Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: Castles, Gardens, &.....X-men?

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

BeFunky-collage (7) (2).png

Now I'm sharing some of the photos I took on the third day of my travels.

IMG_20180510_141747-3.jpg

This day was probably the most adventurous of them all, simply for the fact that I opted to use public transportation in an unfamiliar city. I rode the bus towards the outside of the city to pay a visit to the famous Hatley Castle. Let's just say that after everything I had to do a little walking to get to where I was going, but the good news is that I got there. Oh, but the bad news is that I forgot my camera's SD card so all of these photos were in fact taken on my phone. It just goes to prove that you don't need a fancy camera to take some good shots.

IMG_20180510_143352-2.jpg

So the history of this building is very interesting and I wasn't aware until my visit to Craigdarroch Castle the following day that there was a connection between the two.

IMG_20180510_142626-2.jpg

I won't go all 'history teacher' on you and give you the whole story, but basically this castle was built by the son of Robert Dunsmuir, James Dunsmuir. Apparently, after the death of his father, his mother was made the beneficiary of the estate and the large family business. I'm not quite sure what led to what, but I'd say it was a classic case of why you should never mix business with friends and family. It ended in a lawsuit over the business in which James won and I visited the Craigdarroch castle the following day and was able to tour the entire thing so I'll be sharing that soon, but as for Hatley castle, it unfortunately wasn't open for touring on this day.

IMG_20180510_142406-2.jpg

Guess what? This building has been used in so many movies and tv shows that you've probably seen. Namely the 2016 Deadpool movie and most of the X-men movies. It was also in the TV series Arrow and Smallville. So yeah, I half expected a superhero to come around the corner. Aw, well no such luck but I did see some beautiful things.

IMG_20180510_141929-3.jpg

So in the next post I'll be sharing the photos from the other castle I visited. Have an awesome weekend!

IMG_20180510_141804-2.jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

For more great food ideas and inspiration, please do not forget to look at my other recent posts

  1. Simple Indian Masala Chickpea Curry
  2. Crunchy Quinoa Walnut Granola (No Added Sugar)
  3. Extreme Reese's Chocolate Brownies
  4. Smooth & Creamy Strawberry Rhubarb Meringue Pie
  5. Creamy Kale & Spinach Chickpea Macaroni
  6. The Easiest Creme Brulee Ever
  7. Quick & Easy Vegetarian Egg Rolls
  8. One-Pot Creamy Mushroom Chicken & Broccoli Gnocchi
  9. Chocolate, Caramel, & Banana "Banoffee" Cake
  10. Avocado Chicken Green Enchilada Bake

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

IMG_20180510_142400-2.jpg

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

Dear Victoria,

How are you doing today? I know you are doing great and fine but I still need to ask. I can see all the fun and excitement all over you. Your smile can literally melt a heart made of stone.

I am sorry I just checked my mailbox for your post, I had such a busy day but it has nothing to do with cooking. I don't want to ruin the kitchen utensils for you before you come back, since we are still going to try that "Yam Sushi".

I can see these amazing castle and it is such a delight to know even if I am not there with You, I must have seen it in Smallville, maybe the Lex Luthor mansion?

Everything in life is a blessing in disguise. Forgetting the SDcard must have hurt, but your phone camera did an amazing justice to these pictures. They look way better.

I am sorry you couldn't see the Hatley Castle, but you got to see the Craigdarroch castle and that delights me. Really an adventurous day and I can't wait to see pictures of the other castle you visited. Thank you for sharing the story and taking me along with you on the journey, albeit with the posts. Thank you for all you do.

Till I hear from you again, stay beautiful.

With love,
Olawalium
Your taster.

drops pen.

thanks for your writing @olawalium

Such a huge honour my friend. Thank you for all you do. Really appreciate it.

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules. Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead!

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

Wow I live in Victoria B.C. Congrats on taking such magnificent shots of the wonderful Hatley Castle. When were you in town?
No one ever believes me when I tell them how this is where XMen was filmed till they google it or I show them around.

Congrats, wonderful photos, the Castles are amazing. You are definitely rigght, we don`t need a fancy camera to take good photos!
Good luck in your travelicious in Canada
Regards

thanks so much @mjoa07, great commenting. I am home now, but I leave for New York City on Wednesday. More travel posts coming soon

you always sharing very wonderfull photography in your blog.this is a excellent shots photography of garden.just remarkable..very well done..my dear friend.. @gringalicious

She's one of the few steemians who create very good photos here.

Awwww, that's just so sweet of you to say @gvincentjosephm. Thanks so much my friend!

Thanks @timuann! I'm really flattered by your compliments!

thank you for your appreciating of my comment.. my friend @gringalicious.. very well done..

Your posts are awesome, especially the Photography. The photography looks classic especially the garden photography. Hope you had fun because that's what I believe on an outing like that... I follow you already

Wow, you always share wonderful pictures, this is an incredible garden. Located at where?

This garden is on the grounds of Hatley Park and Hatley Castle in Victoria B.C.

its so awesome, your sense of fotography is so good, please check my blog :D

Thanks for reading @sieuky!

Ah! I'm so glad to see that you are on an adventure! Per usual your photos are fantastic!! Nothing's better than enjoying a bit of Gringa-chronicles on a lovely Sunday morning! Hope you are having liters of fun😊

I certainly am, thanks @genirkat! (P.S. I can't wait for the next meetup!)

Self Relaxing Photos, Thanks for your participation.

I'm so glad you liked it @ahmedcation

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62623.56
ETH 3037.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70