Peppermint Chocolate Candy Cane Cake - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

You know those times when you wake up and realize that it’s been way long since the last time you made a cake???

DSC_0375.jpg

No? Okay, so that probably only applies to a few of us, but maybe you can imagine it. Those are very sad moments for me personally because I sort of have a thing for making cakes. I attribute it to my childhood of watching both my mom and, more often, my grandma decorating gorgeous cakes. She did it professionally for years. Have I mentioned that before haven’t I?

DSC_0302.jpg

Yeah, she decorated cakes at Disneyland actually and she can still crank out these perfect roses of icing so fast it would blow your mind. Of course, Mom can decorate too, but where she really gets into it is the cake baking part. She used to make the most decadent and rich cakes and that made the two of them the perfect team. I can remember many occasions when they worked together by request on stunning cakes for different occasions like birthdays or friend’s weddings.

DSC_0325.jpg

This was in my pre-baking-addict lifetime so I proudly held the role of chief frosting taster, it’s a position that I refuse to ever step down from, just sayin’. But now I guess in some ways I’ve taken over the majority of family baking a little bit, fine a lot a bit. Like I said though, it’s been a while since I made a new flavor so I figured it was about time.

DSC_0412.jpg

So chocolate and peppermint, how do you feel about this match? I feel like it’s one of those flavor combos that you have to either love it or hate it because both are such bold flavors and when put together they form something very unique. I’m on the lover’s team but I understand for those of you who aren’t.

DSC_0316.jpg

Last Christmas, while I was still living in Chile, I remember sharing with you about our lack of real candy canes. There are similar candies, yes, and the iconic shape and stripes of those candies promise you the nostalgic taste that we all associate with the holiday season only to disappoint you in a big big way when you find out the are completely the wrong flavor.

DSC_0233.jpg

For me it doesn’t count as a candy cane any other way except if it’s classic peppermint. The stores in Chile usually only sell strawberry flavored ones, come on, it’s like blasphemy! Okay, maybe that’s a little much, but I still feel like they should always be minty for the Christmas season. I mean, we can eat fruity candy all Spring and Summer long, right? Clearly I feel stronger about this issue than even I had realized. Alright, I’m ending this little rant I’ve gotten into and focusing back on this exciting cake!

DSC_0237.jpg

It’s truly a simple cake to make and I used my favorite vanilla cake recipe as the base because, ‘why fix what ain’t broke?’ Then as for the decorating part, I kept it very simple and quick. Honestly, I had wanted to do a way more elaborate decorating job for this, but, you get it, life happens and it’s December people. Sort of ended up finishing it a lot later than I’d planned. Ugh, why did I just go on and on about how I’ve got such talented cake decorators around? Ooops.

DSC_0388.jpg

Hey, but the taste is what really matters here right? Besides yours can be as lovely as you want to make it and I’m a firm believer in less is more anyway. No one’s going to have the time to care about appearances while devouring this yummy treat anyway.

So, I hope you’re having a great time with your friends and family and that you can squeeze this recipe into your busy season at some point. Maybe right before New Years. I obviously can’t make guarantees but I’ve got a strong feeling that the peppermint+chocolate lovers in your life are going to love this!

DSC_0414.jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent.

Oh, and don't forget to follow me on all your favorite social media channels!

Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Pinterest ~ Instagram

Want some other recipes to try? Here's my most recent food posts!

1.Cottage Pies w/ Yams + Roasted Chestnuts

2.Easy Coconut Cream Pancakes

3.Berry Cream Cheese Pastries

4.Double Recipe - Crostini w/ Salmon & Capers + w/ Spinach & Hearts of Palm

5.Christmas Cookies - Pinwheels + Checkerboard Cookies - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

6.Vanilla Cream Doughnuts - aka Twinkie Clones

7.Fakin' It Fish Sticks + Coconut Basil Cream Sauce

8....And a Partridge in a Pear Tree....Pizza.

9.Dark Chocolate Coated Christmas Tree Cakes

10.White Chocolate Snow Buddy Snack Cereal

Recipe available upon request to the first Steemian friend who says today's words : "Candy Cane Forest"

DSC_0337.jpg

Sort:  

Wow. Looking delicious. I love chocolate cake.thanks for sharing such a good post. "Candy Cane Forest"

Loading...

Yes, looks delicious, I love chocolate cake!;)Happy new year!)

Wow! This yummy cake! You made me salivate! I love cream cake! But i never try it.

Wow... You aretruly a food photographer artist... Fantastic presentation...

Hmmm cake! Yummy!

thanks so much @yummyrum, you're a consistent support

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules. Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead!

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Delegate/donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: Bye bye 25+ and 50+! Welcome 20+ 40+ and 60+!

delicious food for new year.

I love chocolate cakes it looks sooo delicious and beautiful....thanks for sharing...the iceing of the cake is beautiful.

thanks @universalpro, so sorry it took me 6 days to respond

yummy....yup
()

i love chocolate... cake, beautiful photography,
so sweet photography, good food great life, thanks for sharing following up voted

That's very sweet of you @ritue! Thanks so much!

thank you sir

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94