Camping at Rymer's Access on the Jacks Fork River (Friday Night)

in #photography6 years ago

20180504_194022.jpg

With all the bad that went on last week, it was time for a much needed break. Friday @melodyrussell, her brother Mike, and I went on a little hike around Rymer's access on the Jacks Fork River here in the Missouri Ozarks. Melody and her family had plans to camp Friday and Saturday nights and invited us to join them. Umm...Does a bear shit in the woods? Of course I'll go!!!

I went home and packed all our camping gear. I met the girls at the bus stop with the exciting news. We waited for Toby to get home so I could leave instructions on feeding the animals and such with him. I already knew the 18-year-old would be more interested in having the house to himself for the weekend than going camping with Mom and his little sisters. I was right. Haha!

After a quick stop at the old Walmart to get a few missing supplies, we were off to the river for a quiet, electricity-free weekend!

20180504_191246.jpg
Our campsite

@jasonrussell and Melody brought their 1970's pop-up camper. I brought our tent and a hammock. It was expected to be in the 80's for the weekend.

20180504_191302.jpg

Later that evening, Mel's sister Jessica, husband and daughter came to join us! They drove from a town almost 2 hours away to get their toes wet in the beautiful Jacks Fork!

20180504_191655.jpg

20180504_192848.jpg

We brought along three of our dogs: Willie Nelson, Emma Jane, and Chico. The Russell's brought their buddies Bastian and Diego. (Diego is actually Willie, Emma, and Chico's father!) Jess brought their dog Laura.

20180504_193103.jpg

20180504_193108.jpg

We took a little walk down to the river. Our campsite wasn't exactly on the river. It was well above the flood plane which is good because we are still coming down from this year's rains.

20180504_193943.jpg

20180504_193948.jpg

20180504_194533.jpg

Since the kids had been at school all day, it wasn't hard to get them to go to sleep when it finally got dark. It was the perfect sleeping weather for outdoors. Pretty awesome. I slept in the hammock while the girls slept distributed between two tents. I actually slept with all three pups in my hammock with me, if you can believe that!

I'll post later about Saturday, which was the best day I have had in a while.

Thanks for looking! Stay tuned!

Banner 2.jpg

Sort:  

Sure looks like a fun time to me. So glad you had a good time and looking forward to reading about your best day yet. 🐓🐓

It was such a nice time. Even the kids didn't end up arguing with each other, which is amazing!

Looks awesome! I wish I could get the ole husband to go camping...party pooper

Mine was out of town or he would have been right there with us. I was glad to be able to take the kids almost on my own like this though. I felt pretty prepared!

So glad you had a fun weekend!!! I love how it looks down there with all the leaves coming in on the trees. Makes me miss home!! Hell... i miss home all the time. Haha. Sure looks like it was a beautiful day!

It was pretty stinkin' great. Would have only improved if you had been there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86