Healthy Maple Peanut Butter Pumpkin Snack Doughnuts

in #photography6 years ago

Healthy Maple Peanut Butter Pumpkin Snack Doughnuts (7).jpg

Who loves a good (healthy) snack that comes in a doughnut form??? These doughnuts are so named because they are completely acceptable (depending on who’s opinion you go by) to have as a balanced snack or for breakfast with your morning coffee. I made them with oats that I processed into flour so they’re gluten free and they are also dairy free, refined sugar free, fairly low in fat, and vegan.

Healthy Maple Peanut Butter Pumpkin Snack Doughnuts..jpg

Can I get a pat on the back for this? Yay, for healthy doughnuts that you can have without guilt! I’ve been trying to keep those of you with diet restrictions in mind amidst all of my holiday excitement. Plus, can’t we all use a little more healthy snack options this close to the holidays? I certainly know a few picky kiddos that can.

Healthy Maple Peanut Butter Pumpkin Snack Doughnuts,.jpg

I’ve been wanting to put pumpkin spice with maple and peanut butter for a while. Growing up, I loved putting peanut butter on my waffles and then dousing them in maple syrup so I already knew I love that combo but I’ve been wondering what it would be like to put that with pumpkin spice also so I went for it.

Healthy Maple Peanut Butter Pumpkin Snack Doughnuts (3).jpg

Pumpkin is naturally a little sweet but I wanted some more natural sweetness so I added a secret ingredient to these, cooked carrots. If I just lost right there, wait just a moment. Carrots are way sweeter than pumpkin, they’re orange like pumpkin, and they add really good texture to these.

Healthy Maple Peanut Butter Pumpkin Snack Doughnuts (2).jpg

I recommend eating these as fresh as possible. They are still delicious next day or even a few days old dipped in coffee, but when they’re fresh and warm they are the best.

Healthy Maple Peanut Butter Pumpkin Snack Doughnuts (5).jpg

Also, note that these are not super sweet. I added a minimal amount of maple syrup and that’s why I made the optional glaze to go with them and I felt like it finished them perfectly. However, if you would like them sweeter I’d try adding a bit of raw sugar or even stevia to the batter. K, shutting up. Enjoy your guilt-free snacking!

Healthy Maple Peanut Butter Pumpkin Snack Doughnuts


Prep Time: 25 minutes
Cook Time: 35 minutes
Total Time: 1 hour
Yield: about 10 doughnuts

Next time those sweet snack-time cravings hit, try making something that's a little healthier rather than diving into the oreos and candy.

Ingredients

Doughnuts:


3 cups old fashioned oats
2 flax/chia "eggs" *see note
1/4 cup maple syrup
1/4 cup peanut butter
2 tablespoons water
2/3 cup pumpkin puree
2/3 cup cooked carrots
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/3 cup full-fat coconut milk
cornstarch or arrowroot powder for flouring pan

Glaze:


1/3 cup maple syrup
1/3 cup coconut milk
2 teaspoons cornstarch or arrowroot powder
2/3 cup water
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon vanilla
dash of salt

Instructions

Doughnuts:
Pour oats into a food processor or blender and pulse until almost as fine as flour (it's okay if there are still a few unground oats, it will add texture). Pour into a separate bowl and add "eggs", syrup, peanut butter, and water to processor. Pulse until smooth then add remaining ingredients for doughnuts and again pulse until smooth. Pour in your ground oats and pulse just to mix in.
Grease a doughnut pan very lightly with oil and dust well with cornstarch or arrowroot powder. Spoon batter into pan molds and fill each of 10 slots until slightly heaping over rim. Bake for 18 - 22 minutes or until lightly browned on top. Remove from oven and cool completely before gently loosening from pans with a spoon.
Glaze:
Whisk together maple syrup, coconut milk, and cornstarch (or arrowroot) in a small saucepan until smooth. Add water and cinnamon and place over low heat. Cook, stirring constantly, until the mixture just begins to thicken. Remove from heat and stir in vanilla and coconut oil until smooth. Allow it to cool for at least 5 minutes, the pour over cooled doughnuts and serve as soon as possible.
Store in an airtight container for up to 5 days.

Notes

For each vegan egg, combine 1 tablespoon of ground flax or chia seeds with 3 tablespoons of water. Stir well, and place in the fridge to set for 15 minutes. After 15 minutes, the result should be a sticky egg-like substitute. This recipe can also be made in a muffin tin if you don't have a doughnut pan.

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

If you're looking for more recipes check out some of my other recent posts!
  1. Maple Drizzled Pistachio & Avocado Bagel Toast
  2. Autumn Squash Soft Pretzels
  3. Beautiful Breakfast/Snack Bowl
  4. Outback Copycat Brown Bread
  5. Asian Kale Watermelon Salad + Sesame Peanut Dressing

Also, I've been starting to vlog in case you missed it.
  1. Silverwood Theme Park Rollercoaster On Rides POV (Front Seat)
  2. Montana Travels Glacier National Park
  3. Vlog #4 Grocery Shopping with Gringalicious at Trader Joe's
  4. Hiking to Snow Creek Falls + I Hit 17k Followers!
  5. Vlog #3: Looking for a New Gym + Meet My Baby

Steemit Fall Collage.jpg

Healthy Maple Peanut Butter Pumpkin Snack Doughnuts (6).jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

These look delicious but I can't eat peanuts, makes my face oily.

As a giant foodie, I'm addicted to your posts.

Nice photography and delicious food.

So glad you liked it!

howdy there gringalicious! oh my...I'd call these here health food for sure! wow, I'd eat these by the bushel and not feel guilty at all, great job girl!

I'm so glad you like it, my friend!

Hello,
sorry to leave this as a comment on your beautiful post but could you do me and a mutual friend a favor by reading my last post. I don't want to drop a link here and be rude. I am not asking for an upvote from you either......but maybe you could read the the post and might know how we can help this mutual friend.

thank you for your time.
@Snook

Oh my goodness... NEXT LEVEL! These are just amazing, I get back home in a few weeks and 100% are going to be making these, they sound incredible! Thanks for this, your recipes are always amazing, some of the best I’ve seen! Keep it up 😀🌅

That's such a kind thing to say!

Buena receta,se ve deliciosas.

Gracias mi amiga!

Very nice)))! Follow;)

So sweet, girl!

Hi, @gringalicious!

You just got a 1.01% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

You got a 66.57% upvote from @oceanwhale courtesy of @gringalicious! Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @oceanwhale. Visit www.OceanWhaleBot.com for details!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63900.26
ETH 3063.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.21