Timelapse Kathmandu: My first timelapse video for Steemit!

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

I shot this video over the last weeks. I started from scratch and had no idea which software to use and which settings I should go for. It took me a lot of tutorial-watching to get it done! Still there is a lot of room for improvement. It is over 8000 photos, all taken in or outside of Kathmandu, Nepal. Not only is it my first timelapse video, but my first ever edited video! There still is a lot to learn. If possible, watch it with audio in 1080p.


music by Schneider TM - Reality check

I hope you enjoyed it!

If you like it, please upvote and resteem generously. The project took me hours of work and I would love to do more of it - if there is some proper feedback. I think spreading quality videos which point in our direction is a great way to promote Steemit. If you have any questions about the process, please write a comment, I am happy to share my (fresh) knowledge!

So far

upvote follow resteem.gif

Find this post on the Steemit Worldmap:

http://steemitworldmap.com?post=timelapse-my-first-timelapse-video-for-steemit

Sort:  

Nice video! Very refreshing. I want to know how it's done with a simple camera without having to fill the storage. Take one still picture every 20 seconds or so?

Hey there! Some more recent models have an interval-mode implemented in the software, so you can choose and set your intervals in the camera. Professionals are using so called intervalometers which you can connect to your body and then choose all the settings. 20 seconds is quite a big interval, for most of the cloud shots I went for something between 5-10 sec. But then again it all depends on your prefered framerate and your overall vision of the final video.

Thanks! I haven't gotten my DSLR I mentioned in This Article. I'll check how time lapse is done with entry level models. I hope you visit it too.

Well done!

Awesome job Lukas, I am so effin proud of you! Maybe we could work together on projects like this if you ever come back to Europe :)

Awww, awesome to see you here :P I think we most certainly will! I am missing you guys <3

I like it but it was strictly suburbs until the end. I guess promoting life I would say. Thank you

You are right bro.. these are really awesome

I will spend the half of December in a little mountain village on the border to civilization, you will get a lot of nature :)

What an inspiring video with a perfect choice of soundtrack. The cloud scenes reminded me that we do live in a beautiful world. Thank you.

All a matter of perspective :) thank you!

Upvote, follow, resteem - in the exact order as requested, and WELL DESERVED. Enjoyable to watch, some very unique imagery. What did you use to create the camera motion, if I might ask?

thank you :) I shot it in 6000x4000 pixel, this gives plenty of space for a zoom effect if you are editing for 1920x1080. So you can Zoom in digitally in Premiere. Apart from that for some shots I used a little tool called "Flow Mow", its basically an expensive egg timer which turns your camera really slowly over two hours.

First ko sankata mandir ko time lapse ma mero aunty pani dekhi parecha :D Hehe ! Nice time laps bro (Y)

hah :) took me a while to translate, but my nepali is getting better every day :) super cool to see some Nepalese people on Steemit! We should meet for a beer!

Suggestion: add this post to steemitworldmap.com:
http://www.steemitworldmap.com/
https://steemit.com/@steemitworldmap

oh thanks folker, will do. Really loved your drone sightseeing, hope to see more :)

Yes it is very nice. Good work. Resteemed :)

Kathamandu is a very beautiful city. And your video looks dope man. Keep uploading we are with you 😉😉

cheers man, thats the spirit <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87