Strawberries+Cream Fudge Brownie Trifle - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Happy weekend my peeps, and it couldn’t have come at a better time I think.

Strawberries+Cream Fudge Brownie Trifle (3).jpg

Any fun plans? My schedule will probably involve lots of packing and planning for San Diego. It wasn’t part of the original trip plans but it looks like I’ll be in Cali for Valentine’s Day this year. Ironically I was in London for this past Halloween so maybe I’m starting a bit of a self-trend to be abroad during holidays.

Strawberries+Cream Fudge Brownie Trifle (4).jpg

Hey, that’s totally fine with me for any holiday with the possible exception of Christmas (because you guys know I’m a Christmas freak and I couldn’t imagine not being home for the holidays) I’ll gladly take traveling over being at home. Hmmm, where might I be for Easter! Who can say?

Strawberries+Cream Fudge Brownie Trifle (5).jpg

Ok, but travel talk aside, let’s talk about this dessert.

As you can probably imagine, I typically end up with more than a few leftovers from all my recipe testing successes and fails (yes that happens to me too). Anyway, I’ve always had a pet-peeve with wastefulness, but living in a foreign country strengthened that feeling because things were harder to get there so when it got wasted it was much more noticeable. However, I think no matter where you are, it’s a good thing to always try to reduce waste when it’s possible (and no, I’m not about to go all “save the planet” on you). Just good habits to live by.

Strawberries+Cream Fudge Brownie Trifle (6).jpg

That’s why one of my favorite things to make behind the scenes of blogging are delicious treats made up of different layers of whatever I’ve got at the time. Typically I’ll use things like fruit, crumbs from baked goods, and yogurt and/or whipped cream. This is definitely not an original concept either. There are quite a few different versions of this type of treat like the traditional English desserts, eton mess, strawberry fool, and yes, trifles.

Strawberries+Cream Fudge Brownie Trifle (7).jpg

In my house I’ll normally just call it a parfait because that’s what’s familiar, but I find it pretty hilarious when I serve it in a trifle dish and so many people in my family think this is called a “truffle” despite my continuous corrections. My point is that these desserts all have the same thing in common. Layers of different flavors and textures coming together to create something delicious, and really I could have just been describing a cake. See, not so different. The key is to making it look delicious, because come on, we all eat with our eyes on some level right?

Strawberries+Cream Fudge Brownie Trifle (8).jpg

So I can’t exactly name a date, but I know I’ve wanted a trifle dish from the early days of food blogging. Actually, I’ve wanted one for much longer probably. The first few years after I started sharing recipes I searched everywhere I could when I was prop shopping in Chile to find one, but no luck. It was just a few weeks ago that I stumbled across one and got so excited and just had to buy it. It’s just so much more fun to serve this dessert in a beautiful dish this way.

Strawberries+Cream Fudge Brownie Trifle (9).jpg

And yes, clearly I created this recipe with Valentine’s Day in mind because nothing says romance quite like strawberries and chocolate, right? I chose to do brownies for this particular recipe because I just thought it was a little more fitting for the season, but come Summertime I’ll be layering all the berries with light and fluffy sponge cakes, I’m sure.

Strawberries+Cream Fudge Brownie Trifle (10).jpg

Strawberries+Cream Fudge Brownie Trifle


Ingredients

Whipped Cream:


2 1/2 cups heavy whipping cream
1/2 cup granular sugar

Cream Layer:


6 ounces cream cheese, softened
2/3 cup plain Greek yogurt
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 box prepared brownie mix or recipe follows
1 pound fresh strawberries, stemmed and slices (save a few with leaves for top)
heart shaped chocolates for top (optional)

Brownies:


1 1/4 cups sugar
10 tablespoons (1 stick + 2 tablespoons) butter
3/4 cup cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon instant espresso powder
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 eggs, lightly beaten
1/2 cup flour
1/3 cup chocolate chunks

Instructions

Whipped Cream:


In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with whisk attachment, beat whipping cream until it forms soft peaks. Reduce speed to low and pour in the sugar. Beat on high until it forms stiff peaks. Scrape the whipped cream into a separate bowl and set aside.

