Bananas, Sunflower Seeds, & Oat Bars - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography5 years ago

DSC_0699.jpg

Hey guys, I hope you're having an awesome day. We're getting snow dumped on us over here at the moment but I think we're going to brave the roads to go hit the ski slopes again.

DSC_0649.jpg

So these bars were something I was trying out that I thought would be a good on-the-go snack grab for the more health-conscious people. A huge problem with so many homemade protein bar recipes is that they have to be kept cold or they turn into a sticky mess. I was trying to work around that with these. Of course, if you don’t mind them a little on the messy side I’d say try dipping them in the coating from these other bars!

What flavor do you have when there’s not enough cocoa to be considered chocolate but enough not to be overlooked?Cuz I put cocoa in these but I also didn’t want to have to add a lot of extra sweetness to compensate for its natural bitterness so I went really light and the cocoa is more of a side character than the star. I think the sunflower seeds and coconut are what really stand out with these, and of course the nanners. I feel like bananas have kind of become my favorite ingredient for adding moisture or sweetness to healthy baking. I mean, they’ve got it all. They’re really sweet, super healthy, and add great texture. Plus, they’re a fairly cheap ingredient when it comes to healthy options. Yep, bananas and I are having a moment.

DSC_0682.jpg

I made a few batches to get one that I was happy with because my first batch turned out a little bland. So if you’re looking for an easy snack that is portable and stands up pretty well in different temperatures than this is it. Okay, so have a great week guys, and make some healthy snack bars!

Bananas, Sunflower Seeds, & Oat Bars

If you're an oatmeal fan but need a new way to enjoy it, these bars might be just what you need. They're sweet, simple, and quick!

Prep Time 10 minutes
Cook Time 25 minutes
Total Time 35 minutes
Servings 24 bars

Ingredients


1 cup shelled sunflower seeds
4 teaspoons coconut oil
sea salt to taste
4 medium ripe bananas
1/2 cup flax seed meal
1/2 cup unsweetened dried coconut flakes
4 cups old-fasioned rolled oats
1 cup full fat coconut milk
1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract
1 tablespoon sea salt
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1 teaspoon nutmeg
1/3 cup maple syrup
1/4 cup cocoa powder

Instructions


Line a 13x9 inch glass pan with parchment and grease with oil. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (160 C).
Melt coconut oil in a small frying pan and add sunflower seeds. Stir constantly until browned and toasty then sprinkle with salt to taste.
Combine the sunflower seeds and all other ingredients in a food processor or blender and pulse until very well combined. Scrape mixture into prepared pan and spread into a smooth layer with a spatula.
Bake for 20 to 25 minutes until the edges start to darken and the top looks dry. Remove and cool completely then cut into desired size bars. They are best stored in the fridge but should last for many days at room temperature also. If you plan to eat them over a longer period of time than freezing is probably a good idea.

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Headerlast.jpg

If you're looking for more recipes check out some of my other recent posts!
  1. Superbowl Snack - Southwest Egg Rolls + Ranch Sauce
  2. The Fluffiest Chocolate Chip Pancakes
  3. Creamy Mushrooms + Broccoli Gnocchi
  4. Healthy Cocoa + Maca Bliss Balls
  5. Bowl Style Sushi!

Also, check out my recap of last year
  1. Recapping 2018 for Gringalicious - Part 1
  2. Recapping 2018 for Gringalicious - Part 2
  3. Recapping 2018 for Gringalicious - Part 3

DSC_0657.jpg

Banner 2019=framed7.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

Tasty foodphotos for breakfast!

I'm so glad you like it!

That look's testy and delicious

Posted using Partiko Android

You're so kind!

great, it has flax seed meal, I would like to try to make this at home. hope you can share some more recipes like this..

You're so kind, thanks!

Hi, @gringalicious!

You just got a 0.01% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Looks nice and very interesting to make as well thanks for sharing it : )

Thanks so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80