Marshmallow Peanut Butter Chocolate Cookies - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Caramel Fluffernutter Chocolate Chip Cookies-3.jpg

I totally Jack Sparrowed it on you guys with this one……..

And by that I mean, I was just making it up as I went. Like, I literally hadn’t decided if these were going to be cookies, brownies, doughnuts, or something entirely different when I first started on them. Then I somehow ended up with these lovlies, and that’s not bragging. It’s a commonly known fact that every cookie is gorgeous, but you knew that already, right? Ha, what am I saying, of course you did!

If you aren’t familiar with the name fluffernutter then let me clue you in. Fluffernutters are a famous sandwich made with the magical combination of marshmallow and peanut butter. It’s basically a perfect food item and I think it should be more popular than it is. When I was younger, my sis and I went through this phase where we used to eat them together as late night snacks every night for at least a few months. True story. Oh yeah, and you can’t forget the chocolate chips, YES! The pinnacle of a balanced meal right?

Caramel Fluffernutter Chocolate Chip Cookies-4.jpg

But like I said, I wasn’t planning for these to be fluffernutter cookies. Until I realized how amazing one of my freshly made marshmallows would be melted on top of my in-development cookies, I hadn’t even considered it. I actually started out making caramel cookies because I had all of this extra caramel and I’ve always wondered what caramel would be like inside cookie dough. Something else I discovered when making my second batch of these, crunchy peanut butter is where it’s at peeps. do it!

Caramel Fluffernutter Chocolate Chip Cookies-2.jpg

I used my favorite yummy homemade mallows for these and they were so good, but I understand if you want to cheat and skip that. Homemade ones tend to be less heat stable than store-bought ones, but that’s because they don’t have all the weird ingredients that allow them to last forever and not look any different. This is especially the case with my favorite marshmallow recipe.

Caramel Fluffernutter Chocolate Chip Cookies-1-2.jpg

If you use store-bought ones, you’ll want to stick them under the broiler for just a moment or two so they get really melted and toast the tops. Another perk of using homemade though, is that you can cut them to the perfect size squares, but if you’re going to buy them, you can either use a few minis per cookie or cut the big ones into thirds or halves. P.S. I heard the mallow-police took the day off so there’s no one stopping you from going XXL with homemade or store-bought! Cause really, can you have too much marshmallow on a caramel peanut butter chocolate chip cookie???

Caramel Fluffernutter Chocolate Chip Cookies-1.jpg

Marshmallow Peanut Butter Chocolate Cookies


Caramel isn't just for topping apples and ice cream. This cookie dough gets its depth from it and then gets complimented with a melty marshmallow to finish things off.

Prep Time 20 minutes
Cook Time 25 minutes
Total Time 45 minutes
Servings 36 cookies (about)

Ingredients


1/2 cup vegan butter or organic vegetable shortening
3/4 cup brown sugar packed
1/4 prepared caramel sauce I used the butterscotch caramel in my butterbeer recipe
1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons applesauce or pumpkin puree
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2 cup unsweetened natural peanut butter or 2/3 crunchy
3 cups all purpose flour
1 1/4 cups dairy-free semi-sweet chocolate chips or chopped chocolate
2 cups gelatin free marshmallows cut in half

Instructions


Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees F (180 C) and beat butter and sugar in the bowl of stand mixer and mix on low until creamed in, then stop and scrape sides of bowl. Add caramel and applesauce while stirring and mix until combined, then add vanilla, soda, and salt. Mix in peanut butter until mixed then add flour one cup at a time and stir after each addition until you have a thick dough, then mix in chocolate chips.
Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper or sil pads. Roll dough into 1 inch balls and use your thumb to make deep indentions on top of each. Place them about 2 inches apart on baking sheet and bake for 7 to 9 minutes until edges start to turn golden brown. Remove from oven and top each with a marshmallow then allow to cool for about 5 minutes before moving cookies to cooling rack to finish (if they make it that far past your mouth!).

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

If you're looking for more recipes check out some of my other recent posts!
  1. Super Soft Cinnamon Swirl Cookies
  2. Sweet Potato + Roasted Chestnut Shepherd's Pies
  3. Inside-Out Chocolate Covered Caramel Twix Cookies
  4. Blackberry BBQ Pulled Jackfruit Sandwiches+Cilantro Pepper Slaw
  5. Homemade Chocolate Peppermint Pattie Candies

Also, I've been starting to vlog in case you missed it.
  1. Travelicious: Disneyland at Halloween Time 2018 + 77,000 Steem Power reached
  2. Silverwood Theme Park Rollercoaster On Rides POV (Front Seat)
  3. Montana Travels Glacier National Park
  4. Vlog #4 Grocery Shopping with Gringalicious at Trader Joe's
  5. Hiking to Snow Creek Falls + I Hit 17k Followers!
  6. Vlog #3: Looking for a New Gym + Meet My Baby

DSC_1813.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

Wonderful yummy photos!

Those cookies look delicious at a time when I am without chocolate. I never thought of mixing peanut butter and marshmallow together. I'm sure i've had that combination... i better make sure and find something with pb and marshmallow ASAP...

s'more would be my lazy man version.

:)

Yummy. Fantastic click

I really appreciate it!

That's so great. Thanks and have a Merry Christmas!

wow it is great food

Thank you so much!

most welcome

Happy Holidays!

I’m definitely digging these cookies – marshmallow and peanut butter!? These could be a new favourite!! Hope you had a great holiday this week, Brooke

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75