Coquito or Black Ibis - Venezuelan Birds Collection

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Greetings dear photography lovers


In this opportunity I present to you some new neighbors, it turns out, that for a very short time, I am seeing the curious birds that I show you in the photographs, every day they arrive early, and you can see during a great part of the day walking and digging the grass in a small square that is right in front of my house.


For some time I had the curiosity to know what his name is, for that reason, I decided to photograph them, in order to start my research. Well, without having anywhere to start, and taking into account that my knowledge of birds is very low, I decided to call a friend! I sent one of the photographs I had taken to the mysterious bird, it did not take long, for my friend to tell me that the name with which he knew the bird was Corocora. Until that moment, I had thought that the Corocoras were scarlet birds, which normally share the habitat of the herons and that in my native Carúpano, Sucre state, you can always see them in saltwater lagoons or salinas. In particular, they always caught my attention, as they stood out as small red dots between the white of the flock of herons.

When researching on the internet, I discovered that there are also black Corocoras, which are precisely what I always see in front of my house. In general, it is a species native to the South American continent, found specifically in countries such as Colombia, Venezuela, Uruguay, Paraguay, British Guiana, French and Suriname, in addition, it is found in southeastern Bolivia, north of Argentina and South of Brazil. In some places, it is called Coquito, although the name with which it is most widely known is that of the black Ibis of the face or shaved ibis, because its face is completely devoid of feathers. It is a medium-sized bird, ranging between 46 and 56 cm in length and an average weight of 559 grams. As you can see in the photographs, his body is covered by a plumage of black iridescent color, which gives dark shades of metallic blue.

In the scientific field these birds belonging to the family Threskiornithidae, is known as Phimosus Infuscatus. Normally you can see them forming large groups, either of their own species or together with other species of ibis. However, it is also possible to see them walking in pairs or solitaires. Their eating habits are based on small pesos, worms, insects, molluscs, larvae, any small animal that can catch, with its thin long curved beak, when they dig in the swamps, deposits of freshwater, brackish water or salty and trees near those places.

References

http://ambientemos.wixsite.com/ambientemos/single-post/2016/1/16/Coquito-Ibis-Negro-Phimosus-infuscatus
https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phimosus_infuscatus

Content and photographs of my intellectual property

Previously published in WEKU

Technical information

cameraPentax *istDL
LensTAMRON Tele-Macro, AF 75 300mm
IlluminationNatural
LocationBarcelona, Anzoátegui State, Venezuela

Baner Francy WEKU.png


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://esencia-imagenes.mipropia.com/2019/06/07/coquito-or-black-ibis-venezuelan-birds-collection/

Sort:  

Congratulations @francyrios75 on your post being selected as Post of the day on @r2cornell's Discord Community.

Great photographs and very good narrative. Fascinating looking bird.

wow this bird is really beautiful amazing photographs my friend.
Green back grounds with bird looks nice.
thanks for share with us..

Congratulation dear.. Your post has been selected as post of the day , @r2cornell discord community... Keep up the good work... Great post...

Este post fue elegido para ser votado por THEUNION en colaboración con STEEMPRESS.
theunion.png

Corocoras, wow. That are indeed very beautiful and interesting. I do not think I have come across them ever, not in real life nor on the web.
Are they seasonal? Do you see them at this time of the year?

I believe the feed on insects considering their long and pointy beaks.

Nice content. Congregation for being post of the day on @R2cornell discord server.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17