Blueberry White Chocolate Almond Oatmeal Cookies - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Okay, quick break from my travel series to share a recipe.
It’s a little bit strange getting back to being in the kitchen after many days away and traveling.

Blueberry White Chocolate Almond Oatmeal Cookies (3).jpg

As most of you know, I’ve been in San Diego for the past week. Ironically enough, my father had booked tickets to a concert in Spokane the day I returned so it feels like even longer since I’ve been back to my typical daily routine. I’m not going to lie, it’s been really nice to get a change of scenery. On the other hand, I do like a little routine to help me stay more productive, so a mixture of the two is perfect.

Blueberry White Chocolate Almond Oatmeal Cookies (2).jpg

Another nice thing about traveling this time of year is escaping the cold weather. I remember telling you guys recently before leaving that it had been unusually warm here. Well, as I suspected the Winter isn’t quite done yet and my sister and I got home to some bitter temperatures. In fact, last night’s low broke records. It was about -7 degrees Fahrenheit. Let’s just say the beach sounds really good about now.

Blueberry White Chocolate Almond Oatmeal Cookies (4).jpg

While I was traveling I talked to so many people from all over the world. I guess California attracts all kinds. Tell me if I’m wrong, but I’d say for the most part the world is starting to rely more and more on technology and the internet. I mean, just simply navigating in the city, my sister and I were using our phone’s GPS and using them for Uber, and staying connected to family. Not to mention sharing bits of the trip with you guys.

Blueberry White Chocolate Almond Oatmeal Cookies (5).jpg

That’s why it really surprised me that so many of the people I talked to asked me what a blogger was when I told them that’s what I do. I don’t know, I just thought it was more common these days. When I was living in South America it was more understandable for people I met to be unfamiliar with blogging, but I’d have thought in San Diego it wouldn’t be such a mystery. Granted, most of these people were a little bit before my generation, but still. Hmm, guess we’ll have to give it another decade or so, right?

Blueberry White Chocolate Almond Oatmeal Cookies (6).jpg

My sister’s birthday is this week and she and my brother-in-law just got home from a trip of their own to Seattle. On their trip they ate a Cheesecake Factory and ordered the Godiva cheesecake. She loved it so much that I’m going to try a little copycat version, so that just might have to be a recipe appearing on the blog soon.

Blueberry White Chocolate Almond Oatmeal Cookies (7).jpg

For today though, I’m sharing these oatmeal cookies that I made before I left for California actually. The past few weeks, in case you haven’t noticed from this salad and this berry filled trifle, I’ve been really getting in the mood for an early spring and I think my recipes have been reflecting that.

Blueberry White Chocolate Almond Oatmeal Cookies (8).jpg

So something we love to do up here, during the warmer weather days mid to late Summer, is pick the mountain huckleberries that you can find growing wild up in Sandpoint where my aunt and uncle live. I’d really hoped to go with them to pick while I was staying with them through the summer. Of course, my 4-wheeler accident changed those plans a lot so I wasn’t able to pick any this past season to freeze for later. I mean, you can buy them from the local markets but they cost an arm and a leg (and you’d understand why once you’ve spent a whole afternoon for a single bucket full.)

Blueberry White Chocolate Almond Oatmeal Cookies (9).jpg

So my older sister created a family favorite when she decided to make huckleberry white chocolate cookies one year, and now they are a seasonal must.

Blueberry White Chocolate Almond Oatmeal Cookies (10).jpg

Now that we’re getting closer to berry season again I wanted to make something similar to her recipe but without having any huckleberries i thought I’d try using some blueberries instead. Just until I get huckleberries + they can be interchangeable in this recipe) Almonds have been on my radar a lot recently too so they made their way into these cookies, and the white chocolate is clearly non-negotiable. Ah yes, and I decided that some oats to make them feel a little more wholesome for snacking.

