Photography as an expressed and lashed body

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

The body, as a subject, naturally became a space of play in photography for me, once I found the self-portrait as a way of expression, a natural exploration of the body started in me, sort of a creative but painful search started to grow in my imaginary and in my work from poetry to visual art.

The photography allows us to be undress, bare the body that sometimes feels alienated to us. Being alone is, precisely, find yourself naked, immobile, lost, without knowing more about yourself that the body we inhabit and believes to understand. Being lonely with a camera near you can be a great exercise to find new boundaries in yourself.

But the meditation that it's needed for a photography work can't be driven by the visceral desire to just create, you also have to say something, try to express something, no matter how fast the means may be. This it's what makes experimentation in photography so fun because you're learning along the way, embraced by the immediacy of the medium but knowing that you're saying something and growing in every shot.

fotografia cuerpo (6).png

My nudity wasn't a coincidence, but it wasn't voluntary neither. Out of that urge in these photographs, they began to form a relationship between the erotic body and the intervened body; the intimate and the outer. I needed to express how the world was affecting my body and how I was hurting it myself.

I've always been very obstinate about why we call things the way we do: (now that I think about it, it's a pretty photographic whim) eroticism? Self-portrait? Erotic photography?... But under what standards is considered an erotic photo? Is erotism more an insinuation than an asseveration? Maybe this last one is the most correct in the field of photography, then I think, it's only the beautiful erotic? but then it would be the same as thinking that only the beautiful is art when our life is governed by desire and its manipulable eroticism.

The rawness of this conception of the erotic body in the photography it's what many don't understand, in the "erotic art" exist, above all, an aesthetic interest, no matter what its intention.

But I don't intend this to become a thesis on the body or erotics as a subject in photography, so I must speak of these photos from the roots: my suffering.

It seems like the pain melted in my skin, it warms my neck, my ears, my back seems to be in flames with any memory that cross my mind, I see my body as a hadn't before, with lost eyes and a skin it's not mine anymore. My body is wrapped by anxiety, excessive lying and it paints all spaces in crimson.

The game begins, I have the audacity to expose myself and explore figures of my body that have never been explored before.

 cuerpo-17.jpg

fotografia cuerpo (1).png

I started a game with figure and the vision filtered by the lens of my camera, I get this first result and started to play with the position of my legs, hands and, although the focus was a hell, I could get some interesting results for this photographies. An erotic dialogue between my body and the camera that it couldn't be seen before now was expressed by the gestures of my body.

fotografia cuerpo (2).png

The body communicates generally in a sexual way, ** this type of communication places us before the personal otherness**, can that other become the concrete face of, precisely, that erotic body of my photography? If I separate my corporeal self from my spiritual self, that otherness, that makes us ethical subjects, its established with my other self, the one that really affects me.

I can realize with this that the language of my photography becomes the calendar and time for my desire and the celebration of a body, my body.

fotografia cuerpo (3).png

 cuerpo-3.jpg

fotografia cuerpo (5).png

But in that celebration, there must be the pain of acceptance of an unstable body, marked with a lot of flaws.

But then it comes to frame several elements from the outside that intervenes our body and really affect us because they change us and end up making us think that we are less, and hurts, it hurt us because those defects became things that we can't accept and end up represented us. The body expresses itself as an extension of how we want to be seen and is usually ignored for what it is.

fotografia cuerpo (4).png

 cuerpo-33.jpg

The image generates and raises the moral, it doesn't necessarily evoke direct sensations. And what is generated is came from our experience, or relive experiences. This activates our feelings and our thinking.

When I first saw the results of these photographs, I realized a lot of things, this is how I looked myself: ugly, angry, vague, never too clear about who I am, about the body I live in. This makes me kinda sad, but it reassures me that at least I'm still looking for feeling exposed in order to feel comfortable with who I am, from my poetry to my photography I find my body expressed and lashed through my artistic work.

 cuerpo-14.jpg

“I always thought of photography as a naughty thing to do – that was one of my favorite things about it, and when I first did it, I felt very perverse.”Diane Arbus


All the photographs are mine and exclusive for Steemit. Taken with a Canon Rebel T3

Thanks for reading!

Visit my last posts in spanish:

3 poemas de tiempo egoísta | Voltaria vol. 1
Michael Haneke y la maldad | Cine contemporáneo
Rostros de un Cervantes-Meetup | Serie Fotográfica

Sort:  

Expert: a man who makes three correct guesses consecutively.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jeilinespinel from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Beautiful Post! Congrats!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73