Sweet and Spicy Honey Bourbon Chicken - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Someone please tell me that I am not the only one who isn’t at ease in the online world of social sites. I am working on getting better but it’s a process and they're ever changing platforms.

DSC_0795.jpg

So let me tell you about this chicken. Everyone in my family is a huge fan of Chinese food. I say Chinese but my exposure to more culture has led me to realize that what I am really referring to is American Chinese food which doesn’t remotely resemble what the Chinese actually eat, but you know what I mean.

DSC_0764.jpg

My mom has always called general tso’s chicken and orange chicken “doughnut chicken” because, let’s face it, it is meat dipped in batter, fried in fat, and then coated with sugar. Sounds like a doughnut version of chicken to me. I think it is necessary to eat this terrible stuff every once in a while though. Besides, if you serve it with plenty of veggies and some steamed brown rice it helps balance it right? Totally healthy.

DSC_0796-2.jpg

We can pretend that last statement is true or at least overlook the fact that it’s not long enough to enjoy some of this. It is so worth it. If you occasionally indulge in some weekend takeout then I suggest you skip it this weekend and make it at home.

DSC_0897.jpg

I made this honey bourbon sauce that is somewhere between orange and general tso’s sauce and I have to tell you, it was a huge hit. I think everyone is sad it’s gone. Just do it and you’ll thank me later.

DSC_0907.jpg

Sweet and Spicy Honey Bourbon Chicken

Ingredients

Chicken Slurry:


1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breast chicken
2 eggs
1/2 cup cornstarch
Honey Bourbon Sauce:
1/4 cup cold water
2 tablespoons cornstarch
1 teaspoon freshly grated ginger
4 cloves garlic, minced
2 tablespoon toasted sesame oil
1/2 cup water
3/4 cup soy sauce (gluten free if necessary)
2 tablespoons chili garlic sauce
1/3 cup rice wine vinegar
3/4 cup brown sugar
2 tablespoons honey
2 tablespoons bourbon
2 tablespoons orange juice
1/4 teaspoon white pepper

Instructions

  1. Combine cornstarch and eggs in a medium bowl and whisk until smooth. Add chicken and stir to coat. Place in refrigerator while you make the sauce.
    Whisk cornstarch and 1/4 cup water in a small bowl and set aside. Saute garlic and ginger with sesame oil in a medium saucepan over medium heat for 3 to 4 minutes until browned. 2. Add remaining ingredients and continue stirring until the sauce is starting to thicken, about 5 minutes. Pour in water/cornstarch while stirring and stir until thick. Remove from heat and cover to keep warm.
  2. Heat 2 inches of oil in a dutch oven or wok to 350 degrees F (180 C). Remove chicken slurry from fridge and drop a few pieces at a time into hot oil. Fry on each side for about 2 minutes until golden and crispy. Remove to paper towels to drain. Continue until all chicken is cooked.
  3. Toss chicken in warm sauce and serve, if desired, with steamed rice and veggies.

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Headerlast-4.jpg

For more great food ideas, please do not forget to look at my other recent food posts

  1. Strawberries+Cream Fudge Brownie Trifle
  2. Tropical Bay Breakfast Jars (Vegan)
  3. Veggies + Lemongrass Wild Rice Stuffed Peppers - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT
  4. National Nutella Day Chocolate Mousse Moose Cake
  5. Chocolate Minty Swirl Brownies with a Secre
  6. 4-Ingredient Peanut Butter Chocolate Cereal Bars
  7. Floral White Vanilla Birthday Cake
  8. Spicy Cajun Shrimp Crunchy Tacos
  9. Easy Vanilla Marshmallow Milkshakes
  10. Gringalicious Snapshot Sundays + Saying Goodbye to January

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

DSC_0916.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

My Current Stats: 60,400 Steem Power | 10,740 Followers | 26,500 Posts

Sort:  

wow, this is a terrific meal, I'm sure it's very tasty, I'll try to cook, thanks!

thanks so much for commenting @katherinalive

The images looks so good... Yummy!

thanks so much for commenting

Need more cool stuff to follow
I added and upvoted
Check out some of my Latest food pictures
https://steemit.com/nature/@truthtrain/nature-vs-science

Super - Duper post!
Love to see another food enthusiast!

I myself doing cooking with step by step pictures, here is some of my work (I like building a FOOD community!):

Sea Bream
3 (2).png

Ravioli with herbs
3.png

Vegetable Quiche
1.png

Hope you try it out!
Following you for more!

Cheers,
Adrian
a0.png

Cool blog!

I love chicken, yummy!

so glad you liked it @yummyrum

Beautiful .. Interesting recipe
It looks good from the pictures .. it is worth to try it
Great post

thanks so much for commenting and for your continued support @slimanepro

very delicious

I love this dish!!

I know this very well, brother @freerunner, thanks!

I love this kind of food, crispy chicken, what's not to love. Awesome photos!!

Gorgeous food photography, thanks so much for sharing

thanks so much for all of your support @mamaloves

This is a great recipe, can't wait to try it!

I'm thrilled you think so @ragemaster

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules. Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead!

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77