Cream Cheese Layer:


Add the cream cheese to mixing bowl and beat until completely smooth. Add the 1/4 cup sugar and Greek yogurt and continue beating until smooth.Mix in vanilla, then fold in about 3 cups of the whipped cream, reserving the rest.

Assembling the Trifle:


Cut the prepared brownies into small cubes and place a layer of them in a trifle dish or individual jars. Next layer the fresh strawberries, cream cheese mixture, and remaining whipped cream in repeating layers until the dish or jars are full. Top with additional whipped cream and if desired add some whole strawberries and chocolates to garnish.
If not serving immediately, cover and place in fridge to chill.

Brownies:


Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180 C) and grease and 8x8 inch square pan with oil.
In a small saucepan set over low heat, slowly melt the butter with sugar and cocoa powder while whisking. Once melted, remove from heat and scrape into a medium bowl then stir in espresso powder, salt, and vanilla until combined. Add the eggs and stir just until mixed, then the flour and stir in until smooth.
Pour the batter into prepared pan and sprinkle chocolate chips over the batter evenly. Bake the brownies for 18 - 24 minutes until the center doesn't jiggle when the pan is nudged (you can also check center with a toothpick and see if it comes out clean). Remove from oven and cool for about 10 minutes before cutting.

Strawberries+Cream Fudge Brownie Trifle (11).jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Headerlast-4.jpg

For more great food ideas, please do not forget to look at my other recent food posts

  1. Tropical Bay Breakfast Jars (Vegan)
  2. Veggies + Lemongrass Wild Rice Stuffed Peppers - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT
  3. National Nutella Day Chocolate Mousse Moose Cake
  4. Chocolate Minty Swirl Brownies with a Secre
  5. 4-Ingredient Peanut Butter Chocolate Cereal Bars
  6. Floral White Vanilla Birthday Cake
  7. Spicy Cajun Shrimp Crunchy Tacos
  8. Easy Vanilla Marshmallow Milkshakes
  9. Gringalicious Snapshot Sundays + Saying Goodbye to January
  10. Pistachio+Kale Pesto Feta Pita Pizzas

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

Strawberries+Cream Fudge Brownie Trifle (12).jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

My Current Stats: 60,400 Steem Power | 10,740 Followers | 26,500 Posts

Sort:  

That looks absolutely delicious!

thanks so much for commenting @bobbysteem

Oh. My. Gosh. That looks so mouth watering. Can't you come over and make that one for me.. Like 1000 times? I probably get fat, but #Worthit!

wow, this looks so totally awesome. You know I love strawberries

Beautiful .. Real creativity
Amazing Photos
Thank you for sharing this recipe with us.

It looks so delicious....

Oh, I really like it, eat it with pleasure!

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules. Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead!

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

Wowowowo!! Feed me! This looks insane! I’d eat the whole thing in just a few seconds.

On a completely different note:
I love sweet potatoes. Let me know when you make something out of sweet potatoe!!
My favorite SP dish is a pizza where the crust is just sweet potatoe, egg and oats! Sounds weird, but it’s honestly the best pizza in the word!

well, that is amazing inspiration, I will see what I can do. I'll definitely keep you posted on that.

And, I am thrilled you liked this dish!! We'll be talking soon

This looks very beautiful and yummy. I might try your recipe in the summer time when there is strawberry season ;)
Nice photos by the way. I was interested in food photography some time ago and it was one of the reasons why I purchased camera. It needs lot of time, skills and patience, I think it is once of the hardest photography genres

very well thought out comment @adaoch, thanks so much for taking the time. Yes, you are correct "t needs lot of time, skills and patience, I think it is once of the hardest photography genres"

Welcome to steem, here is a helpful link - https://steemit.com/steemit/@kus-knee/the-old-dog-makes-a-personal-welcome-to-bit-sp-and-to-all-newcomers-a-comprehensive-guide

thank you so much for welcoming me and for link ;)

Wow

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82