Sunflower Seed Halva Tea Biscuit Cookies - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago

Sunflower Seed Halva Tea Biscuit Cookies-2.jpg

Sometimes I just love to bake things that fit a certain mood or aesthetic. You know what I mean?

Sunflower Seed Halva Tea Biscuit Cookies (Vegan)-1.jpg

I never used to be a big tea drinker until we moved to Chile years ago. To me it seems that the US is much bigger on coffee than tea. When I was living in South America I noticed that the culture was heavily European so they were really big on their teatime, or elevenses as some would call it. In Chile they’d they say “once” (own-say, which is Spanish for eleven in case you didn’t retain your high school Spanish).

Sunflower Seed Halva Tea Biscuit Cookies-4.jpg

The funny thing is that Chileans don’t have once at 11 o’clock, far from it. Down there the main meal of the day is usually eaten between 11 am and 1 pm and teatime isn’t until about 4 o’clock.

Sunflower Seed Halva Tea Biscuit Cookies (Vegan)-3.jpg

So anyway, I had some leftover halva that I wanted to try it in something. For some reason cookies are what kept coming to mind so I just went with it and they turned out really good. I couldn’t decide what to call them for a while. I kept thinking shortbread but then when I think of shortbread I think butter and these happen to be dairy free, actually they are completely vegan cookies, so that didn’t really fit.

Sunflower Seed Halva Tea Biscuit Cookies-1-3.jpg

Some of my family kept referring to them as biscuits and really confusing things. I don’t know about you, but in my house a biscuit is a flaky round bread that you serve with gravy, not a sweet cookie, but I figured since this recipe was already feeling very European I might as well use a European term, so tea biscuits it is. Shall I pour you a spot of tea with that?

Sunflower Seed Halva Tea Biscuit Cookies-1-2.jpg

Oh, and by the way, these were really good in chocolate pudding!

Sunflower Seed Halva Tea Biscuit Cookies (Vegan)-2.jpg

Sunflower Seed Halva Tea Biscuit Cookies


Prep Time: 15 minutes
Cook Time: 30 minutes
Total Time: 45 minutes
Yield: 30-35 cookies

A cookie that's simple and perfectly complements a warm cup of tea.

Ingredients

1 cup sunflower seed halva or you can use this recipe for Ukrainian Sunflower Seed Halva
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon baking powder
2 tablespoons maple syrup
2 tablespoons almond milk
1 1/2 cups flour

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180 C) and line 1 or 2 baking trays with parchment.
Combine halva and syrup in the bowl of a stand mixer and beat until combined.
Add baking powder, almond milk, and vanilla and mix until creamed. Mix in flour just until the dough comes together (you don't want to overmix or the cookies will be tough.)
Divide the dough in half and roll out each half on a lightly floured surface until it's about 1/4 inch tall. Cut into 2 inch squares and place about 1/2 an inch apart on prepared tray. Use a fork to poke holes on top, then place in oven and bake cookies in batches for 10 - 12 just until they are slightly browning on edges.
Remove and cool for at least 5 minutes before serving.

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

If you're looking for more recipes check out some of my other recent posts!
  1. Outback Copycat Brown Bread
  2. Asian Kale Watermelon Salad + Sesame Peanut Dressing
  3. 10-Minute Cookie Dough Bliss Balls
  4. Dark Chocolate Birthday Cake Recipe
  5. Rainbow Veggie Cobb Salad

Also, I've been starting to vlog in case you missed it.
  1. Montana Travels Glacier National Park
  2. Vlog #4 Grocery Shopping with Gringalicious at Trader Joe's
  3. Hiking to Snow Creek Falls + I Hit 17k Followers!
  4. Vlog #3: Looking for a New Gym + Meet My Baby

Sunflower Seed Halva Tea Biscuit Cookies-3.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

I love everything you have. Without tasting. This is the form I love, you are really a professional artist. loved you

Upvoted.

DISCLAIMER: Your post is upvoted based on curation algorithm configured to find good articles e.g. stories, arts, photography, health, etc. This is to reward you (authors) for sharing good content using the Steem platform especially newbies.
If you're a dolphin or whales, and wish not to be included in future selection, please let me know so I can exclude your account. And if you find the upvoted post is inappropriate, FLAG if you must. This will help a better selection of post.

Keep steeming good content.
@Yehey

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Looks Good! Happy Friday.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank's for sharing your excellent recipe @gringalicious! They look delicious :)

Las fotos son bellísimas!! Estoy impresionada, porque tengo entendido que retratar alimentos no es nada fácil. Tú lo hiciste genial.

Por otra parte, lo que dices de las galletas es interesante. La semana pasada en la clase de panadería preparamos Biscuit, pero no eran galletas sino panes cuyo ingrediente principal era un puré de papas amarillas. ¡Imagínate! Jajaja

Yum... great photography as always.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I was feeling hungry when I saw your pictures. And I have to find something to eat.

Sunflower seeds might be small, however they pack a nutritious punch. They are an incredible wellspring of numerous vitamins and supplements, including more than 100 percent of the day by day suggested admission of copper, manganese, and selenium.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61122.11
ETH 2972.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66