Hong Kong - The City of Light

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

A neon exploration of Hong Kong for my first post here and an entry to @photocontests Friday #streetphotography contest

To me, Hong Kong is the epitome of a city caught between identities. Colonial buildings are squeezed between giant, glass skyscrapers. Brand new Teslas park outside hawker restaurants that haven't changed their menus (or recipes) for decades.
The hyper-futuristic neon lights - once you get close - are actually decayed and rusted from age.

I recently spent 10-nights there capturing the night lights, and I'm so glad I did. Many of these signs are actually in the process of being dismantled as they've become unsafe, so the next time you're in this beautiful city, many of the signs you see in these images may no longer exist.

DSC07906-compressor.jpg

DSC07434-copy-compressor.jpg

DSC07821.jpg

DSC07971 copy.jpg

DSC07931 copy.jpg

DSC07792 copy.jpg

DSC07439-copy-compressor.jpg

Sort:  

@jshli, I gave you an upvote on your post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return and possible future votes!

Thank you in advance!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01