some photos with sunlight streaming through the gaps in the boards.

I see that would be cool if the owner was fine with you popping in fir some morning shots there

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10