Korean Edamame & Jicama Stir-Fry - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Korean Edamame & Jicama Stir-Fry-3.jpg

I’ve been trying to branch out beyond my comfort zone when it comes to the produce section. There are all kinds of plants that I’ve never even tasted and have know idea how to use.

You’d think after so many years of working with food this often, I’d have tried everything. But nope, I definitely haven’t. That’s why I’ve sort of made myself this little challenge of buying something new (or at least something I’ve rarely used). We’ll see how long it takes me to reach my goal; being able to walk by all the fruits and veggies be familiar with it all.

Korean Edamame & Jicama Stir-Fry-1-3.jpg

Jicama isn’t the most common veggie out there. In fact, maybe you’ve never heard of it. In the past I can only recall ever eating it raw dipped in things like hummus. The texture is different that I’d expected the first time I tried it. To best describe it, I’d say it’s somewhere between a radish and an unripe pear. It’s also sweet and it can be used in all types of recipes.

Korean Edamame & Jicama Stir-Fry-2-2.jpg

So this stir-fry was a quick fix dinner I made this week. You probably know this about me already, but I LOVE Asian cuisine. It’s my favorite. For this one you can serve it with rice, noodles, or simply eat it alone. Aside from my love for these flavors, I’m a huge fan of colorful dishes. But seriously, who doesn’t love to eat the rainbow?

Korean Edamame & Jicama Stir-Fry-2.jpg

As for the spices and sauces, I tried to keep it pretty simple here. What makes this dish sort of Korean is that I used the popular condiment gochujang. When I was living in South America I dated this guy that worked for a Korean company. During that time I learned all kinds of things about Korean culture, including gochujang and kimchi. Which by the way, kimchi is a great addition to this stir-fry.

Korean Edamame & Jicama Stir-Fry-4.jpg

In truth I got my first test of this recipe a bit spicier than my preference. Just something to keep in mind if you’re a spice wimp like me. 😉 Korean food is typically very spicy. Oh, and before anyone points out that this isn’t very traditional to Korean-style eating, don’t worry yourself, I know. You see, Koreans tend to eat their food very separate. Coming from a family full of picky eaters I think this is a brilliant thing because everyone can choose what they want. However, when cooking for just one or two people, I like to keep the dishes to a minimum so that clean-up is easy, you feel me?

Korean Edamame & Jicama Stir-Fry-10.jpg

Anyway, this is such a simple meal that I’ve been loving lately and I should also add that it makes a great addition to meal prepping if that’s something you’re into. K, so let me know if you decide to try it.

Korean Edamame & Jicama Stir-Fry-11.jpg

Korean Edamame & Jicama Stir-Fry


Prep Time: 10 minutes
Cook Time: 15 minutes
Total Time: 25 minutes
Yield: 3-4 servings

A quick and easy Korean flavor inspired stir-fry that's great for weeknights and meal preps.

Ingredients

1/2 red onion, diced
2 cups jicama root, peeled and chopped
2 cups broccolini or broccoli
1 cup red cabbage, chopped
2 cups shelled edamame beans
Sauce:
1 tablespoon minced garlic
2 teaspoons freshly grated ginger
2 tablespoons coconut aminos (or soy sauce)
2-3 tablespoons gochujang (Korean ketchup)
2-3 teaspoons chili garlic paste
cooked rice or noodles for serving (optional)
black sesame seeds, (optional)

Instructions

In a medium to large, non-stick, skillet add the garlic, ginger, onion, jicama, broccolini, and cabbage. Pour in about 1/2 a cup of water place the skillet over medium high heat. Cover the pan with a lid and cook the veggies, stirring occasionally, for about 7-8 minutes until starting to soften.
Add the coconut aminos, gochujang, and chili garlic paste and continue cooking uncovered until the liquid is evaporated. Add the edamame and stir into the veggies until the sauce is thickened.
Serve hot with rice or noodles if desired.

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

If you're looking for more recipes check out some of my other recent posts!
  1. Cherry Berry Nice Cream Sundaes
  2. Crunchy Maple Cinnamon Pecan Cereal
  3. Sweet Potato & Avocado Sushi Rolls
  4. Homemade Peanut Butter Recipe
  5. Homemade Fig Newton Cookies

Also, I've been starting to vlog in case you missed it.
  1. Hiking to Snow Creek Falls + I Hit 17k Followers!
  2. Vlog #3: Looking for a New Gym + Meet My Baby
  3. Vlog #2 Rock Climbing With @hotrod, @fullofhope, and @whiteknight20 + What I ate Today

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

Korean Edamame & Jicama Stir-Fry-5.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Current Stats - 73,106 Steem Power - 17,155 Followers

Sort:  

It sounds like an easy recipe but I think I'll never find jicama in finland. :D If there is somewhere, it's probably very expensive. :/ Do you have any ideas what I could use instead?

Hello my fav chef on steemit, @gringalicious. This one looks more of vegetables. Hope it tastes great? I know you're good at what you do but lol i'm just asking

@lexymaine yup, more of vegetables for sure. Thanks so much for the question

I think you are one of the greatest people i've come across when it comes to cooking. Keep it up luv

Love the food challenge concept! Can't wait to see which one you choose next! Anything with edamame also deserves a thumbs up👍👍

@justinrogers very nice of you to say, thanks so much and thanks for commenting

Hi,

Look so delicious. I never ate something like this creation by you as a Korean.
You can cook for me anytime.

Wow, this looks delicious!

I've always loved using edamame as a stir-fry/salad ingredient. It's very versatile.

@gokazoku so true, thanks so much for commenting

Looks incredible!! I love edamame as a snack, and have never tried it in a stir-fry. Thanks for sharing this! 😊

@mrscwin thanks for the compliment and thanks so much for commenting

yummmm - love korean food!

Kind of funny that I was just commenting about jicama on another post! @rawadventuress used it in her vegan sushi. Now I'm going to have to go get some because everyone has made me crave it! I've only had it raw, so this looks like a fun way to use it cooked.

@plantstoplanks it turned out great, served at last night's barbecue and everyone who tried it loved it. Thanks so much for taking the time to comment

It is true I had never heard of the jicana, I must admit that this dish looks very interesting
the ingredients are common except for the jicana
Thank you very much for the recipe and the instructions dear friend @ gringalicious /
I wish you a beautiful day

@jlufer so great to hear from you, and thanks so much for taking the time to comment. I do hope you give this a try, thanks again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86