See Sparks Fly : Yesteryear Wonder And Present Adventure

in #photography6 years ago

night1.jpg

When I was a kid, we used to play with sparklers. Birthdays, holidays, and achievements would be marked with a crackling sound and fiery display. I can fondly remember running through the snow on New Years Eve feeling as though I was a some magical creature - a faerie perhaps.

Fast forward a couple of decades and I found myself scrolling through Instagram in search of long exposure photography images that would be engaging and creative to make. Before long I'd found some steel wool shots and thought,
" That is what playing with sparklers felt like it looked like!"

I promptly asked good ol uncle google, "How to spin steel wool."

Since then I have rallied some friends to help me experiment and revel in the childlike wonder that comes from playing with fire. The first time I tried it out we sailed to Sidney Spit for an overnight adventure.
We Sailed To An Island To Play With Fire
We Sailed To An Island To Play With Fire 2

The shot in this post is from my second night trying this technique. While I need to brush up on my photography skills - I'm quite pleased with my initial attempts. Editing in lightroom will undoubtedly be in my future. I'd welcome any suggestions or feedback from the steemit community.

All content is my own unless otherwise noted.
Thanks for the support steemians!

Sort:  

Hola @hayles
Me llamo mucho la atención y busque con el tío google un vídeo de Hilar lana de acero. Es una nota.
Cuando lo hagas no dejaré de verlo.
Saludos y Gracias por el artículo

Me alegro de que te guste!

I am impressed Hayley.

Thank you Angie!

Congratulations @hayles! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63722.47
ETH 3049.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.03