Street Photography #1 - South Korea

in #photography6 years ago

Hello all!

The rain was on and off throughout the day, but being from Washington State, it didn't really bother me. I went exploring down some back roads in Daegu South Korea. It's very interesting, as there are pockets of the really old Korea within the Cities constant construction of new buildings. I decided to do some street style photography. Currently I am shooting with a 28mm (FF) and even though it's a little wide, I can always zoom with the feet. I really enjoy it, and think it's a perfect lens for capturing street in the cities, as it allows you to capture the architecture real well, and also allows for more framing in tight alley ways.

DSC05348.jpg

Sign post on the street I was walking down. It was covered in rust, and you could tell it has been there a long time. It added a lot of character. The sign says 유루 주차장 which translates to Yuru parking lot.

DSC05350.jpg

While I don't find this picture to be the most aesthetically pleasing, I did find it interesting that someone would cover the front door of their house with old vinyls.

DSC05353.jpg

How can anyone pass up on the classic 'old bike against a wall' shot. I always love taking this pic. It never gets old.

DSC05329.jpg

Old style Korean shops are just, I don't even know how to explain it. They pack as much of whatever it is they are selling into the little space that they have. This shop was selling all kinds of hardware made from steel. Bolts, nuts, hooks, etc... Probably have a lot more of these in the future. This shop was actually pretty well organized. Most the time you can't even see how people would get in or out, not to mention how they find anything.

DSC05338.jpg

In the older districts where people have refused to sell out to new industry and commercial projects, the buildings really show their age. In the older parts of town, the buildings are never more than 2-3 stories tall. Usually they are filled with shops on the bottom, and the shop owners live in apartments located above. Sometimes both levels are shops, it really has character, and adds some history to the concrete jungle monotony that is modern Korea.

DSC05343.jpg

It was a Saturday, and a lot of shops were closed due to the rain. However, I did come across this guy doing some metal work. The glass doors of his shop reflected light really well, and you can clearly see me in the image. Photographer and subject. I really love capturing people in a candid moment. He recognized me, and continued with his work. I think he was proud someone showed interest.

DSC05370.jpg

The New dwarfing the old. You can really see the contrast of the new and the old, as the older generations pass on and the land is bought up buy developers. It's sad really, as there is absolutely no identity in the new of the city.

Anyway, that's all I have to share today. I hope you enjoyed my pics!

As always, I enjoy responding to questions and comments, so make sure to ask or leave them below!

You can also follow me on other social media located in my Signature.

Thanks,
@ImLikeTT

ToDDSocialWMsteem.png

Sort:  

Good to see photos of Daegu here. A Sign of the first photo says 유료주차장, means paid parking lot. Old sign probably says "many cars have used this parking space during loooong years."

Ah! You're right! I used the wrong "u" haha, thanks!
Probably be a lot more photos of Daegu since this is where I am living.

Great post!!

Please Stop - @cp123

You just said "great post" and in your your last 100 comments you used 39 phrases considered to be spam and you made this exact same comment 15 times. You've received 0 flags and you may see more on comments like these. These comments are the reason why your Steem Sincerity API classification scores are Spam: 81.50% and Bot: 2.60%

Please stop making comments like this and read the ways to avoid @pleasestop and earn the support of the community.

Sometime taking photos of someone is not a good thing especially you don’t ask for it before.

I'm going to disagree with you here. It all depends on the law. If you are in a public place with no reasonable expectation of privacy, there is no reason I need to ask for your permission.
That being said; if the man were to ask me not to take his photo, I would have stopped taking it.

Yo ! The bicycle photo is a classic ! Especially in Black and White ! I like your aesthetic for street photography buddy and it's definitely inspired me to go to Korea !!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29