Wide Open Daily: Day 64

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Last week I noticed some mushrooms growing in our yard while I was mowing and was careful to not mow over them so I could photograph them later. Of course I came back and those particular mushrooms weren't there any more but just a few feet away from where I saw the other ones I found these little guys!!

IMG_8897.JPG

Neither myself or @hethur240 were able to positively identify what kind of mushrooms they are.... I uploaded the first image to googles reverse search and it came up with "Agaric" mushrooms which is a little less than helpful as none of the images were anything like these!

IMG_8898.JPG
Are they just common mushrooms!? Edible? Poisonous?

IMG_8899.JPG
Did a little more freelensing trying to get a little closer up... (man i need a macro lens)

IMG_8911.JPG

What is Wide Open Daily you ask?

Well..... I've grown tired of trying to come up with something new for the weekly #colorchallenge and many of the other photography prompts I have used here on Steemit over the last year and decided it's time to just do my own thing!

Sooooo....I'm going to challenge myself to take at least one new photo everyday with my Sigma Art 50mm wide open at f/1.4!! I freeking love this lens and the super narrow depth of field it creates when used wide open!

Thanks for checkin' it out!!

Sort:  

I love fungi, it's all so beautiful and unique. I would love to learn how to identify them but if you read the stats on how many people are admitted to hospital each year by eating what they thought to be safe, the stats are staggering!! Some poisonous ones can look very familiar to ones that are not, so it is just not worth the risk unless you REALLY know what you are doing.

No harm in photographing them and sharing their beauty! I wonder what the underside of them looks like...

If the torrential rain we just got didn't destroy them i'll try to get a picture and comment it here ;)

Okay cool... yeah the rain might have destroyed them if it was hard.

Here’s a couple crappy cellphone pics of the bottom

96700B32-463B-4AF4-B5CB-D37989C895EB.jpeg

221CE5D7-35F0-4102-BF6C-EEF859B1FCEC.jpeg

Oh look at the pretty shape from underneath... beautiful, thanks for sharing! : )

The fungus among us!! haha I'm not sure what you got there but it don't look edible to me, If you really wanna know what it is I'd recommend doing a spore print on paper and looking that up. The mushroom fingerprint! It's a better way to identify mushies! Nice captures STEEM ON!

Hello @jasonrussell,

Congrats! Your outstanding work is featured on the Photocircle Top 10 Contributors for the category "Amazing Nature".

Cheers!
Photocircle Team

You may view the post where your photograph is featured through this link: https://steemit.com/photocircle/@photocircle/photocircle-top-10-contributors-51st-edition-amazing-nature

Learn more about this new project feature through the link below:

» Photocircle Project Quest

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85