Sweet Potato Toast 4 Ways - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Sweet Potato Toast Ideas 4 Ways (4).jpg

This new snack obsession is unreal you guys!

I say snack, but it can absolutely be a meal too, especially on those occasions when you can’t decide between sweet or savory. Basically I just can’t believe I’ve never tried this before, but sweet potato toast is definitely going to be a lasting favorite from now on, that’s for sure.

Oh, speaking of favorites, we had the most amazing lightning/thunderstorm last night and I was just loving it. If you’re the type of person that really doesn’t like storms and that sounds crazy to you, no worries, I totally get it. For me personally though, I grew up in a place that had the most epic Summer storms and I’ve always loved them.

Sweet Potato Toast Ideas 4 Ways (2).jpg

To me it’s like an amazing natural fireworks display and I feel like thunderstorms tend to be one of the less destructive forms of harsh weather when you compare them to like, tornadoes or hurricanes. (Eh hem, which I also find fascinating.) I’m not saying I like the harm they can cause you guys, promise, I just appreciate these marvels.) I appreciate them all the more for the fact that we very rarely have them where I live now. (read almost never.)

I also love the rain this time of year. I mean, any other season and I’d probably be complaining about it. But I don’t know, there’s just something so indescribably calming about a Summer rain. Omg, but I’m still talking about the weather here when I’m supposed to be telling you about a recipe. Haha, maybe I should give up on this whole food sharing phase and become a meteorologist or a storm chaser.

Okay, well back to this recipe, it’s possibly a strange concept to you. I know it was to me when I first heard of sp toast. Here’s what I love about it; it’s easy, naturally sweet, naturally gluten free, great for making ahead, and super versatile. You can top it all with some simple avocado, salt, and pepper and call it a day OR you can get really fancy and pile on the works.

Sweet Potato Toast Ideas 4 Ways (3).jpg

The latter option is borderline dangerous for my type of personality because I end up wanting to add some of everything in my fridge and pantry. Let’s simplify this. Here’s the basics, you just want something creamy to spread on top. For example, mashed avo, hummus, nut butter, or a spread like the olive tapenade I used. After that you need something colorful and fresh, then something crunchy.

Sweet Potato Toast Ideas 4 Ways (5).jpg

I think I’m gonna leave it here then. I hope you guys have an awesome weekend and maybe decide to try this recipe. As always with my recipes, feel free to switch it up and make it how you like.

Sweet Potato Toast 4 Ways


Prep Time: 10 minutes
Cook Time: 30 minutes
Total Time: 40 minutes
Yield: 1-2 servings

Switch out you typical toast with this very non-boring and super delicious versions using non other than your friendly neighborhood sweet potato!

Ingredients

Version 1:
avocado or guacamole
sliced radishes
arugula
black sesame seeds
sea salt & back pepper
Version 2:
olive tapenade (I used trader joe's)
arugula
sea salt & back pepper
Version 3:
blueberries
cereal
cinnamon
cashew butter
Version 4:
raspberries
almond butter
granola
mini chocolate chips

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350℉. Place a wire rack on a baking sheet. (If you don't have a wire rack these can be baked directly on the baking sheet and flipped halfway through baking.)
Trim both ends from the sweet potato using a knife.
Slice sweet potato lengthwise into slices about 1/4-inch thick using a sharp knife. Arrange them in an even layer on your pan and bake for 15-20 minutes or until potatoes are tender but not fully cooked.
Remove pan from oven and allow potatoes to cool completely before transferring to a lidded container storage container. They can be in the fridge for up to a week and pulled out whenever the sweet potato toast craving hits. 😉
To make the toasts, simple place your desired number of slices in a conventional toaster or toaster oven and allow them to get hot and slightly golden on the edges (in a conventional toaster this should take only 1-2 cycles and in a toaster oven about 5 minutes on the toast setting.)
After they're hot, spread and top with whatever topping you want and enjoy!

Sweet Potato Toast Ideas 4 Ways.jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Hey, did you see my NEW YORK VIDEO?????

Oh, and did you catchall the other travel posts from my Canada and New York?


NEW YORK

  1. Travelicious NY: Grand Central Station & Time Square
  2. Travelicious NYC: 1ST OFFICIAL DLIVE MEET-UP!
  3. Travelicious NYC: Visiting The Met
  4. Travelicious NYC: Carriages, Disney, Broadway, & M&Ms
  5. Travelicious NYC: Steem Friends & Italy in New York

    CANADA

  6. Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: City Sights + Chinatown
  7. Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: Whale Tales + Fisherman's Wharf
  8. Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: Castles, Gardens, &.....X-men?
  9. VIDEO! Travelicious Canada: Victoria, British Columbia
  10. Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: Craigdarroch Castle
  11. Travelicious Canada - BC Museum & Butchart Gardens

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

Sweet Potato Toast Ideas 4 Ways (6).jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

The recipe looks delicious from the ingredients
Beautiful pictures .. amazing
Thanks for sharing the recipe with us‏..

@slimanepro thanks so much for your support and great commenting

yummmmmmy

You have the best presentation on your foods. Are you making and platting yourself before the pictures? Very nice work. You should outsource yourself to local restaurants.

Sweet potato is potato evolved

Gran post

Wow! nice color, well decoration.I think its very yummy.Its makes me hungry enough.

@arfaturrahman thanks so much for the great commenting

wow so good stuff yummy

Wow it looks so delicious i adore the sweet potato and this ways will make a dream come true for me thanks for sharing my dear and have a nice weekend♥

Wow, that makes me so happy to hear @injiskitchen. I really hope you have a great weekend too!

Thanks my dear❤️😘😘

AJ picked your post @gringalicious for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

You got a 4.23% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @gringalicious!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09