Easy Vanilla Marshmallow Milkshakes - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago

You know you’re a grown-up, responsible, mature adult when…….you purposefully dump miniature marshmallows everywhere to take a photo and no one questions your sanity.

Easy Vanilla Marshmallow Milkshakes (2).jpg

I’ve learned a few things this week, and one of them is that you’re not in the right line of work if you can’t enjoy what you do. Okay, I’d be the first one to defend the fact that food-blogging is way freaking harder than it might sound. Contrary to what some may think, it’s a full-time, multi-faceted, difficult job (with a lot of dishes), plus working from home presents its own challenges. Okay, but it’s also a lot of fun sometimes.

Easy Vanilla Marshmallow Milkshakes (3).jpg

So do you remember me mentioning that my house is very full right now? There are far too many teenage boys together for it to be a good idea, let me tell you. Over the weekend, not only did they convince me that they needed pizza for dinner, but I also somehow ended up making them these marshmallow milkshakes for dessert. There’s this little burger place up in Sandpoint where they make these milkshakes and all Summer long the boys were telling me I should make them because they love them. It’s taken me until now to finally do it, but apparently they were worth the wait.

Easy Vanilla Marshmallow Milkshakes (4).jpg

Also, don’t you love those recipes that only need a few simple ingredients and hardly any time? I know I do. Especially if they only need one bowl, or in this case, one blender. Haha, speaking of blenders, this really needs to be made in one. I mean, you could probably do it by hand if you used marshmallow fluff instead of marshmallows, but no guarantees.

Easy Vanilla Marshmallow Milkshakes (5).jpg

You see, the first few tests of this recipe were made ahead of time for photo purposes, but the boys generously offered to help me get rid of them afterwards if I’d save them in the freezer so I could revive them in the blender later.

Easy Vanilla Marshmallow Milkshakes,.jpg

Of course, when you put things in the freezer they get pretty solid and it just so happened that the boys came in begging to try them right after I’d finished filling and starting the dishwasher with my blender in it. Nice. On top of that we were trying to keep the noise down because some of the fam was trying to sleep.

Easy Vanilla Marshmallow Milkshakes (7).jpg

Oh, and to be fair, the boys were very polite about this but something about my personality makes me feel like the whole world is on hold if someone is waiting on me for anything at all. So me being a professional and everything, I thought I’d just make them from square one by hand, rather than try to thaw the frozen ones. Yeah, well as it turns out, cold marshmallows don’t dissolve and definitely won’t fit through a straw. Aren’t you jealous of my mad genius skills?

Easy Vanilla Marshmallow Milkshakes (8).jpg

Anyway, these really ARE easy as long as you have your blender ready and the end result has such a nice texture from the cold marshmallow adding a slight fluff to the ice cream. All my taste testers gave me full thumbs up for this recipe so I’m hoping you enjoy it as well.

Easy Vanilla Marshmallow Milkshakes (9).jpg

Easy Vanilla Marshmallow Milkshakes
Prep Time: 5 minutes
Total Time: 5 minutes
Yield: 2 - 4 servings (4 cups)

You're only 5 ingredients and less than 5 minutes away from this fluffy vanilla dream of a milkshake.

Ingredients

2 cups mini marshmallows
1 cup plain vanilla ice cream
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup ice cubes
1/3 cup milk (dairy or non-dairy)
Whipped cream + additional marshmallows for serving (optional)

Instructions

When ready to serve, combine all the ingredients in a blender or food processor and blend until smooth.

Notes

Depending on the ingredients you use this recipe can be gluten free. If needed, be sure to check that the ice cream and marshmallows you're using don't contain gluten.

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent.

Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Headerlast-4.jpg

For more great food ideas, please do not forget to look at my other recent food posts

  1. Gringalicious Snapshot Sundays + Saying Goodbye to January
  2. Pistachio+Kale Pesto Feta Pita Pizzas
  3. Triple Chocolate Chip Cake Ball Truffles
  4. Dairy Queen Cake Batter Blizzard Copycat
  5. Braised Slow-Cooker Pork Roast + Rainbow Root Veggies
  6. Black Forest Chocolate Chip Morning Buns
  7. TUESDAY TOAST: Bruschetta, Goat Cheese, & Almond Toast
  8. Peanut Butter Banana Oatmeal
  9. Frozen Cookie Dough Banana "Nice Cream"
  10. Ham Rice + Steakhouse Comeback Sauce

Easy Vanilla Marshmallow Milkshakes (9).jpg

Easy Vanilla Marshmallow Milkshakes (10).jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

In picture the shake looks so yummy . My mouth filled with water...keep sharing your food with us.

thanks @introvert-dime. I appreciate you taking the time to comment

Looks so delicious

thank so much for commenting @steemitfriend

^_^

wow... this just amazing how you present your food masterpieces... you got real talent... you inspire me every time I am taking a peek at your posts...

@gringalicious, what did you do? LOL

Gorgeous photos!

I followed you please follow me

thanks so much for your continued support @mamaloves

that's awesome, yeah now you have people encouraging you to scatter your sets with whatever, including marshmallows.

Amazing photos and great writing!!

i followed you please follow me

always so kind and supportive, thanks so much @noboxes

I am glad a full house is giving you inspiration!

I always appreciate seeing the effort you go to to get your shots. Its not just a case of prepping the food and taking a snapshot. The marshmallows surround the glass show you've put thought and effort into creating a scene here. The results are fantastic as always, and yet again you have me sooooo tempted to break my diet today ;)

thanks so much @davekavanagh. I've look at a few of your posts recently, you're a true photographer so I appreciate your compliments very much, thank you!

Aww thank you. I know a little bit anyway, enough to recognise great work like yours when I see it :)

I followed you please follow me

that looks soo cute, fluffy and so cosy!! perfect for this gloomy winter weather and i love those little marshmallows :D heheh

Aww, thanks so much for telling me, Alla. One thing about being back in the states from Chile, I can get any size and shape of marshmallow I want - LOL. Thanks so much for stopping by!

should really not be watching this post hungry and sugar craving... damn :D Looks delicious!

Oh boy! I might go to Walmart and buy an entire tub of icecream and sit in my closet and eat it all. I blame you. LOL

that all sounds good except for the walmart part, don't go in there, it's depressing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63722.47
ETH 3049.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.03