Some photos I took today (with a 40 year old lens)

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Hi!

I visited Nastola today, and yes, the building I posted in the OPED post was indeed from the same trip to Nastola. :)

Here's one I took when driving away from Nastola. Yes I had to stop for this. It isn't possible to shoot good photos on a DSLR while driving. (And it would be dangerous, and illegal too. Don't do it guys!)


The road I took.

Yes, I had to return empty handed sort of, as I noticed I didn't have much time if I was to go to the grocery store too (Vera was kind enough to give me a list of groceries to get.)

Then, after I had gone shopping and returned with some pea soup, I went out again and this time shot in our own neighbourhood, more precisely our apartment building's front yard.


Decided to change lenses.

The previous photos were all shot on the Sigma 50mm ART f/1.4 lens, but I wanted to try my luck with the 40 year old Super Carenar (MC 1:2.8 f=135mm) lens I once got from my father.

For a 40 year old lens, it delivers pleasantly sharp images. (If I can get the trap focus on my camera to work.)


Mossy stone

It does produce some glare though, but I don't mind that, unless the sun is shining really brightly right onto the lens.

Roots
Roots

The path that leads to the forest
The path that leads to the forest


Songbird in the distance...

Even when cropped...


...is a common chaffinch.

...the chromatic aberration is somewhat noticeable but much more subtle, and definitely far from as horrible as it is on the Canon EF 75-300. The only issue I think, is the reach of the lens. And as a prime, its fixed focal length 135mm often gets in the way. It's mostly either too long, or too short.


Fieldfare

And in nature photography, you may have guessed it. It being 40 years old it lacks auto-focus, and being manual in pretty much all the other ways too, shooting moving animals with it may prove a bit difficult. ;)

The fieldfare in the above image didn't want me to photo her so she flew away, and so did plenty of other beautiful birds. Mostly, as soon as I got the aperture, ISO sensitivity, shutter speed and focus set, the bird was already gone.

But now I'm drained, so I'll continue on this subject on some other day.

Thanks for reading this through! I really appreciate it!

See you guys tomorrow!


[Previous post: One photo every day: Yet another pink building! ––– Engel-makasiini (319/365)]


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer


Sort:  

@gamer00,
Photography #3 is the best of bests! Amazing photo collection Jaro! Spring bought us Luck to see a collection of amazing photography!

Cheers~

if you post them in @steepshot it will be aweome!
thanks for sharing

I can't install Steepshot on my Canon 550D, sorry.

Wou beautiful photos friend. I loved the road and the flowers. The lens is very original. I congratulate you

The old lens captured those purple flowers nicely! I forgot there was no auto focus for old lens!
But the atmosphere is these birds and spring leaves is very warm. These photos are very good for me to study and learn something new!! Thanks.

I think it shoots sharp and clear.

Well used that lens of the camera, I think the quality of the photo depends on the photographer, not the camera, Congratulations good photos

Awesome Shots... You having amazing experience along your way.

be safe don't drive and shot in the same time guys, what luck you have if that is what surrounds your home, the flowers are more than amazing. Best luck @gamer00 sure you ate soup then.

Yep, ate the soup. :)

haha I knew :D

my brother even though he was in motion and you captured that good picture! , as for the lens it is always good to innovate things and, the photos were spectacular and I think your father was an excellent photographer and you are a reflection of what he was

I'm Sorry, but to be honest, it doesn't exactly show outstanding quality but is, without doubt, better than Canon EF 75-300 ;-)

Honesty is always good. But truth be said, I already knew that. That's why I wrote what I wrote. The photos themselves are not bad, it's just that the lens doesn't actually focus really well. I may need to tweak the software on my camera to fine-tune the trap focus feature. It's a sharp lens when it gets it right.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02