Rock Window / Felsenfenster

in #photography5 years ago

Mount Prisank (Prisojnik) in the Julian Alps in Slovenia (8,356.30 ft) has two windows. One of the two windows I was able to photograph yesterday:

The large front rock window, with about 164 feet hight supposedly the largest rock window of the Alps, can be climbed at the end of a via ferrata (Fensterweg - Kopiščarjeva pot).
The photo shows the mountain in a southerly direction from the point of view (Google Maps link below the photos).

Der Berg Prisank (Prisojnik) in den Julischen Alpen in Slowenien (2.547m) hat zwei Fenster. Eines der beiden Fenster konnte ich gestern fotografieren:

Das große vordere Felsenfenster, mit ca 50 Meter Höhe angeblich das größte Felsenfenster der Alpen, kann am Ende eines Klettersteiges (Fensterweg - Kopiščarjeva pot) durchstiegen werden.
Das Foto zeigt den Berg in südlicher Richtung vom Standpunkt aus gesehen (Google Maps Link nach den Fotos).

2019-02-27-Slovenia-Julian-Alps-Prisank-01.jpg
▲click for fullsize view▲

Canon EOS M50 | Canon EF-S 18-135mm 1:3.5-5.6 IS STM
ISO 100 • f/14 • 1/40 sec • @27 mm

"The Prisank works through its colossal force ... in overwhelming size and heaviness ... everything is heavy and massive ..."
Dr. Julius Kugy, From the Life of a Climber, 1925

"Der Prisank wirkt durch seine kolossale Wucht... in geradezu erdrückender Größe und Schwere... alles ist schwer und massig aufgebaut..."
Dr. Julius Kugy, Aus dem Leben eines Bergsteigers, 1925

2019-02-27-Slovenia-Julian-Alps-Prisank-02.jpg
▲click for fullsize view▲

Canon EOS M50 | Canon EF-S 18-135mm 1:3.5-5.6 IS STM
ISO 100 • f/14 • 1/50 sec • @135 mm

To the left of Prisank, looking southeast from my point of view, is Mount Goličica (6,916.01 ft), and behind it a mountain range with several peaks (Škrlatica, Dovški križ, Kukova špica).

Links vom Prisank, Blickrichtung südöstlich von meinem Standpunkt, ist der Berg Goličica mit einer Höhe von 2.108 Meter und dahinter ist eine Bergkette mit mehreren Gipfeln zu sehen (Škrlatica, Dovški križ, Kukova špica).

2019-02-27-Slovenia-Julian-Alps-Golicica-01-Pano.jpg
▲click for fullsize view▲

Canon EOS M50 | Canon EF-S 18-135mm 1:3.5-5.6 IS STM
ISO 100 • f/14 • 1/80 sec • @18 mm

Location / Standort: Google Maps
Links:
Julian Alps
Prisank (Prisojnik)
Links:
Julische Alpen
Prisank (Prisojnik)

If you like my photos I would appreciate an upvote, nice comment or a resteem 😊 ... and maybe you would like to follow me, so you do not miss a post from me anymore.

Thank you for visiting my blog,
have a nice day,
Johann Piber

Photos and Text: Johann Piber
#originalcontent #originalworks #deutsch #austria #steemit-austria

Picture1.png

Sort:  

Awesome! 😍

Thank you so much, @mountain-photos 😊
I knew that this rock window is somewhere in this area, but I didn't know that it is there, because I did not know the mountains ;) When I stoped at this place to take some photos I saw it :)))

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you very much, dear @pixresteemer 😊

Howdy sir johannpiber! wow wow and wow! Dang, that is amazing. It is truly majestic and magnificent. Is the window that opening in the rock? It looks more like a tunnel.

It is a natural hole in the mountain, @janton, from one side to the other. Probably some rocks have become loose over the millennia and fallen out - unfortunately I have no idea.

Howdy again sir johannpiber! I guess we know that men didn't make it? At any rate, they call those "windows?"

Hello again @janton :)
Yes, nature made these windows and men named them "rock window" because it's like a window in a wall.
There are more of these windows in other mountains around the world and sometimes they are also called "mountain window".

Howdy again sir johannpiber! oh ok, well that shows you how much I know about mountains, but it's interesting to know and now when I hear about those windows I'll know what that means.
What is your plan for tomorrow?

Tomorrow? I have no real plan and think I'll decide when I wake up ;)

haha! must be nice to be totally dependant like that, are you going to ask the wife what she wants to do or what she wants YOU to do? I think you should take her to dinner.

My wife is happy when I'm happy, @janton. I think she is ... I'll ask her when I see her next ;)))
She gets anything she wants from me and if she wants to do something or go somewhere we do it, and moste of the time when I am away my family is sleeping anyway :)

Wow. I've never heard of these before. Pretty cool!

Thank you, @rossfletcher, I knew there was a window in the mountain somewhere in the area, but I did not know exactly where it was. So it was a coincidence that I just stopped here to take pictures :)

very beautiful photos of the mountains, thank you for sharing

Thank you very much, @sergey44 😊

More fabulous shots such rugged and beautiful scenery

Good morning, @tattoodjay,
it was my first time there, but not my last :) ... really a beautiful and amazing mountainscape.

I can see why you would go back there 👍😎

It's half past five in the morning and you are awake 👍
Yes, if the weather is OK and I am able to get up at 4am, I might drive there tomorrow for sunrise.

I was on the train into the city I normally get up a 4:15 5:30 is a sleep in for me

That's earlier than when I get up at 5:00 - congratz, this time you win :)

Finally I win something OK today I go and buy Lotto Tickets :)

:) I won 2 days ago and could have bought 9 Steem from my big win, but I decided to invest in another Lotto ticket ;)

Ein wunderbarer Anblick, aber ich vermisse den Frühling. 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Der Frühling ist schon unterwegs, @obsesija, bei den Temperaturen schmilzt der Schnee weg und bald wird alles wieder grün und blühen ... und dann Ende April kommt wieder der Schnee ;)

Hammerbild!
Ich hoffe der Schnee ist bald weg, dann kann ich mir das mal genauer ansehen ;)

Danke dir :)
Ich war das erste Mal in dieser Gegend und habe mir alles mal einen Nachmittag lang grob angeschaut, damit ich mich beim nächsten Mal schon etwas auskenne - und das nächste Mal ist schon bald :)))

These mountains look so powerful! The close up photo is just amazing! I love rocks! They are ancient and very mysterious with secrets of the earth!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes, @kaminchan, and these mountains and the rocks have such a special look to me - they look different from the mountains in the area where I live, what is just 100 kilometers away ;)


You just planted 0.09 tree(s)!


Thanks to @artmentor

We have planted already
7405.49 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 26893.08
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85