Local Mall, Empty for Lunch

in #photography5 years ago

Photograph by Guy Sellars - Mall - Empty.jpg

Dropped by the local mall for lunch and decided to take a walk. I was a little amazed at how few patrons were actually strolling around. This used to be a busy mall. But, if this last Christmas season taught us anything, it is that shopping has moved to the internet.

A little sad to be sure.

Sort:  

Is this UK? I am in Cambridge...

PS Thank you very much for giving me a witness vote.. voting you back as a thank you

Hi @justyy. I think you are a great witness and are providing a lot back to the community. I encourage everyone to check out @justyy site, steemyy, and if you see the value as I did, vote for @justyy as a witness. You can also use this link, vote.

Oh, as for your question, the picture was taken in a small town north of Los Angeles, California, USA.

Congratulations @guysellars! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.
You received more than 250 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 500

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Last Christmas teached me many people are out of money. We do not celebrate Christmas with presents. Good thing about the Internet is you have way more choice, can search for what is cheapest and youdo not need to go outside. I hate shopping.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think the convenience of the internet has won a lot of would-be mall shoppers over @wakeupkitty. Amazon and others have made it so easy to get what you want, regardless of whether or not you really need it. And Amazon's return policy is fast and easier. Basically, everything a consumer wants. I also agree that Christmas has become way to commercialized. Many people throughout the world just need the basics, and that is something to think about. Thank you @wakeupkitty for your input. It is always appreciated.

Pixabay - amazon-2183855_1920.png

I never buy at Amazon it is in many cases expensive or impossible to get it delivered in Holland.
Ebay is a long time ago too I used it and same story. Seldom interesting unless it send from Germany or the UK.

Wish is the easiest and best service. Pity is frequently articles do nor arrive. To be honest I think it is the Dutch post stealing it. It is always during the period November till Januar.
Next it is Aliexpress but I have bad experiences with the service. For the same reason I do not pay by paypal any longer. No guarantee and if you get broken shit delivered you loose.
Paying by credit card gives a real guarantee. At least here.

Posted using Partiko Android

Makes sense that each countries online retailers have differing experiences. And the postal service is often a problem. I stopped doing business in one country, to be un-named, due to lost items. Cost me a fortune.

Reminded me of a South Park episode where Amazon workers go on strike and the kids have to go to a shopping mall to get their stuff - only to be attended by zombis and old moldy food which has turned into some type of being. The zombis are recruited by the Amazon boss to do the job which humans refuse to do due to lack of safety (one of their colleagues was crushed and placed inside an Amazon box - where he still had a voice and managed to organise the strike.

Great analogy @whatdotheyknow. Not a bit South Park fan, well really I'm not watching that much TV anymore. Mas eu realmente recebo um pontapé de alguns de sua sátira. Aprecio você tomar o tempo escrever o comentário. Eu segui-te.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63519.79
ETH 3073.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82