Simple Indian Masala Chickpea Curry - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago

Simple Indian Masala Chickpea Curry-2.jpg

This is so exciting!

Simple Indian Masala Chickpea Curry-1.jpg

You’re probably like “Curry isn’t THAT exciting, chill.” Well, I am excited about this recipe but what I’m talking about its being excited because I’m just hours from leaving for my next trip. I’ll be headed to Victoria B.C. in a matter of hours. I can’t wait!

Simple Indian Masala Chickpea Curry-1-2.jpg

But anyway, I’ve got recipe to share and because I’m in a little bit of a hurry I thought I’d keep this post fairly short.

I know I’ve probably told you this along with every curry recipe I’ve ever shared, but it’s not my family’s thing. Which is a shame because I adore any kind of curry

Simple Indian Masala Chickpea Curry-4.jpg

This one was literally one that I threw together on a weeknight for an easy meal. I was also trying to make good use of some of the veggies I knew would go bad while I'm gone. That's the great thing about this is that you can use the vegetables you like and already have. I used some carrots, bell pepper, onion, and tomato, but any kind would go well in this.

Simple Indian Masala Chickpea Curry-7.jpg

I really hope you get the chance to make this in your own kitchen. See you in the next post!

Simple Indian Masala Chickpea Curry-5.jpg

Simple Indian Masala Chickpea Curry


Prep Time: 15 minutes
Cook Time: 30 minutes
Total Time: 45 minutes
Yield: 4 - 6 servings

A quick and simple curry recipe with chickpeas and coconut milk. Perfect for weeknight dinners.

Ingredients

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 large onion, finely chopped
2 medium carrots, chopped
1 medium red bell pepper, chopped
4 roma tomatoes, chopped
1 cup fresh basil leaves
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 tablespoon curry powder
1 tablespoon Garam Masala
1 teaspoon ground cumin
2 teaspoons ground coriander
2 teaspoons paprika
1 teaspoon turmeric
1 tablespoon lime juice
1 (15 oz / 425 gr) can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
3/4 cup full fat coconut milk
3 tablespoons coconut sugar
1 teaspoon arrowroot powder or cornstarch
sea salt to taste
fresh chopped basil
cooked basmati or jasmine rice

Instructions

Heat olive oil in a large saucepan over medium-high heat. Add carrots, onions, and about 1/2 teaspoon salt; cook until translucent, about 6 minutes stirring every now and then. Add garlic and galric, tomatoes, and fresh basil then cook for 2-3 more minutes. Add spices and stir until fragrant.
Add chickpeas and bring to a boil, then lower to a simmer and cook for 15 minutes.
After simmering, stir in coconut milk and simmer for 5 more minutes. In a small bowl whisk cornstarch with lime juice and 1 tablespoon of water. Add it to the curry along with the coconut sugar and cook until thickened. Season to taste with salt.
Remove from the heat, sprinkle with chopped fresh basil and serve with basmati or jasmine rice.

Gringalicious-border.png

For more great food ideas and inspiration, please do not forget to look at my other recent posts

  1. Crunchy Quinoa Walnut Granola (No Added Sugar)
  2. Extreme Reese's Chocolate Brownies
  3. Smooth & Creamy Strawberry Rhubarb Meringue Pie
  4. Creamy Kale & Spinach Chickpea Macaroni
  5. The Easiest Creme Brulee Ever
  6. Quick & Easy Vegetarian Egg Rolls
  7. One-Pot Creamy Mushroom Chicken & Broccoli Gnocchi
  8. Chocolate, Caramel, & Banana "Banoffee" Cake
  9. Avocado Chicken Green Enchilada Bake
  10. White Chocolate Peanut Butter Cup Cheesecake

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Design Logo.jpg

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

Simple Indian Masala Chickpea Curry-6.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

Wow beautiful ..
I liked your life full of positive .. Keep it. Well done
A wonderful recipe
Thank you for sharing with us these beautiful pictures..

Yumm yummmm.

Actually I ate something very similar to this couple of weeks ago when I visited an Indian restaurant with my sister

Thanks for your interest in Indian foods.
Actually the Indian foods containing some spicy ingredients which make these foods more delicious and testy.

Hi dear! I like the indian dishes! Really looks so tasty, and it’s very good for the vegans , the garam massala always i used it in indian food, but I put just little.

Oh my god, it looks so good!

Indian cuisine is one of my favorites.
Great healthy, vegetarian and gluten-free dish! 😊

wow!!!!looks yummy!!!i like it.

Naan and curry, the dynamic duo

Indian masala food taste good. I like this recipe. Thanks for share. The picture of food looks yummy.

Nice. I like curry too. I will be sharing my vegetable and lentils curry recipe very soon. My picture is not so nice coz I am really bad at it but I can cook. Lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66