Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: Craigdarroch Castle

in #photography6 years ago

BeFunky-collage (2).png

DSC_8650.jpg

Hello again my friends!

DSC_8655.jpg

DSC_8657.jpg

I've nearly finished up with all of the travel posts from Victoria, BC but I've still got a few things to share. I'm also really excited about some news I'll be sharing really soon.

DSC_8659.jpg

DSC_8667.jpg

So in this post I'm sharing a little about the Craigdarroch Castle. If you saw my post about Hatley Castle then you might remember me talking about the connection between the two castles. Hatley Castle was built by James Dunsmuir, the son of Robert Dunsmuir who built Craigdarroch Castle. There's quite an bit of history tied into both of these structures, considering how young they are on a world history scale.

DSC_8661.jpg

DSC_8663.jpg

Upon entering Craigdarroch you step into this small room that, while beautiful and ornate, might leave you wondering if the rest of the home was built for hobbits. However, once you go inside you immediately get a glimpse of a winding staircase that spans the entire castle and reveals how much you've got to explore.

DSC_8702.jpg

DSC_8704.jpg

The entire building is set up for visitors. Each room has plaques and antiques on display, much like a museum, yet a little more natural and homey. I mean, the castle was actually constructed as a home to begin with and lived in by the Dunsmuir family for an entire generation.

DSC_8665.jpg

DSC_8669.jpg

I won't go into all the history I learned on my visit but I did find it interesting to know that after death of Robert, house was stripped and then through the years was used for so many things such as a WWII hospital and a college. In more recent years though, it has been restored. Of course, after so many years it's impossible to think that the things on display now could have been the original furnishings of the home.

DSC_8699.jpg

DSC_8700.jpg

The restoration team carefully searched for what is currently shown and I have a great appreciation for the work that was put into accurately matching the time period with antiques to refill the building.

DSC_8670.jpg

DSC_8681.jpg

If you're ever in the area I'd definitely recommend paying a visit to this Castle. I mean, who doesn't love to spend the day exploring a castle?

DSC_8674.jpg

DSC_8684.jpg

See you soon!

DSC_8685.jpg

DSC_8694.jpg

After all the excitement of the day I was really hungry so I went to a place called The Noodle Box and ordered something delicious!

DSC_8619.jpg

DSC_8620.jpg

DSC_8634.jpg

Did you catchall the other posts from my Canada travels?

  1. Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: City Sights + Chinatown
  2. Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: Whale Tales + Fisherman's Wharf
  3. Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: Castles, Gardens, &.....X-men?
  4. VIDEO! Travelicious Canada: Victoria, British Columbia

DSC_8712.jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

For more great food ideas and inspiration, please do not forget to look at my other recent posts

  1. Simple Indian Masala Chickpea Curry
  2. Crunchy Quinoa Walnut Granola (No Added Sugar)
  3. Extreme Reese's Chocolate Brownies
  4. Smooth & Creamy Strawberry Rhubarb Meringue Pie
  5. Creamy Kale & Spinach Chickpea Macaroni
  6. The Easiest Creme Brulee Ever
  7. Quick & Easy Vegetarian Egg Rolls
  8. One-Pot Creamy Mushroom Chicken & Broccoli Gnocchi
  9. Chocolate, Caramel, & Banana "Banoffee" Cake
  10. Avocado Chicken Green Enchilada Bake

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

DSC_8705.jpg

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

White Poster.00_00_04_08.Still002.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

Greetings, sweet and super beautiful gringaliceus

"There will be a day when I will have money to travel abroad.
One day, when I will meet Canada.
One day I'll pay for those trips with the steemit money. "
Aragorn

How beautiful your journey is, Miss Gringaliceus. I hope some years I can make this kind of trip too and pay it with steemit money.

The photos of the places you've met are too beautiful.

Thank you for showing us.

Thank you and good morning!!

Beautiful words .. amazing
We all need that Visit historic places
Thanks for sharing this with us‏..

beautiful pix

Wonderful castle.... amazing pics!

Wow! What a great and beautiful castle, but better still have been the photographs. Big catch and excellent post. A hug and greetings.

Wow. Beautiful photos @gringalicious.
Hope you are enjoying your trip in Canada.
Even though I live in Canada, I have never been in Victoria, so it is great to see these photos.
Enjoy your stay @gringalicious

I saw your some Previous Post You doing always awesome Posting

Please Support me in Upvote

A delight! Not only the excellent construction of the castle, but also the exquisite decoration and furniture ... wonderful place to visit.

That staircase looks like a trompe-l'-oeil masterpiece :) Fantastic photos!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69796.92
ETH 3521.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.70