Broccoli Cheddar Quiche & Hashbrown Potato Crust - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago

Here is one of those really awesome and healthy recipes I’ve been promising since December. I realize that it could be a bit healthier than hash brown crust, but come on guys, I’m feeding a pretty diverse group and I figure you guys are too. If you want you can go crustless, but honestly, I think the hash crust is the only reason I got some of the kids (and, eh-hem, pickier adults) to eat this at all.

DSC_2967.jpg

Everyone loved it though, including the two youngest in my fam, so I’d say this is a win win!I thought about going vegetarian with this, but after cutting out the dairy and the gluten, I thought it could really use some chicken, agreed?

DSC_2963.jpg

I used coconut milk for the creaminess and no one detected a thing, seriously. So for all of you coconut-hating skeptics in the crowd, just know the only thing you can taste is the super yummy hint of nuttiness that it adds and it’s really good!

DSC_2993.jpg

This also ended up being way easier than I had even hoped. I was in a hurry when I was making it so I cheated and pulsed everything in my processor and shaved off an extra few minutes. I’m definitely putting this into the regular rotation. In fact, I’ve already made it three more times since the one in these pics. Everyone loved it that much!

DSC_2977.jpg

Hope you guys are having a great month and getting ready for the next one!

DSC_3006.jpg

DSC_3009.jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent.

Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!


Gringalicious Headerlast-4.jpg

For more great food ideas, please do not forget to look at my other recent food posts
  1. How to Make Oatmeal Cream Pie Cookies
  2. Whole Grain Seed Bread
  3. Gringalicious Snapshot Sundays + Pancakes
  4. Lightened Butternut Squash Curry + Black Rice
  5. Luck of the Irish Cheddar Potato Soup
  6. Espresso White Chocolate Cake
  7. Candied Lemon Guava Berry Tart
  8. Pizza for Breakfast?!?! Cheesy Bacon Eggs & Gravy Pizza
  9. Italian Basil Meatballs & Tomato Sauce Pasta
  10. Tuesday Toast - Classic Breakfast

Oh, and don't forget to follow me on all your favorite social media channels!

Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Pinterest ~ Instagram

Recipe available upon request to the first Steemian friend who says today's words : "Just in quiche"

DSC_3027.jpg

Sort:  

That quiche looks good gringa!

I'm thrilled you like it @yummyrum!

Looking delicious . can I get recipe? "Just in quiche"

Of course @pariza!!!

Ingredients

Crust:
3 cups shredded (hash brown) potatoes
3 tablespoons olive oil
salt & pepper to taste
Filling:
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 small onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 small head (about 2 cups) broccoli florets, roughly chopped
6 eggs
1 cup full fat coconut milk
1 cup cooked chicken breast, cubed
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly cracked pepper
1/2 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
Instructions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 C) and toss potato shreds in a 12 inch cast iron skillet (or a similar sized pan that can go in the oven like a small casserole dish) with olive oil and salt and pepper to taste. Press the potatoes into as even a layer as you can and form up the sides of pan as well. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes or until golden on the edges. Remove and cool for about 5 minutes, and reduce oven temp to 325 degrees F (160 C).
While crust is in the oven, add the remaining 1 tablespoon oil, onion, garlic, and broccoli to a small frying pan and place over medium high heat. Cook for 4 to 5 minutes until broccoli is tender. Set pan aside to cool. Whisk eggs, coconut milk, salt, pepper, and nutmeg in a medium bowl, then stir in chicken.
Once crust and veggie mix have cooled just a little, add the broccoli mix to the egg mixture and fold in until evenly mixed. Scare the enntire thing into the prepared crust and bake for another 25 to 30 minutes until quiche is set and top is browned. Remove and cool for about 5 minutes then serve hot.

Looks so tempting...
I'll try making it sometimes next week.👍

That looks so delicious

I'm glad you think so @freerunner!

@gringalicious,
Delicious meal on the table and shape (crystal clear) photography of it! Amazing!

Cheers~

how many calories are in that?

Wow very tasty his food really wanted to feel a very interesting Post @gringalicious

Thank you so much @afkar86!

wow... i think this the best one. eeuuumm

Looks amazing! I've never heard of this before, but really keen to try :-) Just wondering.. when you say '3 cups shredded (hash brown) potatoes' is that a specific kind of potato I need or can I use any? Apologies if this is a stupid question. Also should I squeeze the water out of the potato?

Hash brown potato just refers to shredded potatoes. A cheese grater works and, yes, you can use any potato. Also, yes soaking the potatoes in water then using a towel to squeeze them dry is the best way. Thanks @yasminep!

Got it! Thanks so much! Great recipe :-)

Wow!Exquisite and exquisite publish sir.
Great post about Our Company Token Magic is Now a Sponsor of Anarchapulco!

Thanks @gingalicious for sharing this put up.😊

Upvoted & Resteemed your publish. ☺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87