Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: Whale Tales + Fisherman's Wharf

in #photography6 years ago

BeFunky-collage (3).png

What's up my friend? I'm still in Victoria and I wanted to share about another one of the days that I spent here.

DSC_8480.jpg

DSC_8474.jpg

BeFunky-collage (4).png

So the day started out with a little bit of window shopping and exploring the city. Then I found a great place to grab something to eat. I was in the mood for sushi and I tried something I've never even heard of before, yam sushi. It was actually so good! It also had some avocado and cucumber too. Super yummy!

DSC_8504.jpg

DSC_8507.jpg

DSC_8509.jpg

After that I headed to the bay area and took a ferry boat over to the fisherman's wharf. It's a small little port community of floating homes and tourist shops.

DSC_8511.jpg

BeFunky-collage (1).png

DSC_8512.jpg

I found the homes so fascinating and I'm just so curious about what it would be like to live in one. Personally, I'd imagine the lack of privacy would drive me crazy, but I guess if I was a fisherman or a sailor it would be worth it. They all even had cute little boat names like "Water's Edge" and "Moonshadow".

DSC_8519.jpg

DSC_8528.jpg

DSC_8530.jpg

It must be a very unique lifestyle.

DSC_8521.jpg

DSC_8533.jpg

DSC_8542.jpg

So then there's the really fun part. I went on a whale watching tour on a really nice boat. We saw so many creatures. Everything from the national bird of my country, the bald eagle, to whales and various species of pinipeds (such as seals, walrus, and sea lions)

DSC_8540.jpg

DSC_8558.jpg

DSC_8568.jpg

I wish I could share more pictures of the creatures but, I'll be honest, the wind was intense and the day got rainy at times so I did my best to keep my camera safe. Although, I did get some footage and I really hope to get a video of my whole trip together soon. Oh, but I did capture a photo of one of the humpback whales diving!

BeFunky-collage (2).png

DSC_8565.jpg

DSC_8599-2.jpg

If you're ever planning a visit, I'd definitely recommend a whale watching adventure. Oh, but bring planty of warm clothes. However, if that's not your thing you should at least stop by Fisherman's wharf.

IMG_20180511_143616.jpg

Until next time........

Gringalicious-border.png

For more great food ideas and inspiration, please do not forget to look at my other recent posts

  1. Simple Indian Masala Chickpea Curry
  2. Crunchy Quinoa Walnut Granola (No Added Sugar)
  3. Extreme Reese's Chocolate Brownies
  4. Smooth & Creamy Strawberry Rhubarb Meringue Pie
  5. Creamy Kale & Spinach Chickpea Macaroni
  6. The Easiest Creme Brulee Ever
  7. Quick & Easy Vegetarian Egg Rolls
  8. One-Pot Creamy Mushroom Chicken & Broccoli Gnocchi
  9. Chocolate, Caramel, & Banana "Banoffee" Cake
  10. Avocado Chicken Green Enchilada Bake

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

DSC_8599.png

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

When I was viewing the pictures I feel like I am also there. Such a lovely captures.

Greetings, sweet and beautiful Gringaliceous

There will be a day where I will use the steemit coins to travel.
One day, when these coins will be valuable to get to know other countries and other continents.
One day, where steemit's revenue will allow it all.
But that day is not today.
"Aragorn"

I found the photos of your trip beautiful. As beautiful as you.

I have not yet met any coastal sites that have this kind of architecture described in the photos. Very cool of you to post and show a little piece of nature for us.

Thank you and good morning!!!!

Beautiful pictures...

Thanks @cicbar!

You do not stop to surprise us, well done.

we can help each other..please follow and upvote me...i will back

Hello welcome to Victoria, I just gave you almost a dollar upvote I didn't know I could give that much YEHHHH :) Hope you had a great time in Victoria. If your around tomorrow come on down to my Coffee house for a free latte on me. It would be cool to meet a steemer :] nice post Cheers location 102-284 Helmcken rd 8:30am-3pm on Saturday closed Sunday open Monday-Friday 8:30-4pm

The 3 amigos are working tomorrow :)

You are a good guy @cliffpower
God bless you always my friend

Wow, thank you so much for the offer @cliffpower. I have a daytime flight tomorrow but if I can squeeze it in before I'd love to. I really appreciate your support! Steem on!

Right on, we have a nice little coffee house where we train youth for the work world and just have a great time. I hope we see you. If not have a great flight and thx for replying. I thought it was funny how I stubbled onto your post. I seen it and said what Victoriaaaa

happy time.. nice

Vancouver is beautiful

wow, its really seems you enjoyed your time there. amazing pictures.

I see your your trending on life at # 6 :)
oh look who's #1, I can't believe it

we can help each other..please follow and upvote me...i will back

Isn't Vancouver Island just tranquil?

Being from Australia, our trip to Canada and the US was pretty special!

We had so many laughs and great times chilling out in Victoria. We stayed at a cute airbnb just outside of the city. The dude we stayed with worked at a microbrewery and gave us a few beers to try out while we were there. We went on a ghost tour, ate so much chocolate and had quite the whale watching debacle (but learned so much when we finally got out to sea!). I think it is totally worth a post of it's own on my blog.

It's so hard choosing just one thing to write about daily. I settled on today's vegan soup - pumpkin and kale. I was actually surprised it turned out as orange as it did (although I did add turmeric to try to keep the orange colour. Is that cheating?? Hehe!)

Take care!
Nick.

Wow, delightful and exciting journey

I'm from BC myself! I've got some fond memories of riding the ferries between Vancouver and Victoria. Hope you're enjoying Canada so far!! :D

I've loved every moment. Thanks for sharing your great country with me! Have a good one @eitsky!

we can help each other..please follow and upvote me...i will back

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63746.34
ETH 3048.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97