Mint Chocolate Chip Avocado Mousse Cups - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Raw Mint Chocolate Chip Avocado Mousse Cup (6).jpg

Ok, so I’m officially sick of being sick this year. This past week I caught a case of the flu, on my birthday actually, so yeah that was wonderful. I’d planned to share this recipe a little sooner so that it would be live in time for you guys to make it for St Patrick’s Day, but as you can see I’m a little late. But hey, who says you can’t do mint chocolate flavored treats all year long?

Raw Mint Chocolate Chip Avocado Mousse Cup (4).jpg

So if you’re a little skeptical about how a combination like this could work and not be gross, no worries, I was right there with you until the first time I tried avocado mousse and realized how amazing it can be.

Raw Mint Chocolate Chip Avocado Mousse Cup (3).jpg

Then, with this dessert at least, you’ve got the addition of minty freshness and chocolate to help mask any flavor of avocado so even if you aren’t a fan you still may be surprised by these.

Raw Mint Chocolate Chip Avocado Mousse Cup (5).jpg

Also, cocoa nibs you guys, has anyone else tried them? For those of you who’ve never heard of them , they’re sort of like completely unsweetened chocolate. Now, as a die-hard lover of bitter-sweet chocolate, I completely fell in love with them. I’ll admit, they’re not the best on their own, but when added to sweet things they add all that dark chocolatey goodness without any of the sugar.

Raw Mint Chocolate Chip Avocado Mousse Cup (7).jpg

Anyway, I used cocoa nibs in a few of these and some miniature chocolate chips in the others, The choice is up to you, but I’d definitely recommend tasting cocoa nibs at least sometime in something sweet.

Raw Mint Chocolate Chip Avocado Mousse Cup (8).jpg

These little mousse cups are very fast and easy to whip together and the best part is that they’re gluten free, dairy free, and vegan.

Raw Mint Chocolate Chip Avocado Mousse Cup (9).jpg

Mint Chocolate Chip Avocado Mousse Cups


Prep Time: 20 minutes
Total Time: 20 minutes
Yield: 3-4 servings

Whip up these quick and easy little treats that don't need cooking. They're also gluten free, dairy free, and vegan.

Ingredients

2 medium (ripe) avocados. pits removed
1/2 cup sugar in the raw
1/2 cup full-fat coconut milk
1 tablespoon chia seeds
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon pure peppermint extract
1 teaspoon lemon juice
1 1/2 tablespoons cocoa powder

Crumb Layer:


3/4 cup almond flour
2 tablespoons sugar in the raw
1 1/2 tablespoons coconut oil, melted
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
pinch of salt
1/3 cup mini chocolate chips, or cocoa nibs
fresh mint leaves

Instructions

Avocado Mousse:


Combine all the ingredients for the avocado mousse (except cocoa powder) in a blender or food processor and pulse until smooth. Scoop about half of the mixture into a separate bowl and add the cocoa powder to the blender and pulse to combine.
For the crumb layer, mix the coconut oil, vanilla, salt, and sugar in a small bowl. Add the almond meal and stir until evenly mixed.
In small glass jars or bowls, layer the avocado mousse, chocolate avocado mousse, chocolate chips or cocoa nibs. and almond crumb mixture. Top each cup with some fresh mint leaves and store in refrigerator until ready to serve.

Raw Mint Chocolate Chip Avocado Mousse Cup (10).jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

For more great food ideas, please do not forget to look at my other recent food posts

  1. Raspberry Pomegranate Oats in a Jar
  2. Coconut Almond Ranch Fried Chicken Nuggets
  3. Chocolate Spelt Greek Yogurt Waffles + Maple Nut Butter Syrup
  4. Moroccan Ribboned Carrot Raddicchio Salad
  5. Heirloom Tomato Marinara Meatballs & Spaghetti Squash
  6. Chocolate Oats & Honey Cut-Out Cookies (GF+Vegan)
  7. Miso Mahi-Mahi Brown Rice Pad Thai Noodles
  8. Chile Lime Veggie Burrito Bowls
  9. Chocolate Covered Almond Butter Eggs - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT
  10. Traditional Greek Lamb Gyros + Tzatziki Sauce

Raw Mint Chocolate Chip Avocado Mousse Cup (12).jpg

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Headerlast-4.jpg

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

Raw Mint Chocolate Chip Avocado Mousse Cup (11).jpg

My Current Stats: 63,816 Steem Power | 13,335 Followers | 29,670 Posts | Reputation 74.774

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

Love chocolate and avocado, but I think that it´s very interesting to do combo from these. Your photos look pretty good ,so maybe I have to give a change to this one :D

I do hope you give it a try

real food

thanks so much for commenting

Great post, I will try to do it myself. If I can get these Mint Chocolate Chip Avocado cups, near as good looking and tasty as you did, I am going to be like:

😆 😆 😆
Keep up the good work! @gringalicious

What an interesting combination. I think that I will try to make this dessert on my self. -

I hope it turns out well for you, thanks so much for commenting

Your post has been written by many beautifully.
I see many posts but there is something in your post that I did not

get from another post.
A smart writer that you can understand about your writing
I will try to write as you like and share the sentiments of the post

in such a way.
So that people like me and vote in my post

The photography and the recipe look sensational. I am reposting for my benefit as much as yours. I want to find the recipe for later.

thanks so much for the commenting and for the resteem

You got a 4.89% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @fullofhope!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

For me steemit is the window information window is not a science, a wide range of emergency needs immediately.

This looks delicious. I've made chocolate mousse in the past by mixing cocoa powder, banana and avocado, so I'm 100% convinced this recipe will be delicious! I'll probably switch the sugar for some honey just my preference. Love your work!

honey would be a great idea, I hope yours turns out perfect

Tonight's dessert courtesy of @gringalicious! this was yummy! I used buckinis instaed of chocoloate nibs - delicious!
CBF2D437-58ED-42F3-90E5-8A4512C0BA9D.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09