Blueberry White Chocolate Almond Oatmeal Cookies (11).jpg

‎The final cookies were pretty perfect if I do say so myself. You get the tart pockets of baked blueberries, the creamy sweet bites of white chocolate, and the nutty crunch from the almonds with the oatmeal cookie base to balance it all out. Yep, perfection.👌

Blueberry White Chocolate Almond Oatmeal Cookies (12).jpg

Blueberry White Chocolate Almond Oatmeal Cookies


Prep Time: 20 minutes
Cook Time: 25 minutes
Total Time: 45 minutes
Yield: about 24 cookies

Nutty, tart, sweet, and wholesome. These cookies have it all and they make the perfect treat or snack for anytime of the day.

Ingredients

1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons (1 1/4 sticks) butter, room temp
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
1 egg
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups frozen blueberries (*see note)
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1 1/2 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
2/3 cup white chocolate chips
1/3 cup slivered almonds

Instructions

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees F (180 C). Cream butter and sugars together in bowl of stand mixer (or with hand mixer). Scrape sides of bowl and add egg; beat until well combined. Add vanilla, soda, and salt then add the flour one cup at a time and beat after each addition.
  2. Then add the oats. (If you are using a hand mixer you may have to hand stir the last cups of oats into the dough.) Stir in the berries by hand and then chocolate, and almonds and line a cookie sheet with parchment.
  3. Roll the dough into balls, about 2 tablespoons each, and place about 2 inches apart on baking sheet. I like to top with some extra berries, white chocolate, and almonds, but that's optional.
  4. Bake for 14 - 16 minutes until edges just start to turn golden brown. Remove from oven and cool for about 5 minutes before moving to cooling rack.
    Notes

*You can replace the blueberries with another similar berry such as huckleberries, boysen berries, and I've even done blackberreies and raspberries. (You can use fresh berries if folded in carefully but for larger berries it's best to use frozen to keep them from making the dough wet and sticky and ending up with what my brothers like to call "zombie cookies" as they'll be all purple. Still delicious though😉 )

Blueberry White Chocolate Almond Oatmeal Cookies (13).jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

For more great food ideas, please do not forget to look at my other recent food posts

  1. Homemade 'Nilla Wafers with Banana Pudding
  2. Carrot & Lentil Salad with Indian Curry Tahini Dressing w/ Vegan Option
  3. Simple Chocolate Drizzled Blood Orange Cream Tart
  4. Springtime Vibes Salad+Cilantro Almond Butter Dressing
  5. Chocolate Dipped Frosting Filled Doughnuts
  6. Sweet and Spicy Honey Bourbon Chicken
  7. Strawberries+Cream Fudge Brownie Trifle
  8. Tropical Bay Breakfast Jars (Vegan)
  9. Veggies + Lemongrass Wild Rice Stuffed Peppers - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT
  10. National Nutella Day Chocolate Mousse Moose Cake

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Headerlast-4.jpg

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

Blueberry White Chocolate Almond Oatmeal Cookies.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

My Current Stats: 61,767 Steem Power | 11,790 Followers | 27,788 Posts

Sort:  

AJ picked your post @gringalicious for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

Those look amazing. I love cookies, chocolate, almonds and blueberries! Is that what you call a win,win,win,win situation?

any time the Old Dog stops by my posts, that is totally a win/ win!

It looks delicious. One of the key feature of happiness is good food.

These cookies looks very delicious. Photos are also great. You look to be great at both cooking and photography. Outstanding!

I did it. I made them and your recipe is the BEST!!!

Adding the oatmeal:

dough.jpg

No blueberries but double the amount of white chocolate chips:

done.jpg

awesome, that is fantastic @joannereid, I am so glad it worked for you. Thanks so much for sending me photos

My husband ate 6 before I got the second pan out of the oven and said they were the best he ever ate.

That should actually be in her post :)

Nothing is nicer than a delicious breakfast to start your day
I liked the ingredients looks delicious .. well done on the pictures
Great post .. thanks

thanks so much for the great commenting @slimanepro

I Love It!

thanks so much for commenting

I know! blogger and crypto, I wouldn't expect this to be a surprise to San Diego people. Maybe you should also tell them that you are a talented chef!

that's very kind of you @liwen12345, thanks so much for reading my post

Taste the best when you have bad day. 😍

well, I hope you don't have bad days @rhubarb

OMG these are great

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63956.04
ETH 3066.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31