Winter photos of scenic nature and animals

in #photography5 years ago

Hello!

I am posting this to offload some of my photos I've taken recently but only now managed to go through and edit.

All these photos can be checked out in full resolution via this link.

A few days ago I took Leo with me to Messilä just to photograph things. It was already past 15:00 (3AM), so the sky was getting darker by the minute. Anyh00, we both managed to shoot a few nice photos. These are two of mine.

Talvisia otoksia__MG_2949.jpg
Revisiting the Messilä pier again. :D

Have you ever heard of the story about the Broccoli Tree?

After seeing a certain photo I had taken I had shot I don't remember how many times already, Ari (the friend of mine who was visiting from Oulu) told me it reminded him about The Broccoli Tree. I was fascinated, and he showed me a video, this one:

In case you wondered why I did the same... Here's 'my Broccoli Tree':

Talvisia otoksia__MG_2954.jpg
The tree I've photographed plenty of times, now being photographed by Leo

I'll leave it to Leo to hopefully publish his photos from the trip someday. I'll link them here if he does!

Oh... And this guy you'll probably all remember:

Talvisia otoksia__MG_2867.jpg
(Still grumpy I see.)

When I drove Miro to school Yesterday, I took a drive in the countryside, and suddenly saw a family of European roe deer (Capreolus capreolus) walking along the road, and had to stop on the side of the road to shoot them. Sadly there was another car behind me, and they scared them away from the road, and onto the field. They took quite a lot of distance in the time I managed to dig up the camera and switch lenses from the wide angle to the long range 75-300mm lens.

But hey, I did get something!

Talvisia otoksia__MG_2957.jpg
Metsäkauris (Capreolus capreolus)

That photo was shot with the lens extended to 200mm, and the shutter speed was pretty long at 1/50th second. I'm amazed how steady I managed to hold it standing up.

The next photos were taken after the deers had taken quite a lot of distance in between, so I had to shoot at 300mm and to eliminate movement, I picked up on the shutter speed making it 1/500th second, so any lens movement would be taken out of the picture. It's almost too bad I had to push the ISO sensitivity to 1600+3200, because that did introduce a lot of noise into the next photos.

I did all I could to clean them up, but the damage had been done. But still, I don't think they are the worst I've seen, and with my camera, it's amazing I managed to make them this good. (Btw. I want a better lens! Please upvote and share!)

Talvisia otoksia__MG_2961.jpg

Talvisia otoksia__MG_2962.jpg
They were checking me out.

I am quite positive these magnificent animals were somewhat puzzled about my presence. They kept looking at my direction, for the possible rifle, or dog (Ninnu?) that might signal I was hunting them.

Talvisia otoksia__MG_2973.jpg
Playing around.

These deer were being very playful at times. It looked like they were taking turns chasing each other around.

Talvisia otoksia__MG_2975.jpg
...and grazing...

Talvisia otoksia__MG_2978.jpg
...while the others were keeping watch.

And that's it... I wonder how I messed a couple of these edits. Now that I uploaded the photos and checked them again, it looks like I forgot to push the blacks on three of these deer photos. Harsh.

(Remember, you can watch these photos full-res here!)

Well, I'll be off to bed now, it's getting late. But have a nice one, and I'll (probably) be back with more photos soon.

(I wonder if I should do another year of daily photos... haha.)

Signing off... See ya!

Sort:  

@gamer00,
Wow you managed to get wonderful photography of deer family! Yeah it might not be easy to get that shot and I think they are not near to road side to capture! Great work and yeah I know you got that talent of photography in your veins and now I see your son also doing that! Actually that's a good news and wish to see his STEEMIT account here soon too!

Cheers~

That look so cold

I was doing my walk today and surprised 4 or 5 in the field, yet the joke was on me because I wanted to shoot them with my phone but no way, they were gone in a flash!

Yes it would surely be a mistake to try get close enough with a smartphone camera. The animals will rarely let one come that near.

That good friend. Jaro commented to you when you made that publication to me in particular, I said that those photos were great.

I tell him to save one that you took after printing it ..

27432412548_9368079ae3_b.jpg

How well now Leo following in his footsteps ..

Greetings my friend, a very fraternal hug. and greetings to your children.

Do you know I really did Google the broccoli tree? I have no idea why I was so surprised that it was real, but, it really was, or I am really gullible! That was a very cool parable and I actually love to hear those kinds of stories.

The deer are sweet! I have many that walk through my yard and they have almost become tame until I go out and then they lope off, their little white tails flicking up and down. Thanks for sharing a snippet of your day.

So nice to see the deer wandering free and looking beautiful. I have 37% voting power and so I am only able to give you a tip tonight. My apologies! I hate doing that!

!tip

very nice and colorful photos, it seems that the Broccoli Tree has a lot of fascinating stories and history surrounding its. The deer really looks awesome and lively the environment and surrounding also looks great. nice and colorful photos

What a cool selection of shots and I can see why you call that tree the Brocolli tree

All captures are very nice . Very cold weather and heavy snow fall.

Beautiful wild photography in the snowy area .

Some incredible scenes in the winter from there looks epic

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80