DJI Mavic unboxing and first flightsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

As most of you know I ordered A DJ Mavic Pro as a Black Friday discount. I love photography and try to take pictures as good as I can. But I know with every shoot you need to learn something. And for now I need to learn a lot, because IT arrived finally! The DJI Mavic Pro is here and it is my first drone. Ever since the Mavic came out I knew I wanted to have one, because of it’s transportability and awesome 4K camera. Maybe not the best but compared to its size its perfect. For my future roadtrips I’m gonna use this to extend my photography and even start filming I think.

It’s transportability is even better than I thought after watching all those movies. Just fold it in and it will fit in almost every gearbag.

The box the Mavic arrived in

The box is really smooth almost like Apple style



The travelbag contains almost everything. So no more unnecessary
cardboard boxes in boxes as I saw in the unbox videos on youtube. DJI scores some points here!

When we unpack the bag we’ll find these inside (and 3 accu packs but I forgot to put them on the table for this picture)

Inside the Mavic there is already a 16GB memory card

Already got the tip here to upgrade my DJI (thanks @markangeltrueman), but what a hell of a job. It didn’t upgrade instant to the latest firmware so need to get there step by step. But after the Mavic I had to upgrade everything (controller, battery’s). So first upgrading then flying.


The first flight with the Mavic

The image quality didn’t blow me away instant. Think I need to learn what the camera does with different kind of light, weather etc. When you have some tips feel free to put them in the comments section!

The Mavic live in action

Next steps!? Need to prepare some ideas for aerial shots and unveil it’s raw power! Too bad the weather isn’t co-operating here at the moment with all the fog coming from the sea. What would you prefer next time, images or video?

Sort:  

Wow. Awesome toy, Remy!
Maybe the mist has something to do with the quality of the photo's? It was not the best weather today. Did you also make a video?

I already thought about that Tim. The weather was bad indeed for taking nice pictures. Didn't try shooting a video. First I tried to learn how-to control the Mavic. With my 3rd battery i took the time to take some pictures. Now the battery's are re-charging again :P

Good photos, I am a photographer, it passes for my blog and sees my content, I hope that it should be of your taste :D greetings

Thanks! Started to follow you:)

Congratulations @guchtere, this post is the fifth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 3718 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $3932.03. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Great choice! This is one of the best drones on the market!

Thanks! The best transportabele drone it is! Everytime I look at it I’m impressed by the small formfactor of the package. You also own a Mavic? edit wow you have some awesome drone postings!

No, I am about to buy the Mavic. Swapping my Phantom 3A for it.
Thank you :D Yeah.. I love drones :D

Nice upgrade for your phantom! When will the swap happen? DJI will announce something this week. Not waiting for that? ;)

Yes, I do wait :D Thinking about doing it for my next trip to China ;)

And with the presentation of the new DJI model, what's it gonna be a Mavic Pro or Air? :)

Air is going to be the next one :D
So impressive!! What is your opinion?

I think DJI will announce a new Mavic Pro in a month or 2. Just look at the specs in the Mavic Air. What can they do in the package from the pro. Bigger sensor I hope! But maybe even a longer flight time? But the best part of the Mavic Air I think are the detachable sticks at the controller. I really like them!

But if I had to choose now, it would be the Air definitely!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63746.34
ETH 3048.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97