Blue Dasher macro photography

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

"To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all."


 ~ Oscar Wilde


Yesterday afternoon, I was able to capture some macrophotography shots of a Blue Dasher dragonfly as it was resting upon a branch near a creek, waiting to dive and capture one of the tadpoles I posted pictures of yesterday. All shots were taking with my Canon 80D camera with a 70 - 300mm lens. 

(check out the definition in it's eyes!)

I believe the dragonfly to be a younger male dragonfly. I say this because the male Blue Dasher's are known to have a pale blue coloring with a brown and yellow abdomen. They are also known for their bright greenish-blue eyes. The pale blue is even more pronounced as it matures. In contrast, the females are usually brown and yellow, sometimes black, with almost a reddish-brown hue to them. They are harder to spot when blending in with trees and shrubbery. 

As I stated earlier, the dragonfly was most likely hunting for tadpoles, or possibly other small swimming creatures, like minnows, or insects, for dragonflies, especially blue dashers, are carnivores. According to wikipedia, Blue Dashers are capable of eating "10% of their body weight each day". That is incredible!

What a beautiful day to spend in nature, watching the cycle of life progress ever so gracefully. 

One love,

@jgullinese

Sort:  

I did not quite appreciate macro photography till i joined steemit. Lovely shots

Sir My Blog Is Love Blog
Just One Time See My Post please sir
Upvote My post Please Sir

Nature is fascinating, thanks for sharing.

I love the network of their wings.

These are some fantastic shots! Great job! It is amazing how much detail you can see with a good macro shot. I always forget to take advantage of that mode. I find myself saying I need to explore macro photography more, but I never get around to it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12