Expired & Exposed: AGFA - GEVAERT Gevapan 36 N195

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

C4603AB6-19AB-4832-B147-C94F26BE36FB.jpegPhoto above of Tang by BooTang

Expired & Exposed: AGFA - GEVAERT Gevapan 36 N195



This is another post adding to a larger series named Expired & Exposed. I’m a film photographer experimenting with different developing techniques.

This post has been a while in the making... I like to include a bit of history to go along with the film stock developed - after all sometimes the history is just as interesting as the results! Unfortunately I don’t have many facts surrounding this particular film. What I do know is; it’s motion octure film expired in 1979 it, and hand rolled by a gentleman from my hometown St. Petersburg, Florida ; named Lance Rothstein. Lance procures rare and vintage films from all over the world, and like me, experiments with all sorts of developing processes. http://www.labeauratoire.com


0AB89A2D-B0BE-4C3F-AA3C-E29A296E93E0.jpegPhoto by Lance Rothstein

How did I acquire this rare roll?

Well, this is actually an @ameliabartlett find from a while back. Her and her bestie grabbed a handful from a hodgepodge bowl at our local lab Zebra Color. I won’t spoil some of the other unique finds - you’ll see them reviewed here for another installment of Expired & Exposed.

It is really hard to find any specs about this film, at least from a trustworthy source. It’s label shows this film being rated at ISO 100, whereas a few documents I came across say it shall be exposed at ISO 64 for daylight. So I subdued my inner rebel and went with Lance’s recommendation. As for development, same issue, a few random attempts with little to no specs or results.


Asset 1-210.png

68E0440E-0781-440E-A044-7DD4E3A4E7CB.jpegPhoto of BooTang by @hobotang - click for high resolution image



01F40364-6238-4185-9715-9C0402077510.jpeg Photo of BooTang by @hobotang - click for high resolution image


These are some great images of Amelia - fantastic length of mid tones and detail considering the films age. If you’re wondering what that mark is on the full-length shot, I think it’s a hair or scratch on the negative. Hair is likely in our household.


C07D8E03-D10D-4E4C-A033-8348C7954D92.jpegPhoto of bushome by @hobotang - click for high resolution image


Common test shot for me. I just like the view of the various cloud formations, woods, and the house. It was fairly sunny this day, and enough detail in the shadows to make me happy.


716E86D5-FBCE-4893-B5C7-E956ABA750E0.jpeg#streetphotography by @hobotang - click for high resolution image

Not sure what I was going for here... I like the high contrast look and the way the branch is lost in its own shadows, kinda abstract.


Overall, I think these came out really good. I think the grain structure is typical for motion picture film of this age #grainisgood .


Note: These images have not been edited in any way. Developed. Scanned. Uploaded. I give myself (and you) an opportunity to discover what each film has to offer.



Asset 1-210.png

Developing process...

I used another modified Two Step Caffenol Developer concoction:
40ml Water, 7 rounded Teaspoons of Instant Coffee
100ml Water, 4 Teaspoons of Washing Soda, 2 Teaspoons of Vitamin C

  • Put the Coffee mix into the developing tank, agitate once per second for the first minute
  • leave it for another 2 minutes, agitate for 10 seconds every minute.
  • Pour out 100ml of Water and add the Washing Soda mix.
  • Agitate once per second for the first minute
  • Agitate for 10 seconds every minute for 9 miutes
  • Stand development for another 4 minutes.

I used a distilled water stop bath. Kodak film fix. Hypo clear wash. Then photoflo.



Asset 1-210.png

I’ve got a few ideas for my next aged film attempt...use a chemical stop bath - I was left with a thin layer of something on these negatives that makes me think water wasn’t enough to do the job;add potassium bromide to my caffenol mixture - I hear helps with fog (which expired film is notorious for);Use Rodinal - 1:00 mixture would be SUPER cheap and I hear cooks a mean soup;Experiment with CineStill Monobath- just because im curious. Then again any master of gelatin-silver magic knows you must use the proper chemical bath for each film. Which begs the question; Should I have given more attention or the emultion numbers/type?

Oh well. Next time.



C35DD754-F748-49BB-A796-36ACF5DEC23D.jpeg


Asset 1-210.png




Hey, my name is Tang. 👋

Most people know me for being a bus dweller - I converted a school bus into a custom RV, but I’m also a film photographer, dreadlocked Legolas, and a dad to a dog named Hobo. Right now, I'm experimenting with vintage cameras and expired film, learning how to mountain bike, and sharing my adventures along the way.

Previous **Expired & Exposed: Svema Foto 65 - Check it out!

First time on my blog? Say hi below. 🤙

Sort:  

It’s old, but not as old as me. Impressive shots as you say, came out well in the end must be your in depth developing process.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

The more I do, the more comfortable I get with alternative processes of developing. As far a the photography... that’ll take some time, lol. Thanks for the share 🤙

Just to be clear... in the full length shot, that's a giant white hair coming out of AmeliaB flying free? Or a hair captured on the negative?

super cool process, glad you all are sharin da' artz

Fascinating experiment, and a good set of shots! Amelia is so pretty I almost hate to say this, but the second shot of her (where her head/shoulders are cropped) is so artsy-fartsy! Love that one!

Thanks @thekittygirl 🌸
It’s such a niche subject - not only developing your own film, but using rare films, and using alternative processes (like coffee); I am continuing my efforts to make it interesting for everyone. It’s helpful to be part of a supportive community of all arts and views.

I’m glad you like my cutoff picture. In college I produced a series of unconventional portraits cutting eveone off at the shoulders... it made for some impactful, gritty, images, (an unhappy professor) yet intimately printed in the school’s editorial. Art can be an unconventional as the artist wants it to be, in my opinion, as long as it has a reason (or really, an artist statement).

Thanks for dropping by 🌿

It is curious how the mood of a picture can be changed so much by the grain and particularities of analog film.

Photographers absolutely use grain as an effect, some fancy editing programs will mimic specific films and add grain. Great observation, thanks for the comment @yidneth ✌️

i love to see your experiments and not less to read about the techniques you use for your film photography developing process.
lovely results you got with this almost "ancient" roll ;-)
i have some problems to see a previews of the tif files you uploaded to this post but can see them after downloading.

Thank you very much! I never know how much detail I should go into, there aren’t many film developing nerds like me out there that I’ve seem, lol. I’m glad you find my rambling entertaining 🤓

Looking into preview problem... thanks for letting me know.

Error should be corrected. Thanks again for the heads up 🙌

Free Upvotes
cooltext292615989443333.png
ENJOY !

I am glad to see this photo and a very nice photo shot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87