Farro Salad + Pickled Beet & Almond Butter Dressing - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago

Farro Salad + Pickled Beet & Almond Butter Dressing -2.jpg

Okay, okay, so I might have basically already lost you at the title of this recipe. What can I say? I just prefer upfront honesty.

Farro Salad + Pickled Beet & Almond Butter Dressing -1-3.jpg

So I seriously considered only sharing the dressing for this recipe and letting the salad be the “serving suggestion” because that’s pretty much all it is. Here’s what happened. -> I was craving a big bowl of greenness, and if you can’t possibly fathom how someone could for reals be that excited about salad, that’s okay we can still be friends ;). Anyway, what ended up in the bowl was totally by chance based on what I had that day. This dressing though, it’s life-changing!

Fine, so it might not be the most exceptional recipe you’ve ever heard of. I mean, there are only 3 ingredients in it. The reason I was so excited about it is that it brings together some of my favorite aspects of a recipe. #1. It takes no time to make. #2. It uses something, that would otherwise be a waste product, in a genius way. #3. almond butter. enough said.

If you’re still here I’ll let you know what’s in it, but first, have you ever tried pickled beets? Even if you despise beets with every cell in your body and loathe pickled things with a burning passion, I’d still ask you to give them a chance. So do you like sweet and sour sauce because that’s what they remind me of. You know how pickles are unrecognizable as cucumbers? In fact, when I’ve asked some people what veggie is used to make pickles I’ve been shocked how many don’t even know.

Farro Salad + Pickled Beet & Almond Butter Dressing -3.jpg

That’s the story of pickled beets. They turn from a strong flavored, very sweet root veg into a soft bite of perfectly balanced sweet and sour. Plus, they taste nothing like their original selves and don’t even get me started on the benefits of eating them. If you’d like to buy them the link will be below with a small payment of…..jk, lol. No shameless plugs today. Just shameless love of real food.

Farro Salad + Pickled Beet & Almond Butter Dressing -4.jpg

Wow, all this rambling and I still haven’t told you what exactly goes into this dressing. Here it is; almond butter, Trader Joe’s green dragon sauce (or any hot sauce), and the juice from a jar of pickled beets. Done. Right there you’ve got your creamy, spicy, sweet, tangy, and salty flavors and all you do is stir it together. Can you spell win win?
Oh, and if you’re wondering what farro is, it’s an ancient grain and form of wheat that’s similar to barley. It’s got all sorts of health benefits but because it is a wheat it contains gluten. If you have an intolerance to gluten, don’t worry, just replace it in this recipe with brown rice.

Farro Salad + Pickled Beet & Almond Butter Dressing -6.jpg

Farro Salad + Pickled Beet & Almond Butter Dressing


Prep Time: 15 minutes
Total Time: 15 minutes
Yield: 1-2 servings

Some super basic salad inspiration focused around an extremely easy dressing.

Ingredients

Dressing:


1/3 cup pickled beet liquid
1-2 tablespoons tj's green dragon sauce (or any hot sauce)
2 tablespoons raw almond butter

Salad: (everything optional)


1-2 cups baby spinach or lettuce, roughly chopped
1-2 stalks celery, chopped
1/4 cup cherry tomatoes
1/2 cup cooked white beans, rinsed
1/2 cup cooked farro (use brown rice for gluten free)
1/4 cup cubed roasted sweet potato
1/2 green bell pepper, sliced
1/4 cup carrots, diced
2 tablespoon onion, diced
1/4 cup pickled beet cubes
1 tablespoon pepitas

Instructions

In a small bowl or glass, whisk together the ingredients for the dressing until smooth. Store in an airtight container until ready to serve.
For the salad, wash and chop all of the veggies you'd like to add top with the dressing when ready to eat.

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

If you're looking for more recipes check out some of my other recent posts!
  1. Double Chocolate Chip Almond Flour Cookies
  2. Easy Nacho Cheese Dip
  3. Basic Homemade Peanut Butter Cups
  4. Creamy Avocado Pesto Zoodle Salad
  5. Homemade Chocolate Hazelnut Butter (Nutella)

Also, I've been starting to vlog in case you missed it.
  1. Hiking to Snow Creek Falls + I Hit 17k Followers!
  2. Vlog #3: Looking for a New Gym + Meet My Baby
  3. Vlog #2 Rock Climbing With @hotrod, @fullofhope, and @whiteknight20 + What I ate Today
  4. The Most Random First Vlog Ever + An Unboxing

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

Farro Salad + Pickled Beet & Almond Butter Dressing -11.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules. Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead!

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

Look really nice that food!!!
👍👍👍

that salad looks fantastic

makesushi , how can u write in different Font? Plz tell me?

there are text formatting options just right a # in front of stuff, on a new sentence

It look very tasty . Personally I don't care about look of the food but now maybe I will care about that :D

You definitely didn't lose me at the title. Farro is one of my favorite grains! And I love the pickled beets, too. Your presentation should make anyone willing to add some more veggies to their day. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00