Spring is Coming and My Peach Tree is Blooming

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

I love to grow my own fruit, herbs and vegetables. I believe that if we have the space and the land, then we should plant food and not just flowers, trees and shrubs. Why not? If we plant our own food, then we can make sure that it is organic and not covered with pesticides. Vegetables from a home garden have a totally different taste than vegetables from a store or farmer's market.

q66fxrzz4d.jpg

I bought a peach tree that produced some fruit last year, but one morning when I checked on the fruit, it was all gone. Now there were only four or five peaches to begin with because the tree is very young. I was still surprised though because the peaches were only the size of a small lime. They were not even mature yet and definitely could not have been sweet.

qvocvwq0zr.jpg

I saw no evidence of eaten peaches on the ground or peach pits. It's as if the peaches were harvested during the night by something and whoever took them didn't even leave me a thank you card.

ycz992u6em.jpg

I asked my brother-in-law who grows a lot of fruit around his house, how he protects his fruit from wild life. I was told to get some bird netting to cover the peaches. Even though my tree is young, it is already pretty tall. I am going to check on the bird netting to see if it is available at Home Depot.

In the meantime, the blooms remind me of new beginnings, approaching spring and the promise of fresh fruit. Enjoy the view.

25a0c5f9jb.jpg

Sort:  

I agree with you, if there is land, it should be used not only for flowers, vegetables and fruits are much more useful from your garden. A wonderful photo, thanks

Very beautiful photo, spring has already arrived. You are right with the land, you just need to plant healthy fruits and vegetables. I have a big garden and thanks to the harvest we don’t buy vegetables and fruits

That's wondrful.

There was a time i was growing also my garden back then but due to some reasons, it was abandon and ruined. Prbably because i can not take control of it enough

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22