Krampus day - who is afraid?

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

On the 5th of December is traditionally the Krampus Day, while the feast of St. Nicholas is celebrated on the 6th of December. Both are usually seen together on the evening of the 5th of December. Around the 5th of December there are parades and events all over Austria, the so-called "Krampus runs".
These photos are from a Krampus run in Klagenfurt a few years ago.

Am 5. Dezember ist traditionell der Krampustag, während das Fest des Heiligen Nikolaus am 6. Dezember gefeiert wird. Beide sind aber meist gemeinsam schon am Abend des 5. Dezember zu sehen. Um den 5. Dezember herum gibt es in ganz Österreich Umzüge und Veranstaltungen, die so genannten "Krampusläufe".
Diese Fotos stammen von einem Krampuslauf in Klagenfurt vor ein paar Jahren.

2018-12-06-Krampus-04.jpg

2018-12-06-Krampus-03.jpg

2018-12-06-Krampus-02.jpg

2018-12-06-Krampus-01.jpg

2018-12-06-Krampus-06.jpg

2018-12-06-Krampus-07.jpg

2018-12-06-Krampus-05.jpg

These photos were taken with my old Olympus E-510 and the 14-54mm lens.


If you like my photos I would appreciate an upvote, a nice comment or a resteem 😊

Thank you, have a nice day,
Johann Piber
Johann Piber
#originalcontent #originalworks #steemit-austria

Picture1.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you @pixresteemer 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

I was not able to sleep last night After watching your images.
SCAREEEEDDDD!!😱

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh, I am very sorry for that @moncia90 and I am glad you have not seen this one
Krampus-02a.jpg

I was joking...but I think that the Evil is something like that👺
Don't you think?

Posted using Partiko Android

I know you were joking ;)
I have never thought about the face of the Evil or about how it looks, because it can look like you and me I think.

Sì, lo so :)

Ma sei italiano?
Are you Italian?

Posted using Partiko Android

No, io uso Google Translate :) ... I am from Austria

Holy crap this is some good wholesome family holiday fun times! I can really get behind this tradition. I love this!!! The costumes are amazing. Great shots as well. So cool :)

Thank you Carl, as children we had a lot of fun at this time of the year ;)
It is always a great experience to watch such a Krampus run.

Hallo Johann, uih sehen die gruselig aus. Hier in Deutschland Hessen kennt man den Krampus gar nicht. Hab einen schönen Abend. Alexa

Hallo Alexa, so schlimm sind sie gar nicht ;) Wünsche dir auch einen schönen Abend :)

Nasty looking Krampus! Great photos!

Thank you @melinda010100 :)
They are very nice ... most of the time ... at least sometimes ;)

Klasse Fotos. Hier kennt man den Krampus auch nicht.
Die Arbeit, die in den Masken steckt ist ja echt enorm.

Danke für das Zeigen, Johann.

Ganz lieben Gruß,
Moni

Vielen Dank für den netten Kommentar Moni. Ich wünsche Dir noch einen schönen Abend :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I've known about Krampus for a long while, but didn't realize there was a festival! Halloween is my favorite holiday, so I guess I should be looking into more stuff like you've posted.

This reminds me of one night when I was in New Orleans around Christmas time, and I nearly ran into the devil on Bourbon Street. Later that evening, over dinner, a guy dressed as a demon was skulking around the edges of the restaurant and peering in at me. And...a short story idea is born. Thanks, @johannpiber!

My pleasure @michaias, I am glad I could entertain you and give you the idea for a new story :)
We don't celebrate Halloween as much - with Krampus we have grown up ;)

We don't celebrate Halloween as much - with Krampus we have grown up ;)

May I steal that line? I've thought about it all day. I'm not sure which way you intended it, but it can be read at least two different ways, and it's all about the placement of the word "with."

The way you have it worded, it sounds like you're implying that Halloween is a childish holiday, and your culture has matured because of the story of Krampus or maybe you've matured and the invention of Krampus is an indication of that maturity.

The other way to read it, which maybe is what you actually meant, would require moving the word "with" to later in the sentence: "we have grown up with Krampus." That way, there's no implication of Halloween celebration immaturity. Instead, the sentence is just a statement of neutral fact that you don't celebrate Halloween because your culture focused on Krampus instead.

This sentence is linguistically fascinating to me!
(Also, just to sate my own curiosity, which way did you intend it?)

Wow, I'm speechless 😧
Halloween is something we did not know when we were kids. We had and still have other customs and Halloween has been added in recent years and is now celebrated with us.
I did not mean Halloween is childish and am sorry when my English was not correct
... yes, of course you may use my words, but I do hope you don't use them against me ;)
Hope I could explain good enough.

I figured you meant it the second way. I just want to use your line in a short story I'm crafting. I'm not sure how I want to use it yet, but it's too good to not at least keep the spirit of the line, even if it ends up not being about Krampus by the time I'm done.

Fine, please tell me when your story is online. Have a nice day @michaias :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39