What stones count

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

horno_cal_interior.jpg

horno_de_la_cal_sanandres.jpg

What stones count

Hi,

these photos belongs to the interior of the Cal Furnace of my town, in #LaPalma, #CanaryIslands.

Lime kilns were used to make such construction material for much of the past centuries. They were located on the coast, since the raw material came by boat from the eastern islands, like Lanzarote. There are very few standing and the interior is beautiful.

These photos seem attractive to me because their symmetries and brick textures give an abstract touch.
I hope you like them.

Regards.

Lime kiln: a kiln in which limestone is burned or calcined to produce quicklime.

hornocal_lapalma_color_javiersebastian_4463.jpg





firma_javiersebastian_fondotrasnparente.png
www.javiersebastian.es



Copyright: Javier Sebastian, Canary Islands. All my images are original.
If you want to buy any of my visuals, please drop me a message, I'm on Discord: JavierSebastian#5816




Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Youtube | Presearch | Brave | Invite me a Coffee | Patreon

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I agree with you.. it's amazing! Wondering how long they build the furnace and how many people worked on it before too.. by the way.. is it still active?

It is no longer active. It was very deteriorated, but a recent restoration restored its splendor.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70181.59
ETH 3549.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74