Mini Spicy Green Wasabi Pretzel Dogs - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago

Cheesy Piglets in Green Blankets (Mini Wasabi Pretzel Dogs with Cheddar)..jpg

Hello from New York!

Cheesy Piglets in Green Blankets (Mini Wasabi Pretzel Dogs with Cheddar) (5).jpg

I am so looking forward to sharing this trip with you and I'll be trying to capture every special moment. However, it's been a few days now, since I've shared a recipe so I thought it would be a great time to share one before the upcoming posts I've got from the city.

Cheesy Piglets in Green Blankets (Mini Wasabi Pretzel Dogs with Cheddar) (8).jpg

Though I don’t have anything chocolate, I do have some adorable little snacks to share. There really wasn’t any particular inspiration for these other than the fact that my mom and I have a mutual love of wasabi.

Cheesy Piglets in Green Blankets (Mini Wasabi Pretzel Dogs with Cheddar) (13).jpg

I made these because when I was back at home I was making some kid-friendly snacks for the little ones to fuel all of the inevitable energy that gets burned when you get a group of kiddos together. Pigs in a blanket are always a safe bet with kids. I mean, who can turn them down? Anyway, I thought I’d try a variation while I had the stuff ready, so I added wasabi to some of them, hence the green color. Don't worry, I made some that weren't spicy for the kids as well.

Of course, as I was editing pictures I realized that these would have been perfect for St. Patrick’s Day. You know, with the whole green thing. Totally missed it, didn’t I? I’ll have to catch it next year. Well, and these are kind of green and red so they’d be great when Christmas comes around again. I’m pretty far off with timing my recipes sometimes.

Cheesy Piglets in Green Blankets (Mini Wasabi Pretzel Dogs with Cheddar) (15).jpg

They’re really simple and fun to make. I used powdered wasabi in the dough and I stuffed them with white cheddar cheese (which never fails) and I think they were a big hit. With the older people, that is. I didn’t even try to get one of the kids to eat something that green.

Cheesy Piglets in Green Blankets (Mini Wasabi Pretzel Dogs with Cheddar) (17).jpg

So these had a pretty good amount of wasabi flavor but not quite enough kick in my opinion so next time I’m going heavier on the wasabi. You can also dip them in wasabi paste for that great nose burn that every wasabi lover looks forward to.

Cheesy Piglets in Green Blankets (Mini Wasabi Pretzel Dogs with Cheddar) (10).jpg

Mini Spicy Green Wasabi Pretzel Dogs


Prep Time: 1 hour
Cook Time: 30 minutes
Total Time: 1 hour, 30 minutes
Yield: about 20 piglets

Ingredients

Dough:
1 tablespoon active dry yeast
2 talespoons sugar
1/4 cup milk
1/4 cup water
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 stick butter (melted)
1 egg
1/3 cup powdered wasabi (or more to taste if you want them spicy)
3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 (14-oz) package cocktail-size smoked link sausages or hot dogs
3 - 4 slices white cheddar cheese

Instructions

Stir water, milk, sugar, and yeast together until yeast is dissolved and allow to sit for about 5 minutes. Pour into a large mixing bowl and whisk in egg and melted butter until combined. Add flour and wasabi and mix until dough comes together. Turn out onto lightly floured surface and knead for about minutes. Place in oiled bowl and cover, then place in warm place to rise until doubled in size.
Heat oven to 375 degrees F (190 C) and cut slits halfway through the hot dogs. Cut or fold cheese slices into thin strips and stuff into hot dogs. Line a tray with parchment or silicone mats. Take pieces of dough, about 1 tablespoon, and form into thin ropes then wrap around dogs. Place them about 1 inch apart on tray and bake for 12 to 15 minutes until edges are golden and cheese is oozing.

Cheesy Piglets in Green Blankets (Mini Wasabi Pretzel Dogs with Cheddar) (9).jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

For more great food ideas and inspiration, please do not forget to look at my other recent posts

  1. Simple Indian Masala Chickpea Curry
  2. Crunchy Quinoa Walnut Granola (No Added Sugar)
  3. Extreme Reese's Chocolate Brownies
  4. Smooth & Creamy Strawberry Rhubarb Meringue Pie
  5. Creamy Kale & Spinach Chickpea Macaroni
  6. The Easiest Creme Brulee Ever
  7. Quick & Easy Vegetarian Egg Rolls
  8. One-Pot Creamy Mushroom Chicken & Broccoli Gnocchi
  9. Chocolate, Caramel, & Banana "Banoffee" Cake
  10. Avocado Chicken Green Enchilada Bake

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Did you catchall the other posts from my Canada travels?

  1. Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: City Sights + Chinatown
  2. Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: Whale Tales + Fisherman's Wharf
  3. Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: Castles, Gardens, &.....X-men?
  4. VIDEO! Travelicious Canada: Victoria, British Columbia
  5. Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: Craigdarroch Castle
  6. Travelicious Canada - BC Museum & Butchart Gardens

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

Cheesy Piglets in Green Blankets (Mini Wasabi Pretzel Dogs with Cheddar) (14).jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

Awesome .. Post beautiful
Well done .. good for you looks great city
Thank you for the pictures‏..

looking good thanks for sharing

The look of the beauty does not compare with others

That looks like such a Great idea. I've had these before without the Wasabi, cant wait to try it with Wasabi.

Actually I have never seen this kind of hot dog.Its looking very nice,Excellent color may be it has amazing test.I will try in my home thanks for sharing your recipe.Its makes my hungry.

These look yummmm! I’m excited to veganize these! :P

That's a great idea. I hope it turns out delicious @platedbykay.

Love the color, I'm gonna taste it definitely

It looks like a fruit... It makes me hungry 😊😊😊😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70541.68
ETH 3582.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74