Mariposa LiliessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

I noticed some strange white flowers blooming along the road right across from my driveway, so I took a few pictures. After some investigation online, I know they are definitely a variety of mariposa lily, and possibly subalpine mariposa lilies specifically, although I don't live in any of the shaded areas mapped here.

20190609_145550.jpg

The peculiar hairiness of the petals didn't show well on all my photos, and several pictures didn't turn out well at all thanks to the limitations of smartphone photography and my hasty snapshot technique, or lack thereof.

20190609_145416.jpg

Several of the flowers had insects in the center, as seen above. I don't know what these bugs were, why they were there, or whether they were alive or dead.

20190609_145528.jpg

While taking pictures of the flowers earlier today, I also saw this feather lying in the gravel. It isn't floral, but I thought it was photogenic at least.

20190609_132335.jpg

Does anyone here know anything more about these wildflowers? Please comment below!

Sort:  

@jacobtothe the flower is unique I have no clue what it is or what kind of beetle or why he is in the flower and do not know what kind of bird dropped its feather, I know I am totally useless, maybe someone else can answer your questions. Hope you find the answers

Looks like a slightly camouflage beetle on it’s back in the middle Lilly image. I wonder if it’s eating the pollen. I would. I can see those hairs you’re referring to. Almost looks like a carnivorous Lilly. Not that those exist. I don’t know, just saying.

Posted using Partiko iOS

This post was chosen to be voted by THEUNION.
theunion.png

Good post! I do not know anything about those wildflowers or the feather haha! Cheers!

If you hadn't mentioned the feather, I might have had reason to think you hadn't read the post, and were just making a generic comment!

Haha! I can definitely understand that. It is hard to tell sometimes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34