Candied Lemon Guava Berry Tart - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

So you ready for the weekend guys?

DSC_0245.jpg

Well, I certainly am. So remember when I asked you guys what you wanted to see this year? Well a few of you were specific and @nonameslefttouse said he wanted to see my tarts. So here you go.

DSC_0176.jpg

Okay, you’re probably wanting to know what in the world a Chilean guava berry is. Also know as New Zealand cranberries, they are a berry that is native to South America and they grow all through the Andes where I used to live.

DSC_0057.jpg

They are called “murta” down in Chile and they taste like, well you’d kind of just have to try one, but some people say they taste like apples, pineapple, or pears and I’ve even heard some say that they taste like vanilla and cotton candy. Personally, I think they taste a little like a pine tree and strawberry had a baby, but they’re very unique to say the least.

DSC_0062.jpg

They don’t grow in my neighborhood now because I live back in Idaho, but I got these from some friends so I could make this tart. I wanted to do something simple but really good with them and a tart seemed like the perfect thing. Obviously most of you won’t be able to get your hands on them but that’s what I love about this tart, you can use any berry in their place. Oooh, I bet blueberries would be amazing or any wild berries you may have nearby. I know that when I start picking huckleberries this summer, those would be perfect too!

DSC_0075.jpg

Other than using honey, which you can replace if you need to, I made this recipe completely vegan and it’s gluten free too. In fact, it’s even healthy enough for breakfast or afternoon snacking. Oh, and on more thing, the candied lemons were a first time thing for me but they definitely won’t be a last. You’ve got to try them! If you guys make this I’d love to hear what berries you use!

DSC_0186.jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent.

Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!


Gringalicious Headerlast-4.jpg

For more great food ideas, please do not forget to look at my other recent food posts
  1. Pizza for Breakfast?!?! Cheesy Bacon Eggs & Gravy Pizza
  2. Italian Basil Meatballs & Tomato Sauce Pasta
  3. Tuesday Toast - Classic Breakfast
  4. Coconut Very Berry Smoothie Bowls
  5. Toasted Coconut Caramel Girl Scout Cookie Ice Cream
  6. Philly Cheesesteak Sandwiches
  7. Triple Citrus Jelly Filled Poppyseed Muffins
  8. Chocolate + Fruity Marshmallow Cookie Pizza (aka PIZOOKIE)
  9. Crunchy Twisted Pretzel Sticks & Honey Mustard Dip
  10. Tuxedo Cheesecake Bars

Oh, and don't forget to follow me on all your favorite social media channels!

Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Pinterest ~ Instagram

DSC_0216.jpg

Sort:  

Damn I'm hungry .. great pictures
Nothing is nicer than exploiting the gifts of the homeland
Thanks for sharing

OH.MY.GOD... I need this in my stomach NOW! I'm a huge guava fan so this is right up my alley. Maybe my wife will be down to try this weekend, she's from Hawaii so Guava is her favorite too!

tastyyyyyyyy
Yummmyyyy
Delicious
I like it 😋😋😋

Ready for the weekend here! You too? :) Looks delicious Gringa!

As always, thanks so much for your commenting @yummyrum

Oh my god, amazing!

Thanks so much for commenting @yummyrum

God bless you

very nice, @kospi, thanks

Wow! I've never seen tarts like that before.

I'm in a strange state of shock right now, or something. I don't know when I'm mentioned anywhere. I clicked two articles out of many to choose from... and my name was in both of them. What's going on! I'm freakin' out! I'll be okay though. It's just tarts. I've seen tarts before.

Alright. I'm calm. I'm wondering if you've ever tried Saskatoon berries? Those things are amazing. Good for tarts too.

I am really bummed it's taken me 3 days to see this, I don't know where I've been.

I'm always looking for things to improve my tarts, I take a look for Saskatoon berries. Do you think they'll make my tarts bigger?

In the lost and found. That's where I hang out, most days.

They'll be huge! People will wonder where you got those from!
P.S. You got me back. I actually lol'd at that one!

I'm laughing as I type! I am thrilled that I made you laugh and how much fun to laugh at making others laugh, now that's fun.

But seriously though, I am going shopping for the berries tomorrow! - LOL

They say this laughter stuff causes wrinkles but even a dried saskatoon berry still looks good. I hope you find some! Good luck!

Very nice photos, you are really good with that nikon! I had never heard of the Chilean guava berry before and had to read a little more before replying, now I would love to have one planted in my garden!

How wonderful @almvide! Thanks for your support

thanks for showing us your TARTS!

hey @freerunner, it is so good to hear from you!

Looks so yummy, thanks for sharing the recipe with all of us!

thanks so much for commenting @lpreap

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87