Crunchy Maple Cinnamon Pecan Cereal - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago

Crunchy Maple Cinnamon Pecan Cereal-1.jpg

It’s another cereal recipe. What, what!

You’re probably thinking, why would you make cereal when you can just go out and buy it? Well my friend I’m so glad you asked. I am so glad you asked. Okay, I don’t know about you, but I have this major love for cereals and granola. In fact, it’s very nearly an addiction. If it’s crispy, toasty, sweet and flavorful I’m hooked. Oh, and if you add a hint of salty to the equation I’m a goner. Do you think there’s a support group for this? CAD (cereal addicts anonymous) maybe?

Crunchy Maple Cinnamon Pecan Cereal-3.jpg

I’m telling you, it’s dangerous for me to have too much around. The funniest part is that I rarely ever eat a bowl of cereal. What I love to do is sprinkle it on other things or just nibble on it by the handful, a lot of it. If I do eat it in a bowl I love to add ALL the toppings (i.e. fruit, berries, coyo…..) Also, there’s this one granola from Trader Joe’s. Maybe you’ve heard of it, it’s the maple pecan clusters. Anyway, that stuff is incredibleness, but it’s truly not the healthiest. My family also loves the almond vanilla one, so maybe I’ll be creating a recipe for that soon.

Crunchy Maple Cinnamon Pecan Cereal-1-2.jpg

So that brings me back to my original point. The reason I wanted to make this is because I know this all about myself. I wanted to make a cereal that had pretty clean ingredients and none of the stuff you don’t want. Oh, maybe just a little lower on the addiction scale, you know? This isn’t meant to be a copycat of the granola I mentioned, just a reminiscent cousin.

I recently picked up some different puffed cereals from a local whole food store and was really excited to use it. While this type of cereal is obviously still processed a little, they still only have one ingredient which is great. One of them was puffed millet, and the other puffed kamut.

Crunchy Maple Cinnamon Pecan Cereal-1-3.jpg

I actually thought that kamut was gluten free, but unfortunately I found out that it’s not. Now I don’t personally have a gluten allergy (that I know of). If you or someone in your family does though, don’t worry. The good news is that you can buy puffed corn or puffed rice and use those as a replacement if needed. A combination of the two would be great. I’m so glad that millet is gluten free though, because it’s probably my favorite part of this recipe. I think the fact that it’s so tiny plays on my love for cute things. Awwww, the grains are just so tinyyyyyyy 😍😍😍!

Crunchy Maple Cinnamon Pecan Cereal-2.jpg

Wow, this has been a pretty long-winded explanation of a simple recipe, but whatevs. If you’ve made it to this point and still want to try it, I’m so happy. Alright, final thoughts. Like I mentioned before, the puffed cereals I used are single ingredient. If you need this to be gluten free or just can’t find those ingredients, you can replace them with puffed corn or rice cereal. Just be sure there aren’t any added ingredients. Oh, and it takes less than 30 minutes to make!

So we good? Awesome. Let me know what you think of it and I’d love to know how you like to eat cereal.

Crunchy Maple Cinnamon Pecan Cereal


Prep Time: 10 minutes
Cook Time: 20 minutes
Total Time: 30 minutes
Yield: 3-4 servings

A healthy homemade cereal with minimal ingredients but all the flavor! Try not to love this stuff.

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups puffed millet
1 1/2 cups puffed kamut (use puffed corn or rice for gf)
1 cup rolled oats (gf if needed)
3 tablespoons pecans, roughly chopped
2 tablespoons nut butter (any kind works but I used almond)
1/4 cup pure maple syrup
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon pure maple extract (optional)
1 teaspoon cinnamon

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180 C) and line a tray with parchment or wax paper.
Stir together the nut butter, syrup, salt, vanilla, maple extract, and cinnamon in a medium mixing bowl. Add the oats and puffed grains and stir to coat everything well.
Spread the cereal out on the tray and bake for 10-12 minutes. Remove from oven and stir it with a spatula. If you'd like it extra toasted, return it to the oven for an additional few minutes. Remove from oven and cool completely Store in an airtight container until ready to enjoy.

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

If you're looking for more recipes check out some of my other recent posts!
  1. Sweet Potato & Avocado Sushi Rolls
  2. Homemade Peanut Butter Recipe
  3. Homemade Fig Newton Cookies
  4. Farro Salad + Pickled Beet & Almond Butter Dressing
  5. Double Chocolate Chip Almond Flour Cookies

Also, I've been starting to vlog in case you missed it.
  1. Hiking to Snow Creek Falls + I Hit 17k Followers!
  2. Vlog #3: Looking for a New Gym + Meet My Baby
  3. Vlog #2 Rock Climbing With @hotrod, @fullofhope, and @whiteknight20 + What I ate Today

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

Crunchy Maple Cinnamon Pecan Cereal-5.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

Hi dear! This bowl is tempting me! It’s so good for a healthy breakfast.

wow, this looks amazing and so tasty! it's almost night time here but I need some cereal asap :D

What appetizing and tasty to look at but useful I will cook and taste it on the palate😍😍 @gringalicious

Oh wow, i think you have magic in your hand, anything you make looks delicious, tasty and unique, not only delicious also beautiful. I also want to try according to your given ingredients but i know i can not get same result as u have. You have really a super power anything you touch it convert into diamonds. Very very helpful and useful recipe you shared today.

@doctordev Oh, what a sweet compliment. Thank you so much!

You most welcome @gringalicious I really appreciate your blogs. God bless you and keep up your energy. Be healthy and happy much need for you, you are a good person.

Photos are very beautiful.
The food is also very tasty. I enjoyed.up

This looks too delicious. Thanks for making us eat it @gringalicious

Wow tasty and delicious food i like it brother thanks for sharing this amazing photo with us...keep sharing

Great recipe!!!!
Your captures are amazing as always.
Steem on :)

Delicious @gringalicious ,Thanks for sharing ,My wife passionate about cooking ,I should share this to her and tell her to try ,If you have time pls visit my latest post ,she prepared her latest experiment in steam cake ,pls check and comment us

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14