Orzo Pasta Skillet w/Roasted Red Pepper- FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography5 years ago

Roasted Red Pepper Orzo Pasta Skillet (Vegan)-3.jpg

Who's ready for some really delicious goodness coming your way.

Roasted Red Pepper Orzo Pasta Skillet (Vegan).jpg

You know you’re onto something amazing when you decide to skip adding the cheese. That’s right, I was planning to add a good amount of queso to this recipe and once I’d finished making it I realized it was just not necessary. In fact, the flavor was so perfect that I didn’t want the cheese to mess it up by adding cheese to distract from it. I mean, this was such a classic case of “why fix what ain’t broke?”.

Roasted Red Pepper Orzo Pasta Skillet (Vegan)-4.jpg

So the topic of orzo is something of a humorous controversy in my house. Not that it isn’t very popular, but when I served this I kept getting asked to explain the purpose of rice-shaped pasta. If you want to eat rice why not just make rice, you know? Like, who is it for? Obviously if it were the other way around, rice pasta for example, it makes sense because it’s a gluten free alternative, but orzo is a little curious. My argument for it is that it does cook much faster and a little differently than rice. It has it’s purposes, okay!

Roasted Red Pepper Orzo Pasta Skillet (Vegan)-5.jpg

Besides, it doesn’t have to make sense because this meal is pretty close to perfection. It’s packed with flavor, simple to make, pretty minimal on the ingredients, and I feel like it’s a pretty family-friendly type of meal (meaning the picky kiddos liked it).

Also, a great way to cut the time on this recipe is to have the peppers roasted and cooled ahead of time. I did that for one of my recipe trials and it made things so quick and easy.

The key is not to skip roasting the pepper. I realize it might seem like an unnecessary or long step, but trust me, its worth it for the flavor it gives this dish.

I’ve served it as both a main dish and a side dish. I can’t wait to hear what you think when the smell of this deliciousness is floating through your kitchen!

Roasted Red Pepper Orzo Pasta Skillet (Vegan)-6.jpg

Orzo Pasta Skillet w/Roasted Red Pepper


Roasted red peppers bring all the flavor to this simple one-skillet dish. Serve it as a side dish or make it a meal.
Prep Time 15 minutes
Cook Time 1 hour
Total Time 1 hour 15 minutes
Servings 4 - 6 servings

Ingredients


1 pound uncooked orzo pasta
4 large bell peppers I used red, but any color works well
3 cloves garlic
1 medium onion diced
1 sprig fresh thyme
1 teaspoon paprika
1 teaspoon sea salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
4 cups vegetable broth
2 cups shelled sweet peas frozen or canned
fresh chives chopped (optional)

Instructions


Preheat oven to 400 degree F (200 C) and line a tray with foil. Lay the pepper evenly on the tray and place in the oven to bake for 25-35 minutes until they start to wrinkle and get brown spots. Remove from oven and set aside to cool for about 15 minutes.
Once the peppers have cooled, place them in the blender along with the garlic cloves. Blend until completely smooth then add the mixture, along with the onions, paprika, and the thyme to a large skillet or dutch oven over medium high heat . Add about 1/2 inch of water and stir over heat for 7-8 minutes until it cooks down a bit and starts to thicken.
Reduce heat to low and add the vegetable stock and orzo. Cover pan and simmer until thickened, about 20 minutes, stirring occasionally. Once all the liquid is absorbed and add the peas heat until warmed through, about 5 minutes.
Remove the thyme sprig and serve immediately topped with fresh chives.

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Headerlast.jpg

If you're looking for more recipes check out some of my other recent posts!
  1. Simply Frosted Carrot Cake
  2. Springtime Pasta Salad
  3. Coconut & Pistachio Dark Chocolate Brownies
  4. Vanilla + Chai Oats
  5. Peanut Butter Chocolate Protein Bars

Roasted Red Pepper Orzo Pasta Skillet (Vegan)-2.jpg

Banner 2019=framed7.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

I like this one! It looks very beautiful and delicious. Have a nice weekend)

Thanks! I'm so glad you like it.

Se ve muy tentador, lo voy a realizar gracias por la información para prepararla.

It looks delicious! It opened my appetite ...

That's so great to hear. I'm thrilled that you like it.

Yum Yum!! It looks so healthy!!

Aww, that's great that you like it and it's nice to hear from you.

You have beautiful photos and interesting text! Subscribed to you.
I'm new and I'm not good at it((( https://steemit.com/@imix
Tell me why?

Thanks, I really appreciate it.

Going to make this for dinner next week- just need to get some Orzo!! Thanks for the recipe and keep them coming !! So happy you didn’t ruin in and add cheese ... however some vegan cheese sauce recipes are super yum !!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm so glad you like it. I hope you enjoy it!

Now this looks delicious. Thank you for sharing.

Posted using Partiko Android

It's my pleasure!

Always love this kind of food recipe this looks very delicious

Hi, @gringalicious!

You just got a 0.01% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70391.42
ETH 3572.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74