The rest of today's nature trail photos

in #photography5 years ago

Hello again!

Here are the rest of the photos I promised I would be editing today.

I streamed the process, but for some unfortunate reasons, I forgot to record the last part on my hd, so I can't include it on my recap if I'm to do one.

Anyway here are some of the best photos I caught from the Vierumäki hiking trails. :)

9hbppps5ym.jpg

CameraLensFocal lengthApertureExposure (f)Dual-ISO
Canon EOS 550DCanon 75-300mm300mm8.01/640s800+1600

0hxyje62u5.jpg

CameraLensFocal lengthApertureExposure (f)Dual-ISO
Canon EOS 550DCanon 75-300mm300mm8.01/500s800+1600

hs6kbkkbqq.jpg

CameraLensFocal lengthApertureExposure (f)Dual-ISO
Canon EOS 550DCanon 75-300mm300mm8.01/500s800+1600

93rq1ebg4w.jpg

CameraLensFocal lengthApertureExposure (f)Dual-ISO
Canon EOS 550DCanon 75-300mm300mm8.01/500s800+1600


faj9jlql32.jpg

CameraLensFocal lengthApertureExposure (f)Dual-ISO
Canon EOS 550DCanon 75-300mm170mm8.01/500s800+1600

5dijf9o1b6.jpg

CameraLensFocal lengthApertureExposure (f)Dual-ISO
Canon EOS 550DCanon 75-300mm300mm8.01/500s800+1600

I hope you like them as much as I did!

Until the next post then... See ya!

Sort:  

Nice photos! Which version of 75-300mm lens do you have? The images look sharp to me even with 300mm focal length, so I'm curious. I'm having a 100-300mm lens from the 80's so I'm thinking I'm in need of an upgrade..

It's the EF 75-300mm III. Like all kit lenses, it's all plastic (not counting the bayonet) and the moving parts are really loose and clonky. The zoom tube can wobble a few millimeters from side-to-side, so I am really lucky if I can get a sharp photo with it. Anyhow, now that I know how it works (or better: "doesn't work"), and what to expect, I can (sort of) take it to its limits and even past them.

When I started photography with a proper camera, I had only two lenses and they were high quality build. When I got my hands on the first cheap, plastic Canon lens I was shocked how it felt like a total toy.

Then I tested a friends cheap chinese lens and it was even worse - and I started to have a slight appreciation on Canon plastic lenses. Not something I would prefer as a first choice, but knowing the fact it could be much worse I'm trying the same as you mentioned:
Know how it works and what to expect.

At least I think you got really nice photos and nobody can say it's because of "super fancy equipment" :)

May I ask what camera and lenses did you start with? A 5D and L-type lenses with a red ring? Yes those would be professional grade equipment and sure to produce crisp clear images right from the get-go. But as with my Sigma 50mm Art 1.4, I guess without a proper foray into how to shoot a decent image, the quality doesn't impress at first.

I bought the Sigma a few years ago, because of the reviews I read and watched on Youtube at the time. I was pleasantly surprised over the sharpness compared to my previous lenses, but I hit a roadblock while trying it out, and almost lost all interest in photography altogether because of it. My photos really weren't getting better after the purchase! Worse than that, I felt like my skills were regressing.

I did what every sensible photographer would do in that situation (or not). I put the Sigma in a shelf cabinet, and took my vintage manual Super Carenar 2.8 35mm and 135mm lenses, and only used those for a whole month.

After doing that, and learning everything anew, I started noticing, that I could produce a somewhat decent shot with the Sigma too.

I have now grown to love the cheaper lenses, because they actually force you to use some skill, and don't let you rely on the glass only. If I ever suffer from loss of creativity or feel like my photos become stale, I turn to the kit lenses, or the manual ones for inspiration.

Now that I've sort of gone professional, I've bought myself another Sigma Art lens, the 12-24mm 1.4 DG, I've bumped into a different kind of a problem. It is simply too heavy. I tend to revert to the Canon EF-S 10-18mm for wide angle shots a lot. No idea what I can do now but buy another sturdier (and more expensive) ball-head for my tripod.

So yes, I have "super fancy equipment", but I don't think they really are my favourite equipment. Yes, I can get super sharp photos with them, but if you were to ask me which lenses I find most fun to work with, I'd definitely say the manual Super Carenars, and the Canon EF 75-300 would hit the mark.

Well the camera wasn't actually that high quality, but I had some older high quality lenses which used to be good, for example the EF 100-300MM f/5.6 L, which I'm using still. The other lens was a bit newer one, but it got damaged when someone had accidentally pushed it off the table - or basically it rolled down itself after being pushed.

Whatever the lens is made of, it's still a lot of glass which doesn't appreciate being dropped. Can't remember what the lens was though.

I'm surprised you had lost interest like that because of the new lens, had you been into photography already before it?

People typically have very low respect for the photographers skills, as they assume it's all because of luck and the expensive equipment (+ photo editing). However nobody gets better because of the expensive gear they get, as they still need to be able to use it in the correct way.

Also the Sigma Art 12-24mm seemed surprisingly heavy. If I'm right, it's a bit heavier than my 100-300mm -lens, but the amount of glass in the lenses surely is very different.

I wish my iPhone could do this!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Cool shots here

Hi, @gamer00!

You just got a 25.57% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @gamer00!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.571 which ranks you at #1819 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 1816).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 279 contributions, your post is ranked at #88.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61649.11
ETH 3003.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77