OUR TRIP TO SEE THE 9 FOOT TALL MAN (274.32 cm, for my metric friends)

in #photography5 years ago

9 FEET TALL, REALLY!?!?

inCollage_20190708_194517808.jpg

Well....extremely close. This man's name was Robert Wadlow. His tallest recorded height was 8 feet and 11.1 inches or 272 cm. Above in the picture is me with a life size statue of this man, "The Gentle Giant", as he was nicknamed due to his mild nature and loving attitude. He lived from 1918 to 1940. I am 5 feet and 9 inches (175 cm) and he completely dwarfs me!!!

He holds the world record for the World's tallest recorded height for a person. But also, with great height comes a pretty significant amount of weight as he weighed in at just under 500 pounds(226 kg).

So how much food did it take to fuel this giant of a man? At the peak of his growth he consumed up to 8,000 calories a day.

ROBERT AND THE TRANSPORTATION OF THE DAY

inCollage_20190708_212521441.jpg


inCollage_20190708_212225029.jpg


inCollage_20190708_212352621.jpg
*These last three photos were taken at the Alton museum of photos on their wall.

And he wasn't just a big adult either. His rapid growth started from birth and was caused by a pituitary gland issue. Below is a picture showing his height at 9 years old compared to my son(8) and I. He was almost 6.5 feet(198 cm) tall at this young age. At this point in his life he weighed almost 250 pounds(113kg).

inCollage_20190708_214312542.jpg

Bully or buddy in school??

inCollage_20190708_214846682.jpg
*Picture taken at museum of a photo on their wall.

Luckily the latter, as he was as mild mannered as a child as he was an adult. So everybody was friends with him.

If your interested in this amazing story, feel free to click this link to read his story at Wikipedia.

Sort:  

that's nice story brother, it's so fearsome if he's a bad guy because he's huge. You have a nice walk brother, Evan's having fun and you also..
By the way if you're bored you can check my logic game, just posted recently. have great day my friend

Posted using Partiko Android

Can you imagine the damage his birth did to his poor mother??? It would be like watching your favourite pub burn down!!!!

That poor lady. I hadn't thought about that. I need to look up his size at birth. It said it at the museum...but i don't give birth, so they were just numbers.😂

They say childbirth is more painful than anything a man can experience.

I disagree. After all, how many men do you know that say, "I think I should get kicked in the balls again"....? Yet how many women decide they want to go through childbirth more than once???

Posted using Partiko Android

What a painful picture!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

If a man this big ever gets mad at you, perhaps offer him some cake. Welcome to the helpie crew Johndoer123!
Manually curated by @futuremind.

Oh my word... That's one tall dude. I've seen tall people but nowhere close to this. Thank you for sharing this post with us. Wow.

Posted using Partiko Android

I watched some "story of the world" about him few times on TV and this is just amazing... Evan looks like a baby to him at 9yo😊 ... Thanks for sharing and have an amazing days

Hey! I've passed through that town on the train!

That's a very tall hight. I wonder where I would reach him if I am being measured with him.

Wow! the tallest man sculpture in the world. Thank you so much my dear friend to showing your wonderful story. STEEM ON!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29