Finally: My Beaver / Endlich: Mein Biber

in #photography5 years ago

Are beaver nocturnal? Yes, but because they are also active in twilight, I finally succeeded after many attempts to photograph one today.

Sind Biber nachtaktiv? Ja, aber weil sie auch in der Dämmerung aktiv sind, ist es mir heute nach vielen Versuchen endlich gelungen, einen zu fotografieren.

Beaver / Castoridae / Biber

I've already seen some of these big rodents on my early morning walks at the Drau reservoir, but it has always been far too dark to take pictures.

Gesehen habe ich schon einige dieser großen Nagetiere auf meinen frühmorgendlichen Spaziergängen am Drau Stausee, aber es war immer viel zu dunkel gewesen, um zu fotografieren.

2019-04-06-Drau-Beaver-04a.jpg
▲click for fullsize view▲

Canon EOS R | Canon EF-S 18-135mm 1:3.5-5.6 IS STM
ISO 800 • f/7.1 • 1/160 sec • @135 mm

Even though it was pretty dark today, when this beaver was on the way home to the beaver nest, but with ISO 800 quite useful photos came out.

Heute war es zwar auch noch ziemlich finster, als dieser Biber am Nachhauseweg zum Biberbau gewesen ist, aber mit ISO 800 sind einigermaßen brauchbare Fotos entstanden.

2019-04-06-Drau-Beaver-01.jpg
▲click for fullsize view▲

Canon EOS R | Canon EF-S 18-135mm 1:3.5-5.6 IS STM
ISO 800 • f/5.6 • 1/160 sec • @135 mm

At least you can see in the pictures that it is a beaver ... finally :)

Zumindest kann man auf den Bildern erkennen, dass es ein Biber ist ... endlich :)


▲click for fullsize view▲

Canon EOS R | Canon EF-S 18-135mm 1:3.5-5.6 IS STM
ISO 800 • f/7.1 • 1/160 sec • @135 mm

▲click for fullsize view▲

Canon EOS R | Canon EF-S 18-135mm 1:3.5-5.6 IS STM
ISO 800 • f/7.1 • 1/160 sec • @135 mm

He carries something in his mouth that looks like grass or roots. But you can not recognize it exactly.

Irgendetwas trägt er im Maul mit sich, das ausschaut wie Gräser oder Wurzeln. Genau kann man es aber nicht erkennen.


▲click for fullsize view▲

Canon EOS R | Canon EF-S 18-135mm 1:3.5-5.6 IS STM
ISO 800 • f/7.1 • 1/160 sec • @135 mm

▲click for fullsize view▲

Canon EOS R | Canon EF-S 18-135mm 1:3.5-5.6 IS STM
ISO 800 • f/7.1 • 1/160 sec • @135 mm

Now I know what I'll buy next to the EOS R: A high-speed telephoto lens.

Jetzt weiß ich auch, was ich zur EOS R als Nächstes kaufen werde: Ein lichtstarkes Teleobjektiv.

Location / Standort: Drau Reservoir Annabrücke
Information:
Castoridae Wikipedia Biber Wikipedia

If you like my photos I would appreciate an upvote, nice comment or a resteem 😊 ... and maybe you would like to follow me, so you do not miss a post from me anymore.

Thank you for visiting my blog,
have a nice day,
Johann Piber

Photos and Text: Johann Piber
#originalcontent #originalworks #deutsch #austria #steemit-austria

Picture1.png

Sort:  

Bei uns an der Traun sind die Tiere aktuell auch höchstaktiv - Gratuliere zum Gelingen der Aufnahmen ;)

Danke dir :) Ja, endlich gelungen, denn bei Tag sieht man sie nicht und auch die Bauten musst du suchen. Nur die abgenagten Bäume sie überall ;)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you @pixresteemer :)))

I congratulate you from the bottom of my heart, my dear friend @Johannpiber! These are great shots! I do not really like to take pictures at dusk. More precisely, my camera does not like it. For low light, you get very clear pictures, where you can not see large grain. Your camera did a great job, but, not without your help)) Once, when I was a hunter, I saw on a wall, with one of my friends, a fourth-caliber rifle, the shot charge there is 100 grams, the recoil force of this gun is 16 kilograms . If you shoot from your hand, then, the clavicle flies out like a bird. Fracture of the clavicle would have been provided, in this case. Such a gun should be installed on a solid tripod. Next to the gun, hung the boar’s head, a huge head, the boar’s weight was 450 kilograms. All this made me dream of such a gun and such prey. I understand your desire to acquire a new lens after such a successful hunt)))

Another well matching story, my friend @barski, thank you so much 😊
This one is a real interesting story, and I can really imagine this big boar's big head hanging on the wall in front of me.
Of all the animals you can meet here in Austria and Europe the wild boar is the most dangerous, I think, but I have never seen one apart from in the zoo.

Gratuliere zu den Bildern.
Bei mir in der Nähe ist auch ein Biber unterwegs (an der Isar wohl auch mehrere), denke ich jedenfalls jedesmal, wenn ich das charakteristische Platschen höre, während ich bei Dunkelheit an einem Bach entlang fahre. Einmal (!) habe ich sogar was gesehen. Einmal in fast 6 Jahren!

Danke dir :)

Als ich das erste Mal das Platschen hörte, bin ich frühmorgens am Ufer des Stausees spazieren gegangen und das Platschen war keine 3 Meter neben mir. Ich weiß nicht, wer sich mehr erschreckt hat - ich oder der Biber, der nicht mit Menschen zu dieser Tageszeit gerechnet hat ;)

Ein paar dunkle Spaziergänge und viel Geduld später habe ich dann den ersten neben mir schwimmen gesehen und gestern war es das erste Mal hell genug, um zu fotografieren :)

Oh yes he looks much like out muskrat, although your beaver appears to be larger. Our muskrat is not shy at all lol.

Don't tell me, it's a rat 😂
Nono, this is a big animal, believe me, it's a very, very shy beaver 😁

Posted using Partiko Android


You just planted 0.10 tree(s)!


Thanks to @artmentor

We have planted already
8199.00 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 24753.58
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Nice comparison - they look similar, you are right :) but the beaver is a pure herbivore ;)

Sehr gut gemacht... Bei uns in der Umgebung sind sie auch sehr aktiv...

Danke dir, so aktiv sie auch sind - man sieht sie nicht, aber die Reste der abgenagten Bäume und Baumstümpfe sind überall.

Am Tag schlafen sie im Bau und nachts bzw frühmorgens kann man sie zwar hören, aber nicht wirklich sehen und ich bin froh, nun endlich die Biberfotos auf meiner Liste abhaken zu können ;) ... ich werde aber trotzdem irgendwann versuchen, bessere Fotos zu bekommen.

I knew you would get shots of the beavers before to long and your persistence sure paid off with some great shots of them :)

Thank you @tattodjay, I only wished I had a faster telephoto lens.
I think, because I am there quite often the animals got used to me ;)

Most welcome and a longer telephoto and or faster lens are on my wish list, but hey as photographers we always have a wish list and generally nothing on it is ever cheap LOL

... right, but these RF lenses for the EOS R cost more than my car ;) I think, I'll have to search for a good used full frame lens.

A very nice photo of this big beaver! The water is very clear, he doesn’t mind having people around! A fast telephoto lens would be very useful!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you @kaminchan :)
Yes, in such situations a fast telephoto lens would be really nice, but I am glad, that I could get a photo where you can clearly see the beaver :)))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17