Part 2: Grossglockner High Alpine Road / Großglockner Hochalpenstraße

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

So this is the second part of my Sunday trip on the Grossglockner High Alpine Road.

Das ist nun also der zweite Teil meines sonntäglichen Trips auf die Großglockner Hochalpenstraße.

Grossglockner High Alpine Road
Großglockner Hochalpenstraße

When you arrive at the Fuschertörl, you can look back and see the last ridden curves.

Am Fuschertörl angekommen, kann man zurückblicken und die zuletzt gefahrenen Kurven sehen.


❖ click for fullsize view ❖

From the large car park at the Fuschertörl you can see the Grossglockner summit behind this hill called "Törlkopf" (left of the two summits).
The road to the valley to Heiligenblut in Carinthia runs counterclockwise around the "Törlkopf" and on the back there is another parking lot with a viewpoint to the summit and the other mountains of the Glockner group.

Vom großen Parkplatz am Fuschertörl kann man den Großglockner Gipfel hinter dem "Törlkopf" erkennen (der linke der beiden Gipfel).
Die Straße ins Tal nach Heiligenblut in Kärnten führt gegen den Uhrzeigersinn um den "Törlkopf" herum und auf der Rückseite befindet sich ein weiterer Parkplatz mit Aussichtsplatz zum Gipfel und den anderen Bergen der Glocknergruppe.


❖ click for fullsize view ❖

In this photo you can see the restaurant "Fuschertörl" and left above the "Edelweißspitze" (2.572m), where you also have a great panoramic view and there is the mountain inn "Edelweisshütte".
Unfortunately, I did not have the time ride up there, but I'll do it next time.

Auf diesem Foto sieht man das Restaurant "Fuschertörl" und links oben die "Edelweißspitze" (2.572m), wo man auch eine super Aussicht mit Rundumblick hat und es den Berggasthof "Edelweißhütte" gibt.
Leider hatte ich nicht die Zeit, dort rauf zu fahren, aber nächstes Mal bestimmt.


❖ click for fullsize view ❖

Viewing towards Carinthia: On the far left you can see the road into the valley to Heiligenblut.

Blickrichtung Kärnten: Ganz links kann man die Straße ins Tal nach Heiligenblut erkennen.


❖ click for fullsize view ❖


❖ click for fullsize view ❖

Panoramic picture of the Glockner group with the Großglockner on the left.

Panoramabild der Glocknergruppe mit dem Großglockner links.


❖ click for fullsize view ❖


❖ click for fullsize view ❖

A last look back from the road into the valley to Heiligenblut to the parking lot at "Fuschertörl" with the restaurant and top left the "Edelweißspitze".

Ein letzter Blick zurück von der Straße ins Tal nach Heiligenblut zum Parkplatz am "Fuschertörl" mit dem Restaurant und links oben der "Edelweißspitze".


❖ click for fullsize view ❖


Photos: Canon EOS R | RF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM or EF 70-200mm f/4 L IS II USM


Information

Location:
Grossglockner High Alpine Road Google Maps
Grossglockner High Alpine Road Website
Grossglockner High Alpine Road Wikipedia
Grossglockner Wikipedia
Glockner Group
Edelweißhütte
Großglockner Hochalpenstraße Webseite
Großglockner Hochalpenstraße Wikipedia
Großglockner Wikipedia
Glocknergruppe
Edelweißspitze
Edelweißhütte

If you like my photos I would appreciate an upvote, nice comment or a resteem 😊 ... and maybe you would like to follow me, so you do not miss a post from me anymore.

Thank you for visiting my blog,
have a nice evening,
Johann Piber

Photos and Text: Johann Piber
#originalcontent #originalworks #deutsch #austria #steemit-austria

Picture1.png

Sort:  

Once in my life I rode in the snow in August, it was on the mountain of Gemini, in the Carpathians. It was an indescribable feeling. But, there were several hundred square meters of snow, here, I see a whole mountain! Thank you so much, my Dear friend @Johannpiber! You gave us a bit of frosty freshness on a hot evening.

The road was clear, only a bit wet from the melting snow, but some parts of the route passed through snow walls, which were 3-4 meters high :)
It was a beautiful day, which I certainly want to repeat.

Thank you very much and have a good night, my friend @barski 😊

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you so much, dear @pixresteemer 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

Stunning! Reminds me a little of a James Bond Movie :)

Thank you very much Ross :)
The road is extremely beautiful and very good to ride. I know, that one James Bond movie has been filmed in the near, but I don't know, if they have been filming on that road too, but maybe :)

An amazing looking place. Does it have snow year long?

Thank you Pryde 😊
The snow beside the road will melt, but in the shadow areas and on the mountains, especially hiher up, and on the peaks the snow will stay.

Howdy sir johannpiber! wow what a drive and what views! I want to eat at that restaurant! And look at that curvy road!

Nice, isn't it? Those curves are the fun thing, when you ride a motorbike. Riding fast on a straight street is easy, but such curves up and down a mountain make fun :) ... and when you have such great views also, what more can you need to enjoy a day?

Howdy again sir johannpiber! yes but can you see the sights and drive those curvy roads at the same time? The only thing that would be hard for me would be the sharp curves going DOWN the mountain, that gets a little nerve-wracking for me.

Sometimes I stop beside the road to enjoy the view and to take some photos.
I also prefer to ride up the mountain, and I don't like too sharp curves on the way down.

well you do it very well sir johannpiber. you're a good man Charlie Brown. Although it's hard for me to imagine Charlie Brown on a Harley! lol.

Thank you, @janton, but I think it's easy to do something quite good or at least good enough, when you love to do it :)

so you are saying it doesn't take skill but it just comes naturally?

When you love to do something, the you try to do it often. The more often you do something, the better you get ... naturally.

Posted using Partiko Android


You just planted 0.10 tree(s)!


Thanks to @artmentor

We have planted already
8294.51 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 20449.00
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Thank you very much @treeplanter 😊

Congratulations @johannpiber! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 30500 replies. Your next target is to reach 31000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Thank you very much, @steemitboard :)

Riding up those roads with all the curves must be such a fun trip and well worth it for these amazing scenic views

Yes, much fun, it was a great ride :)
Slowly the joy of riding my motorbike is coming back, although I am still riding with some fear in my mind, especially in curves, when I cannot see far enough.
But all in all it was so much fun, that I'd do it right now once again.

It will take time to overcome the fear i am sure, and I can understand on the curves being a concern,
Glad it was such a good trip

Yes, thank you very much, it was a good trip and I am longing for the next one - hopefully the weather will stay good for a while.

I hope the weather stays good so you can get out for another ride soon.
I am off work for almost a week now, and from Thursday evening I will be busy with family so I may not be on here much for a few days

Thank you JJ, I hope so too :)
I wish you some nice days with your family, and hope it more fun, and not just work, what you have to do ;)

Ohh it will be all fun, we have a granddaughters birthday and a Grandsons graduation, plus I always have fun with the kids :)

Then I wish you much fun celebrating and partying (is that a word?) - enjoy the time with your beloved ones :)

It’s so nice to be among giant mountains!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Right, I love to be in the mountains, dear @kaminchan, because when you see these giant mountains, then you know, how small and unimportant you and your problems are 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! I just stopped by to say that your post has been selected as a daily Featured Post of my personal curation project! You can find the daily Featured Post HERE.
I upvoted your contribution and I put it on the list because to my mind your post is what I call a quality content!
I am @miti, a manual curator that shall make available all his Steem Power to authors deserving of support. Let's make STEEM great again!
Have a nice day and keep up the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63994.25
ETH 3062.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94