Cream Filled Vanilla Twinkie Doughnuts - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography5 years ago

Twinkie Clone Doughnuts (Vegan)-6.jpg

Who needs a doughnut???

Twinkie Clone Doughnuts (Vegan).jpg

So, I can only recall eating like two or three Twinkie in my lifetime, it’s probably been about a decade and a half since I last had one. You know how everything tastes better when you’re little (especially when it’s something you’re mom doesn’t buy)?

Twinkie Clone Doughnuts (Vegan)-2.jpg

Well, when I was really young I loved them, they were so soft and filled with fluffy cream. It wasn’t until I was a little older that I realized they really weren’t all that. However, the idea is genius, but a homemade version is the way to do it right.

Twinkie Clone Doughnuts (Vegan)-3.jpg

I’ve seen people make Twinkie pans out of foil, and that’s something I would totally do, but I thought it would be a whole lot easier to just use my handy dandy doughnut pan and call it a day. Don’t you agree? So much quicker and, come on, who doesn’t get excited at the sight of that familiar O shape of a doughnut?

I went through a bunch of different frosting recipes to get to one that I liked for these. The one I ended up with is a classic buttercream frosting. Simple, but delicious. As for the finished product, basically, if you already have memories of packaged Twinkies then these should make you childishly happy.

Twinkie Clone Doughnuts (Vegan)-4.jpg

Cream Filled Vanilla Twinkie Doughnuts


If you've ever wanted to make your own version of those iconic treats then this recipe's got you covered. Filled with a creamy buttercream, these will have you completely forgetting the boxed kind for sure.

Prep Time 45 minutes
Cook Time 35 minutes
Chilling Time 30 minutes
Total Time 1 hour 20 minutes
Servings 12 doughnuts

Ingredients


Doughnuts:
1/3 cup sunflower oil or preferred baking oil
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 cup full-fat coconut milk
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/2 cups flour
Vegan Buttercream:
1/4 cup vegan "butter" (or organic vegetable shortening) room temp
1/4 cup organic vegetable shortening at room temp (not cold or melted) You can also replace this with vegan butter or use a combination
3 1/2 cups powdered sugar
1/8 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 teaspoon almond extract
2 tablespoons unsweetened plant-based milk

Instructions


Vegan Buttercream:
Beat "butter" in a large mixing bowl until creamed. Add vanilla and almond extract, salt, and powdered sugar one cup at a time. Add milk beat until light and fluffy. You may need to add more milk as needed for frosting consistency to be light and fluffy.
Doughnuts:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180 C) and grease 2 non-stick, 6-count, doughnut pans well with oil. Stir oil and sugar together in mixing bowl (no need to wash after the filling) until creamed. Beat in applesauce and milk, then add salt, baking powder, vanilla, and flour and mix until smooth.
Pour scoops of batter into donut pans and fill to the line. Bake for 15 to 18 minutes until just starting to brown on top. Remove and cool completely, then loosen from pan (I find the side of a spoon works well for this).
Fill a pastry bag, fitted with long narrow tip, with your filling. Use chopstick or skewer to poke 3 - 4 holes around the doughnuts then pipe filling sideways into doughnuts. Serve as soon as possible after piping.

Recipe Notes


If you need to make this ahead of time it's best to keep filling separately and just wait to fill right before serving.

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Headerlast.jpg

If you're looking for more recipes check out some of my other recent posts!
  1. Spiced Caribbean Falafel Wraps
  2. Hazelnut Chocolate Scones & “Nutella” Icing
  3. Peanut Jackfruit Stew & Orange Cilantro Rice
  4. Sweet Potato & Chickpea Green Curry
  5. Chocolate Frosted Yellow Vanilla Cake

Twinkie Clone Doughnuts (Vegan)-5.jpg

Banner 2019=framed7.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

This is my cue to get off Steemit and go eat something. Though now I am probably going to be underwhelmed by whatever I eat..

Haha, well I'm sorry to hear that, but so glad you liked these photos.

now I am hungry!! will try this recipe soon! :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I hope you enjoy it, thanks!

Thanks for information

Posted using Partiko Android

You're so welcome, have a great weekend!

I’m not really the biggest donut person but a Twinkie donut would defiantly be worth a try

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm so glad you think so, thanks!

It's filled with cream vanilla, looks so delicious. It reminds me of a souffle. Can you make an instruction on how to cook a souffle recipe @gringalicious?

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! You're so kind!

Hand up here for one of those doughnuts!

Haha, thanks for stopping by.

I need a doughnut! 🙋🏼‍♂️

I know, right!

Hi, @gringalicious!

You just got a 0.01% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

i love doughnuts ..

can you add more recipe so i can learn more from you..

I really respect your work! I would never be able to take so many pictures of donuts without eating them all.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31