Cherry Berry Nice Cream Sundaes - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

DSC_3607.jpg

Is there such a thing as too much ice cream?

Also, does anyone else just want to shake the hand of the person who discovered that blending frozen bananas creates this miraculous, creamy consistency? I know I do. Seriously guys, nice cream is life.

DSC_3603.jpg

There’s a cherry tree in our backyard that has the prettiest flowers when it blooms. This year it has matured enough to yield some pretty sweet cherries so we did our best to pick them all. What really surprised me though, was how quickly they came and went. I walked out back a few days ago and they were literally gone already. I was only able to find about three good ones on the ground, that’s it. It kinda reminds you how fast life comes and goes, you know?

DSC_3587.jpg

Luckily I had frozen a lot of them so I decided what I needed to do was make something centered around cherries. I knew I wanted it to be refreshing and really cold to beat this warm Summer weather. It also needed to have some chocolate and berries because you know how obsessed I am with those things.

To be completely honest, I sometimes plan my recipes around my photos. When I think of cherries, one of the first things I imagine is seeing one crowning a glorious treat like this. It was a pretty elaborate vision in my mind and that’s when I decided some nice cream was the way to go.

DSC_3622.jpg

As I can never fail to include this detail when applicable, these are so easy! They took me less than ten minutes to prepare and that chocolate sauce on top is only 3-ingredients. You may have tried this little hack before. It’s known as a “magic shell” for how it hardens onto your ice cream, or in this case “nice cream”. Now obviously it’s not so magical if you aren’t a six-year-old, but one could argue that the taste is.

Going back to the topic of imaging food, I can totally picture these being a hit at any party or gathering you might have. You could even go the extra mile and make a toppings bar full of sliced fruits, chopped nuts, and dare I say; sprinkles!

DSC_3627.jpg

Cherry Berry Nice Cream Sundaes


Prep Time: 10 minutes
Total Time: 10 minutes
Yield: 2-3 servings

Craving dessert, but trying to be good? These nice cream sundaes take all of 10 minutes to make and are pretty healthy too!

Ingredients

Nice Cream:
5-6 very ripe (frozen) bananas
1 teaspoon vanilla extract (optional)
Cherry Berry Puree:
3/4 cup frozen cherries, pitted
3/4 cup frozen mixed berries
2 teaspoons pure maple syrup
Chocolate Magic Shell:
1 tablespoon coconut oil
1 tablespoon pure maple syrup
1/4 cup cocoa powder
fresh cherries, for the top

Instructions

In a blender or food processor, blend the bananas until smooth and creamy (you may need to scrape the sides a few time between pulses). Pour into a separate bowl or container and place in the freezer while preparing the other things.
In double boiler or microwave safe bowl, melt the coconut oil with syrup just until liquid. Add the cocoa powder to the mixture and stir until smooth.
For the cherry berry mixture, add the ingredients to the blender and blend until smooth.
To serve you can layer the three parts as I have done or simply serve them in a bowl like a traditional sundae, starting with the nice cream, then berry mixture, then magic shell. Don't forget a cherry on top!

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

If you're looking for more recipes check out some of my other recent posts!
  1. Crunchy Maple Cinnamon Pecan Cereal
  2. Sweet Potato & Avocado Sushi Rolls
  3. Homemade Peanut Butter Recipe
  4. Homemade Fig Newton Cookies
  5. Farro Salad + Pickled Beet & Almond Butter Dressing

Also, I've been starting to vlog in case you missed it.
  1. Hiking to Snow Creek Falls + I Hit 17k Followers!
  2. Vlog #3: Looking for a New Gym + Meet My Baby
  3. Vlog #2 Rock Climbing With @hotrod, @fullofhope, and @whiteknight20 + What I ate Today

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

DSC_3631.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules. Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead!

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

You are one of the few creators here that matches exquisite food/content with flawless images/photography. Well done @gringalicious, I really love your style.

Wow looks incredible, and infinitely more healthy than it's ice cream counterpart. I even love the maple syrup in the chocolate shell! Wonder what would happen if you used tempered melted chocolate instead of cocoa powder!

These look so good, cherries are my favorite :).

You are always so kind, thanks so much @kotturinn

You have a great post. That means a different post.

Your recipes always make me hungry !

I cannot stop staring at these pictures!!!

Awesome such a healthy alternative, although I still eat the regular stuff! lol :) But this looks yummy!! :)

wow! I am impressed, the food and taking photo of it's - it's a beauty!

Good thing you own your own cherry tree in your property, that must be great, get up in the morning and pick fresh fruit from your own tree is priceless, I must admit that your images made me want to try a delicious ice cream.
Thank you very much for the recipe and the instructions of the preparation
I wish you a great day dear friend @gringalicious

@jlufer Thank you so much for the support and I'm always glad to inspire!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39